My Very First Tease!

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with “Today’s Tease” James Hartley

Your Name or Pen Name you use: James Hartley

Title of the book you are promoting: Berlina’s Quest

 Link to purchase your Book: http://www.eternalpress.biz/book.php?isbn=9781615729470

 Genre: Fantasy/Sword-and-Sorcery

Welcome JH….I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

JH: My most realistic ambition was to be a scientist. At times, though, the idea of becoming a Space Cadet like my favorite TV show, “Tom Corbett,” snuck in there …

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing.      Who influenced you in your writing career?

JH: There were several, at the top of the list I would put Robert Heinlein, Isaac Asimov, and E.E. “Doc” Smith. I didn’t get into Tolkien until much later. Of course, if you dig back into my early childhood, there was also L. Frank Baum.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher.Are you an Indie or published author?

JH: I am a published author. I never got into the self-pub business. A large part of that was financial; it costs up-front money to self pub. And it wasn’t too far back when self-publishing had the bad stigma of “vanity press” attached. If I were just starting now, I might do it differently.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

JH: I would invite Charles Dickens, and I would totally avoid talking about my least favorite of his books, “A Tale of Two Cities.”

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Which form of media do you think is the worst offender?

JH: Too much violence, definitely too much violence, and I think TV is probably the worst offender. You don’t have to go to the movies, but that doggone TV set is sitting right in your home, turned on most of the time, and loaded with cop shows. You walk through the room, and before you know it catches your eye and you sit down to watch. Truthfully, I have much less problem with sex on the media.

LH: I’m a huge softie and by no means a beauty queen I truly would have world peace in the blink of an eye. If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

JH: I would get the Space Program really going … we should have had colonies on the Moon and Mars decades ago.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”.  How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

JH: The cover is still important, it’s the “eye-candy” that grabs you and makes you read the blurb. Maybe a little less so than at a bricks-and-mortar store, but still important.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start!   Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

JH: At age eleven, I sent a story, typewritten single spaced on a single sheet of paper, to the leading science fiction magazine of the day. Rejected, of course. But I really regret giving up so easily and not getting serious about writing until many, many years later.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing.  How do you come up with your stories? JH: It’s pretty much the same for me, something will trigger an idea. It can be as simple as hearing a song … I’ve done a number of short stories based on old Patti Page songs like “Tennessee Waltz” and “Change Partners,” and of course an entire novel from that old classic, “Teen Angel.”

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol  Are you working on anything now?

JH: I have a sequel to a couple of my other books that I’m working on, but it doesn’t seem to be moving well. I just finished up my last work a few weeks back and sent it out on its first submission … a Space Opera titled “Beverly Bronte, Space Chick” … we’ll have to see how that goes.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year.  How many books have you written? How many have been published?

JH: Depends on how you define “books.” I have my first book with Eternal Press, “Berlina’s Quest,” a novel. I have ten titles with another e-book publisher, a mix of novels, novella, and short stories. And I have a collection of short stories published. Would be more, but another publisher just went belly-up, orphaning two short story collections and another book. This can be a tough business.

LH: I write for fun. Do you write for fun or money?

JH: If it weren’t fun, I wouldn’t do it. I do like to get at least a little money out of it, and I avoid all those “pays exposure” markets, but I don’t think my writing is going to make me a millionaire. Still, you never know, look what happened to J.K. Rowling …

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

JH: My old favorite, obsolete now that everything is electronic, was “get some wallpaper glue and decorate your office with those rejection slips.” Persistence, persistence, persistence, persistence…

Well…you are quite a “character”! Now…let’s have some fun…shall we?

Favorite Beverage? Depending on the time of day, Pepsi or Merlot

Exercise or Bubble Bath? I never take bubble baths, and I get most of my exercise jumping to conclusions

Favorite Color? Sky blue pink

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate, I am totally a chocoholic

Dogs or Cats? Cats, definitely, we have two, Socks and Ebony

Favorite Food? Sushi or Steak Tartare

Favorite Song? Haydn’s Trumpet Concerto … and it’s the ring tone on my cell phone!

Favorite Movie? Down Periscope with Kelsey Grammer

Favorite car? Characters in several of my stories drive Mazda Miata’s … you figure out what’s in my driveway.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Yeah, I’ll go with both!

Now for the essay part of our interview!

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go and who would you take?

JH: I would go to a nude beach resort. As to who I’d take, that’s a problem … I know my wife would never want to go there … but I’m sure there are lots of cute movie stars I could ask.

Thank you so much for spending time with us today and make sure to get your copy of “Berlina’s Quest” at http://www.eternalpress.biz/book.php?isbn=9781615729470

james_hartley_headshot BerlinasQuest_333x500

2 Comments

Filed under Novels

2 responses to “My Very First Tease!

Leave a Reply

