Today’s Tease…Chase Boehner

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with “Today’s Tease” Chase Boehner

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Chase Boehner

Title of the book you are promoting:  Keeping Kara

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00C80BRPM

 Genre:  Erotica

Welcome CB….I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

CB: I wanted to be a few things from a police officer to a coast guard but I also wrote at that age and wanted to be an author. I wrote many silly adventure stories.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing.  Who influenced you in your writing career?

CB: The earliest two that I can remember are the Hardy Boys novels when I was young. I devoured them. I went from those to Sherlock Holmes from Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. When I was 12 I discovered Clive Barker and he has held the top shelf in my book collection ever since.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher.  Are you an Indie or published author?

CB: I am an Indie author but have recently had some flutterings in the publishing world and I am currently plotting some stories where appropriate for submissions.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company.  If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

CB: I will always publish as an Indie, but at some point I want those to be my little labors of love. I also want to be published traditionally as well. I have a set fan base that is growing but I would also like the acceptance of a traditional publisher and the perk of not having to work so hard at promoting.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

CB: Clive Barker and we would not discuss politics. lol

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders.   Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Which form of media do you think is the worst offender? 

CB: I don’t think it is the amount of sex and violence that is the problem but rather the way that they are portrayed in all media. I tend to stay away from anything that is making money off someone else’s pain. The worst offender of all of this to me is Reality T.V. which I just don’t bother with. I’m not interested in watching the exploitation of the worst in people.

LH: I’m a huge softie and by no means a beauty queen but  I truly would have world peace in the blink of an eye. If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

CB: Negativity and the need some people have to discredit others for their own pleasure.

LH:  With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”.  How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

CB: I still think they are a representation, to a point, of what an author is offering to their audience. I don’t need a book to have the best polished looking cover but the font should be readable and there should at least be a cover. I have read some gems that had the most basic design an author could put together and I have also read some poorly written books with all the polish on the outside that offered nothing on the inside. In the end it’s a difficult call, but I have noticed that most Indie authors upgrade their covers as they find success.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

CB: I have wrote my whole life. I have notebooks full of writing and before self publishing I never found the confidence to put anything out there.

KH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?  

CB: Likable people that I want to see succeed. I don’t care if it’s a fun, silly story or something heavy and involved, I want there to be some good in the main character that I can cheer for. I’m not interested in the serial killers journey but give me a story where oppressed good has to rise up and overcome and I’ll be there to cheer them on.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

CB: It starts with a basic idea. I start writing the character’s story and if they take over the writing I keep going. If they don’t then I stop and maybe return at a later date if they speak to me again.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol  Are you working on anything now?

CB: I am currently working on a collection of my first five stories. From my very rough first book that I published to the much more polished current book. I am also dipping my pen into Horror and Erotic Horror and developing more Allen and Allie stories along with stand alone erotica. 

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year. How many books have you written? How many have been published?

CB:I have written eight stories with numerous others in production. So far I have published 5 shorts.

LH: I write for fun. Do you write for fun or money?

CB: I write for me with the blessing and support from my wife and friends. I hope to make some money one day but I could never write if I wasn’t enjoying it.

LH: I have never experienced it. I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

CB: I have but in my own way. If I am working on a story and I get stuck I open a fresh notebook and start writing another story. Sharing Kate: Lust, Love Rediscovered came out of writers block and that story has done well for me. It gained new fans for me and it took my story telling in a new direction.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advise for new writers?”…Do you?

CB: Just do it. It’s tough for sure and your work will develop as you do. Above all else be fair to those who pay for your work. No matter what stage you are at in your writing, put out the best material you are capable of. I consider myself an author in progress but with each book I try to put out the very best product I can for the paying customer.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did…If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

CB: I am of the same mind in that. I believe everything that has happened has given me everything I cherish in life. Every bad relationship helped me learn what I truly wanted in a woman and now I have an incredible wife and we have our son who is our greatest joy. I am sure my journey in writing will be much the same and each experience will help me develop my skill.

You are the Man Chase…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Diet Mountain Dew

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Exercise, Tennis preferably

Favorite Color? Grey

Sports or Chocolate? Sports

Dogs or Cats? Dogs

Favorite Food? Cajun Chicken

Favorite Song? Of all time, that’s too difficult to chose. Currently, Major from The Asteroid Galaxy Tour. It’s a great song to write to.

Favorite Movie? Love Actually

Favorite Car? Anything that fits my family in it and lets us go places and has room for my sons toys.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 SEX!!!

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go and who would you take?

CB: Atlantis Resort with my wife and son and make some incredible memories to reflect on later in life.

Kara-Final

Chase2

7 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

7 responses to “Today’s Tease…Chase Boehner

  1. a lovely look at one of my faves. great interview friend! X

  2. Great interview. I love erotic, erotic horror…well just love a good naughty story. And I’m also a fan of Clive Barker, sex and working up a good sweat with exercise. However, we part ways when it comes to Diet Mountain Dew lol

Leave a Reply

