Today’s Tease…Ross S. Simon

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Ross S. Simon

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Ross S. Simon

Title of the book you are promoting:  Red Dahlia

 Link to purchase your Book: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/red-dahlia-ross-simon/1114835014?ean=9781615728923

 Genre:  Paranormal-Horror

Welcome RSS….I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing.  Who influenced you in your writing career?

RSS: That would be Stephen King, as with millions of others.  I emulate His Majesty heavily in my works, one can perhaps see.  Actually, although I write other scripts in different genres, my motivation came in him to write horror.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher.  Are you an Indie or published author?        

RSS: I am published, by a small company: Eternal Press, LLC.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!  Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

RSS: I suppose the aforementioned Stephen King is as good as anyone to have at a dinner party, and what I would not bring up as a subject is ear canal surgery.  The reason for this can be found in part of his book, “On Writing.”

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Which form of media do you think is the worst offender?

RSS: There’s perhaps a bit too much of that material and its negative energy that society doesn’t need to know about in detail, yes.  I’ll tell you what media form offends me, outrages and infuriates me, above (or below) all others with its mindless negativity: television cartoons.  I don’t understand why people in general can’t agree with me on this.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”.  How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

RSS: They do help sell the book, as a lot of the time, a book’s cover is intended to more or less reflect the essence of the book’s content.  Often, mere word of mouth doesn’t convince the audiences what owning the book can bring them.  Still, it’s not exactly all in the cover.  For a long time, I’ve had the unfortunate habit of all too literally judging books by their covers.  It’s not all that rewarding.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

RSS: I simply adopted a writing hobby as I grew up, little by little.  I started out around age thirteen, writing works about as juvenile in spirit as I was then.  I had a lot of crazy story ideas at that age.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?                                                                           

RSS: I’ve been writing a bunch of stories, off and on, for a while.  This summer, however, I’ll try to jam down on some short horror tales I hope to have published by Damnation.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year.  How many books have you written? How many have been published?

RSS: I’ve perhaps written more complete stories than I can count, but only had published two of my horror novels, “The Snow” and “Red Dahlia,” by DB/EP, and that’s to say nothing of this one novel I had published through a vanity scam, paying through the nose for, a couple of years before “The Snow.”  The vanity work was called “A Peace of the American Pie.”

LH: I write for fun. Do you write for fun or money?

RSS: I write for fun, too; why not?  The money may be darn slow to come in, but if I’m tapping a conduit of great writing talent, it’s surely all right.

You are definitely as interesting as your titles RSS!Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Welch’s juice (most any flavor).

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Exercise (not that I take part in it often enough).

Favorite Color? It’s always been blue.  Gold might come in a strong second.

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate.  It’s almost shameful to admit.

Dogs or Cats? Cats, even though I’m morbidly allergic.

Favorite Food? P.F. Chang’s.

Favorite Song? Not really any one song in particular.

Favorite Movie? “Star Wars” (though not any particular Episode).

Favorite Car? Toyota Prius, since we have one at home.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Sex; believe me, it’s better for you, scientifically speaking.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go and who would you take?

RSS: This is a tough question to answer, but since I’m generally humble in the things I do, I’d most likely go to Japan, with this one girl named Jolyne I had a crush on in the sixth grade.  (Don’t ask me why this is; I had a hard time figuring out a definite answer to this question.)

Thank you so much for spending time with us today and make sure get your copy of …

Red Dahlia

at

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/red-dahlia-ross-simon/1114835014?ean=9781615728923

Red Dahlia_Draft2TheSnow_Draft-1Photo on 2012-07-26 at 08.56

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “Today’s Tease…Ross S. Simon

  1. Interesting questions…I almost felt as if I was watching an interview. And Ross, you come off as much more substantive here than in your usual terse statements on the loop! I feel like I know you better now, which is the whole point of an interview, right?

    • LOL Fi…I would love to interview you as well…My birthday is the 22nd and I have a SPECIAL interview planned for that day for sure 😉 You’ll have to stay tuned…send me your email and I’ll send you the questions…you’ll want to stay tuned because I have Kim, Sally Erin and Dawn from EP coming soon !!! Thanks for reading…now share me! Please 😉 I have more eye candy coming too….male and female 😉

Leave a Reply

