Today’s Tease…Sonnet O’Dell

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with “Today’s Tease”  Sonnet O’Dell

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Sonnet O’Dell

Title of the book you are promoting:  Deadly Sin (Cassandra Farbanks Novel #6)

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.eternalpress.biz/book.php?isbn=9781615729357

 Genre:  Urban Fantasy

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with “Today’s Tease”  Sonnet O’Dell

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Sonnet O’Dell

Title of the book you are promoting:  Deadly Sin (Cassandra Farbanks Novel #6)

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.eternalpress.biz/book.php?isbn=9781615729357

 Genre:  Urban Fantasy

Welcome SO….I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

SO: At first I wanted to be an archeologist but decided that all the cool stuff had already been discovered. I think by high school I was pretty firmly set on the idea of becoming a writer. I’ve always liked making up fantasy worlds and such.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

SO: I suppose if I have to pick a beginning I would say that it started with Laurell K Hamilton. I wrote a lot of Anita Blake fanfiction for this one website and I became one of the most popular authors there, it was a big confidence boost and it made me start to focus more on my original pieces. These days anything I read can influence me.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher.  Are you an Indie or published author?        

SO: I never went the self publishing route, thought about it a lot but never really had the money for vanity press and back then I had no idea you could make ebooks on your own. I got discovered when a friend of mine told the previous owner of Eternal Press about me, she encouraged me to send in the manuscript I had just finished and the submission editor liked it. I got offered my first contract just before Christmas that year and it was the best gift I ever got.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”.  How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

SO: I think that a reader is still drawn in through the visual of the cover; it catches your eye when you’re scrolling through available titles. If I am looking for something to new to read (sadly I tend to stick to the same authors most of the time) then an interesting cover draws me in enough for me to read the blurb, if that’s good then it’s in the shopping cart it goes, whether it be online or in store.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?                                                          

SO: I like relationships. Not just romantic ones, boy girl. I like to see how characters relate to each other in a story even if they have nothing more in common than a sense of humor. It’s fun to just read the byplay between two people. It makes them more real than just being words on a page.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

SO: I’ve always got a couple of projects on the go. Top secret of course. J

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year. How many books have you written? How many have been published?

SO: Including the one that is out in May – Deadly Sin – then I think I have ten over all in the last four years. I’m trying to get something else finished so I can get something else out tail end of this year but I’ve been having some trouble focusing on any one idea for long.

LH: I have never experienced it. I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

SO: All the time. I have dry patches where new ideas come to me randomly but what I’m working on, desperately trying to move along, is halted because the words just won’t come. I call it book blocked (like cock blocked…can I say that lol.), when a new idea is so fresh in my mind it stops something I’ve been working on for a long time getting the attention.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

SO: It’s not as easy as it looks. Danger, danger Will Robinson!

You are a HOOT Sonnet….Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Peach Ice Tea

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble Bath

Favorite Color? Green

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate – although I can’t really have it any more as I am diabetic

Dogs or Cats? Cats. We can each do our own thing during the day and cuddle up together at night.

Favorite Food? Anything cooked by my momma.

Favorite Song? It changes from week to week. At the moment its Katy Perry’s Thinking of you

Favorite Movie? Labyrinth. Hands down. Love Bowie and his criminally tight pants.

Favorite Car? My little Peugeot

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Whatever is on offer at the time. 😉

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go and who would you take?

SO: Just one person? Hmm, I would take Adam Baldwin on the spaceship Serenity and we’d have a blast hanging out on some of the outer planets, saving the day and being big damn heroes. But that’s fantasy, if it has to be this planet then probably a quite villa in the Tuscan countryside with no one around for miles…so he couldn’t escape.

 

Thank you so much for spending time with us today and make sure get your copy of

Deadly Sin (Cassandra Farbanks Novel #6)

at 

http://www.eternalpress.biz/book.php?isbn=9781615729357

DeadlySin_200x300_dpi72486181_267931863288175_1886628956_n

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

