Today’s Tease…Michelle Hoefle

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Michelle Hoefle

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Michelle Hoefle

Title of the book you are promoting:  Carpathian Blood (Book 1) and Lotris’ Blood (Book 2)

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.eternalpress.biz/book.php?isbn=9781615729258

 Genre:  Paranormal Romance

Welcome MH….I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

MH: I wanted to be a doctor, a veterinarian, and (my favorite) an equestrian Olympian.

LH:didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?     

MH: J.R. Ward is an incredible author.  Her characters are very deep and her books are gritty and full of real-life situations in a paranormal world.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

MH: I am published by Eternal Press.  I have to say that they have been great and I feel like a part of a great team.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

MH: I have only been with EP

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!      Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

MH: Hugh Jackman…and I would definitely not discuss Wolverine (big, bushy sideburns…really?)

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Which form of media do you think is the worst offender?

MH: I actually think that the internet is rife with gruesomeness.  The media is also to blame.  The first amendment is great, don’t get me wrong, but it’s disheartening when we publicize the villains more than the heroes.

LH: I’m a huge softie and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

MH: I would want all of our hungry children fed and to be healthy.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

MH: Since the cover is the first impression of the book, I do believe it is very important, but the book description is where I spend most of my time when buying a new book.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

MH: OMGosh!  Talk about a late bloomer, I was 44 (almost 45) when I wrote Carpathian Blood, my first novel and had it accepted by Eternal Press.  I was an executive administrative assistant for most of my adult life, never even thought about writing professionally until I did it.  Talk about a wild ride of fun!

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

MH: I love to write little everyday characteristics of mine into a book.  An example is vanilla bubble bath…I have a heroine that likes vanilla bubble baths.                                                      

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?            

MH: The first book in the series, Carpathian Blood came so easily because I had been thinking about it for almost two years.  Mulling over the story idea in my mind while reading all of my favorite authors.  When none of those authors came up with the idea of a crash landed ship full of an alien race that needed blood to survive, well I just had to take the story from an idea to paper so to speak.  The remainder of the books follow the series and take character development further.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?  

MH: Book 5 in the series.  It’s coming very difficultly because this is the first lead warrior female.  I am almost halfway through it right now.                                                                         

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?            

MH: The first four in the Carpathian Blood series have been accepted, Carpathian Blood (Feb 1st, 2013 – Book 1), Lotris’ Blood (May 1st, 2013 – Book 2), Amorast’s Blood (Aug 1st, 2013 – Book 3), and Zylkian’s Blood (Dec 1st, 2013 – Book 4)

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

MH: Definitely for fun and the love of writing.  I hope that the books are well received in that only the stories are fun to tell and I want people to read them with me.  I don’t think I would enjoy writing as much if it became a job.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

MH: I have a family member that basically disowned me for writing an “inappropriate book” in her words.  Her words and actions have hurt me beyond belief, but I am still writing and publishing because it’s something I love.  If you believe in yourself, it really doesn’t matter what anyone else says.  Be true to yourself.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

MH: Yes, with book 5 it’s becoming very difficult to continue working because my muse simply isn’t talking at the moment.  However, I am re-reading some of my favorite paranormal series and they always inspire me.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

Write because you love it, not because of dreams of riches and fame.  Stay true to yourself and your craft.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

MH: To get to this point in my life, I could not realistically change anything.  So nothing really except that I would lose 100 pounds magically.  LOL

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

MH: I’d go back and tell my younger self to not be so serious.  Life is full of mistakes, but don’t take them to heart.  Learn from them and move on.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

MH: I would be ecstatic!  I would tell my mom first, as she is my firmest supporter, then I would have to tell my daughter, Falon.

You are just a doll  MH…Now…For the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?     Diet Coke

Exercise or Bubble Bath?       Bubble Bath

Favorite Color?           Black

Take out or Dine in?   Dine in

Camping or Hotel?      Camping

Sports or Chocolate?   Chocolate

Dogs or Cats?             Both…Love em all

Favorite Food?            Lobster

Favorite Song?            Norah Jones, Come away with me

Favorite Movie?          Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

Favorite Car?              1975 Chevy Camero

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 BOTH!!!!  Hopefully at the same time….hehehehehe

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

I would take my mom on a week-long cruise to Alaska.  I wouldn’t care if anyone found out about it at all.  My mother is my best friend in the world and I think an Alaskan cruise would be an awesome way to thank her for the love and support that she has always given me.  As a parent myself, I know the perils and heartaches of being a parent, so I would love the opportunity to thank her.  Parenting is not like science, where a certain formula will bring success.  It is fraught with mistakes and missed opportunities, but it is the most rewarding of anything else on earth.  I can only say, thanks mom for being my everything at times and being an excellent role model.

Thank you for spending this time with us and you can pick up all of Michelle Hoefle’s work including 

Carpathian Blood (Book 1) and Lotris’ Blood (Book 2)

at 

http://www.eternalpress.biz/book.php?isbn=9781615729258

Carpathian Blood_200x300_dpi72Lotris Blood_200x300_dpi72028

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

