Today’s Tease…Andrea R. Cooper

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Andrea R. Cooper

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Andrea R. Cooper

Title of the book you are promoting:  The Garnet Dagger

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BS9HTBK/ref=as_li_tf_til?tag=andrcoo-20&camp=14573&creative=327641&linkCode=as1&creativeASIN=B00BS9HTBK&adid=17ZS25ZK5VARKCR3K5YS&&ref-refURL=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.andrearcooper.com%2F

 Genre:  Paranormal romance

Welcome ARC…I, LH have some questions for you 😉 

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

ARC: Wonder woman, a teacher, a dancer, a singer, then a writer. Although I wrote poetry in my teenage to mid-twenties, but I always was a storyteller. I would make up characters, plot, etc. from early childhood and haven’t stopped.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

ARC: The Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind. Also, it was another book, which I don’t remember the name or author, that I didn’t like that made me start writing. It was a historical book that I found no logic in and decided to write a book I would like.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

ARC: I’m a published author through Crimson Romance, a primary eBook publisher.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

ARC: I would worry with a traditional publisher of having to ‘pay back the advance’ if my books didn’t sell well enough. As well, I think its hard being in a big traditional publishing house and it’s easy to get lost. I like where I am with Crimson Romance.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

ARC: Edna St. Vincent Millay – I would not discuss politics

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Which form of media do you think is the worst offender?

ARC: I think tv and movies are the worst offenders. However, I think violence is more acceptable in our society than sex. Maybe if there was more love represented rather than violence the world would be a better place.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

ARC: Besides world peace? It would be the end to hunger.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

ARC: I think book covers are still important, but not as much as they were. I think the description of the book is what draws a reader to a book online.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

ARC: I have always told stories. Even in first grade, I remember the kids running up to me at school and asking what we were going to play that day. I said who the bad guy was, the hero and heroine, plot, etc. Once I even thought up space vampires, but so that the kids didn’t bite each other, I had the vampires use their first two fingers as their fangs. I started writing poetry when I was fourteen, but didn’t start writing down stories until I was in my late twenties.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

ARC: What happens. Even if I don’t like the book, I have to skim until I get to the end.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

ARC: I come up with my stories in various ways; dreams, thinking, reading. When I do write the stories, a movie plays in my head.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

ARC: Yes, I am working on editing a Viking historical romance and the second novel in The Garnet Dagger trilogy.

PS – The History Channel Vikings stole my hero – even down to his name…so I’m searching for a new Norse name now (lolz)

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?            

ARC: I only have one book published so far, but I hope to have one or two more this year. I’ve written and completed eight books, and have five more in various stages of progress just not completed yet.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

ARC: I write for fun. I write because I love it and I crave the characters and their stories.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

ARC: Time. I am a stay at home mom to a three year old and a five month old. I try to squeeze in writing time while the baby is sleeping and late at night.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

ARC: I’ve (knock on wood) never experienced writer’s block. Like you, I do have stories that say ‘I don’t want to’ and I have to move on to another story. If none of the stories want to talk to me, then I work on edits. By the time I’m done with a story’s edits, my characters are pleading me to come back J

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

ARC: Yes, three things that have helped me are:

  • Read. I know it’s redundant, but it really helps. When reading, if you don’t like something, find out why and if you loved something research why. The best advise I read was in a how to write a romance book. It said to type up a favorite scene. Highlight the dialogue in one color, than the narration in another, etc. Stepping back it’s easy to see the pattern that author has used to weave this scene.
  • Write. But don’t just write. Read out loud what you wrote. Or at the least get a text-aloud program that will read it for you (which does help with spelling errors that Word doesn’t catch).
  • Preserver. Don’t give up. If you feel stuck, take a short break and take a writing class. Find a critique group. Hire an editor. Always keep writing and try to get better.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

ARC: It would be to start writing stories earlier than I did. I wrote a few pages of a story once and took the criticism too hard and didn’t write again for several years. I just felt that my grammar and spelling were just too bad to be a writer. I should have just asked for help instead of letting one person bring me down.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

ARC: I would go back to the witch trails and tell them the people they were killing were innocent. That if lightning strikes your cow, it doesn’t mean someone cast a spell on you. Of course I’d say a lot more than I can put here and they would probably burn me for speaking out against them. I think so many independent and powerful women were scapegoats back then.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

ARC: I am shy too. In school the kids thought I was stuck-up because I was so quiet. Even now I’ll freeze up when I least expect it. My book into a movie would be amazing. The first person I would tell would be my husband. I still would be a private person – just one with a movie!  😉

Thanks for the entertaining interview ARC…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?  Light Ice Soy Chai

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Exercise if it’s Zumba

Favorite Color? Red…blood red, not orange-red or yellow-red. Always.

Take out or Dine in? With two kids under the age of four – take out.

Camping or Hotel? Hotel

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate

Dogs or Cats? Cats

Favorite Food? Tex-Mex

Favorite Song? Black by Sevendust (especially when I’m writing fight scenes)

Favorite Movie? I have so many…guess Underworld since it was after watching that movie that I thought of the idea of The Garnet Dagger, my debut paranormal romance.

Favorite Car? Anything that runs on low gas and can put two kids to sleep

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Sex first, then chocolate

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

ARC: I would take my family to Scotland. I would go visit both McLaughlin castles since that is part of my heritage on my mother’s side. I would love to touch the ancient stones of the oldest castle and listened if they told me anything. The new castle would be interesting as well and to meet my ancient relatives. McLaughlin is the inspiration of my current Viking historical novel that I am editing as some historians believe it’s from the Gaelic word Lochlann meaning ‘from the lakes’ and may refer to Scandinavian or Vikings from West Norway.

Thank you for spending this time with us and make sure to get your copy of Andrea R. Cooper’s

The Garnet Dagger

at

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00BS9HTBK/ref=as_li_tf_til?tag=andrcoo-20&camp=14573&creative=327641&linkCode=as1&creativeASIN=B00BS9HTBK&adid=17ZS25ZK5VARKCR3K5YS&&ref-refURL=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.andrearcooper.com%2F

9781440565601 Pic 1

3 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

3 responses to “Today’s Tease…Andrea R. Cooper

  1. Leanna,
    Thank you for having me. I enjoyed the interview.

  2. Great interview, ladies. Andrea, although I agree with you about how e-books have changed the impact of a cover, yours is especially gorgeous, and I’m certain it has positively impacted your sales. I can’t wait to read THE GARNET DAGGER – and also your forthcoming Viking series!

Leave a Reply

