Today’s Tease…Book Reviewer…Crystal Marie

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Crystal Marie

Your Name:  Crystal Marie

Your Title:  Book Reviewer

Link to your Blog:  http://crystalsmanyreviews.blogspot.com/

Welcome CM…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

CM: Oh this is a good one, I wanted to be a forensic pathologist, and that was way before CSI got big.  I had it all figured out, until my daddy sat me down one day and pointed out I would be in college for 12 years.  I changed my mind pretty quick after that.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. When did you decide that you wanted to be a reviewer and how did you get started?

CM: Me reviewing actually was a friend of mine telling me to do it. I use to just write short reviews… Kinda like “oh it was a good read”.  And then I ended up becoming friends with an author and she was telling me how much she appreciated the more thought out reviews.  So I started doing it that way.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Do you have a preference when it comes to published or Indie authors?

CM:  When it comes to reviewing, I don’t really have a preference.  But when it comes to actually talking to the author, and I will probably upset some authors out there with this comment, but know it’s not directed at ANYONE in particular.

When it comes to talk to the authors personally, I like the Indies and some of the published.  It seems like when some of the Indies get the big contracts, they almost forget their fans that were with them from the start.  And that bugs me to no end.  I have actually stopped reading some authors because of the way they treat their fans after they get a contract.

On the other hand, there are some Indies that even after they get a big contract, they remember us little people.  Those are the ones that I love.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!  Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

CM: I think I would fight you for Johnny Depp, but if I can’t have him I would have Jane Austen because I just love her writing skills.  The topic that I wouldn’t talk with her about would probably be sex, because I wouldn’t want to be responsible for making her blush….

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders. Ironic I know as I write sex and violence. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Which form of media do you think is the worst offender?

CM: I think that we are.  I have young cousins who watch just the regular TV channels and they know more about sex than I do.  And that drives me up the wall.  (A 10 year old should not know more about sex than a 27 year old.)  I think that when it comes to media, it’s more TV and Video Games.  Because let’s be honest here, most kids nowadays won’t pick up a book when they can just watch the movie.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

CM: I would change how animal abusers are punished.  I am a big softy when it comes to animals.  If I had the money and the room I would have a huge animal rescue on my parents land.  I don’t see how someone could brutally kill a dog, and get away with it.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online and what draws you to a book?

CM: The problem with a lot of the Indie book’s that are coming out is some of them have the same covers.  Which isn’t a problem usually, but it is when the cover doesn’t really match the book.  When I am purchasing a book, I base a lot of it on the blurb of the book.  If the blurb gives way too much away, then I won’t read the book because I already know what’s going to happen.  If the blurb doesn’t tell enough, then I won’t get it either.  It’s that gentle balance, and I do try to read books that have been recommended to me.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! What drew you to reading?

CM:  I use to actually write, I have been published a few times. (No I won’t tell you where or anything like that)  But I am horrible at getting bad reviews.  So I don’t do that anymore.  With reading though, it’s almost as though you are drawn into another world.  And I have total respect for authors who are able to create these worlds and they are letting us visit it.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

CM: I’m all about the drama.  I’m not a big violence person, but the drama, oh yeah I’ll read it!

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. When do you know you are going to like a book or not?

CM: I will know if I like a book within the first 5 chapters.  If it keeps my attention than it’s worth reading.  Another trick that I have is I will read the first 5 chapters and put the book down.  If I can’t stop thinking about the book, wanting to know more, than I know it will be a good one.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol How many books do you review in an average week?

CM:  I try to review at least 5-7 books a week. How many that I read?  That depends it goes anywhere from 7-15 books a week.  (No I really don’t have a life)

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books do you have in your queue to review? Are you taking on new books to review?

CM:  Shoot I have so many books that I want to review, I have a list a mile long.  I am always taking on new books to review. 

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Why do you review books?

CM:  I review books because I know how much the authors appreciate the reviews.  And it’s almost like we are helping the author better themselves for their next books. 

LH: I am actually afraid to ask for book reviews as I don’t like to bother people and am unsure of their reaction when I tell them the genre. Not everyone reads erotica? What is your least favorite genre and is there anything you will not review?

CM:  This will sound funny, I will NOT review children’s books.  I honestly do not understand how to do it, so I just choose not to.  The other types of books that I won’t review are books that have rape scenes in them.  (Total 180 I know)

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

CM: This one is a good one.  I use to have a birthmark on my nose, and when I was younger I use to beg my parents to let me get it removed, but my daddy kept telling me no.  He said it made me stand out from people and it made me different.

When I was 20 I had it removed and I regret it to this day.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

CM: I really don’t know who I would tell anything too.  I honestly believe that everything happens for a reason. If I went back in time and told someone not to do something, that could change the world as we know it.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. If someone you did a book review said they were offered a movie deal and it was because of your review and they were going to use it in the credits, how would you feel?

CM: If it was just in the credits? I think it would be awesome.  As long as I don’t have to show my face!

You are awesome CM and I think I can go out on a limb for ALL author here and say thank you for doing your job and reviewing for us!…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?  Dr. Pepper

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble Bath

Favorite Color? Purple

Take out or Dine in? By myself, take out (I can’t eat in restaurants by myself)

Camping or Hotel? Hotel

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate

Dogs or Cats? Dogs all the way!

Favorite Food? Cheese fries

Favorite Song? 26 Cents by The Wilkinson’s

Favorite Movie? Depends on the week

Favorite Car? One that drives?

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Shoot.. I’ll go for broke here and say chocolate

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

CM: If money wasn’t a problem at all?  I would probably want to do a cruise with all my favorite authors just so I could pick their heads  but then I would want to brag about it.  I said before I’m really boring and a bit of a homebody, so when I think about being able to go away for a week with loads of money, I would take my parents on a cruise I think.

Want your book reviewed?

Contact Crystal 

at

http://crystalsmanyreviews.blogspot.com/

Today!

photo(18)
Crystal's Many Reviews
Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

