Today’s Tease…Blake Cash

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Blake Cash
Your Name or Pen Name you use: K. Blake Cash
Title of the book you are promoting: Surviving
Link to purchase your Book: http://www.amazon.com/Surviving-loved-through-pancreaticcancer/
dp/1463438893/ref=tmm_pap_title_0
Genre: Biography? Self Help? I’m lost here, it was thereputic
Welcome BC…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?
BC: I really leaned towards psychiatry, but my father insisted there was no future in the field. At various times, everything. I’m still not certain.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

BC: I’ve always enjoyed writing, using words to communicate is something that I do well (at times). Through my life several people have told me I should write a book, so they would be my influences in career choice. As to style of writing, I would say Earnest Hemmingway, Tom Clancy, and Stephen King, as they write with distinctive voices.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

BC: I self published “Surviving”, and while I appreciate the distinction between “Indie” and “Published”, I’m not certain that I understand it. Plenty of awful books have been published, plenty of wonderful writers are “Indies”

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

BC: I’m not certain. I like being in control of every aspect, down to the font, of my book. On the other hand, I’m of the understanding that publishing houses provide better distribution and money, and money is often nice to have.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

BC: Well, framed as someone with a topic I would not discuss, I would love to spend an evening with Nikola Tesla and I wouldn’t bring up Thomas Edison.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Which form of media do you think is the worst offender?

BC: How graphically may I speak? I’m certain that violence is a far greater danger to society than sex. I think the issue with sex and media is the lack of consequences. No one gets pregnant after a one night stand, no one is shown regretting an abortion for the rest of their life. Sex, in and of itself, is my favorite activity, but I wouldn’t do it on the front lawn. At least not in daylight. The worst offender with sex is television, in that long serial story lines allow for consequences that are rarely explored. As to violence, I would say the worst offender is video games, which reward violent behavior.

LH: I’m a huge softie and by no means a beauty queen I truly would have world peace in the blink of an eye. If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

BC: I would like for everyone to truly understand each other. Not just the language but the meaning, the intent. I cannot see how that would not result in peace, as people stopped listening to their prejudices and started listening to each other.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

BC: A good cover is vitally important to lesser known authors. Something has to grasp the attention of the prospective reader. It should convey something about the book, but also just catch the eye. I suppose that continues on to better known authors. A book by Stephen King can be noticed from across the room, as the word “King” takes a good deal of the cover.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

BC: I have always written. My “way with words” was noticed and complimented when I was writing criminal complaints and intelligence reports. As a profession, I started very late, in my 50s

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

BC: I really have to say the romance of it gets me more then anything. I’m a sucker for love and trying to get together with the characters. Maybe every woman’s fantasy. Perhaps many men as well. A fictional story has to ring true for me. Characters must speak in a consistent voice, their actions should not contradict their character. Facts are important as well, if the device you want a character to use is not capable of doing what you need for a story, invent another, it’s fiction for Christ’s sake.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

BC: When I have written fiction, the characters pop into my head. The characters are the crucial factor. They tell me the story, literally. I’ve had to toss projects because I couldn’t continue down the path a character was taking me.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

BC: I’ve started writing again after a hiatus. I began a new blog (http://kblakecash.wordpress.com/) and am trying to work several “lost” projects together into single theme. Inspiration strikes at random, but I need to be writing to take advantage when it strikes.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year. How many books have you written? How many have been published?

BC: Just the one has been suitable for print, although there were a couple of classified documents that were bound. As you said earlier, I could tell you…

LH: I write for fun. Do you write for fun or money?

BC: Hmm. I’m not making money, so it must be for fun.

LH: I have never experienced it. I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

BC: Absolutely. I was emotionally devastated by a combination of events immediately after my first book. Finally my wife told me to stop babbling and write my words down again.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advise for new writers?”… Do you?

BC: I would suggest that they “Just do it”. The wonder and curse of self publishing is that the only person who has to appreciate your work is you. If you are happy with the results, in whatever way you measure happiness, continue.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did…If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

BC: No, for the same reason.

You are a funny guy and I’m glad to see that you could keep your sense of humor through tough times…with that said…Let’s have some fun!

Favorite Beverage? St. Bernardus Abt 12, the finest of Belgian beer.

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble bath

Favorite Color? Grey, the emotion between black and white.

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate, Leonidas is my current favorite.

Dogs or Cats? Love dogs but don’t have the space or time, currently owned by three cats.

Favorite Food? Anything I’ve cooked.

Favorite Song? The wind changes less often, I dig Sharon Van Etten, Dar Williams, and
Gary Clark Jr. this week.

Favorite Movie? Too many to choose, favorites change with my mood. I am fond of The
Fifth Element.

Favorite Car? Previously owned? Triumph Spitfire. Dream car? Lotus Exige.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Simultaneously.

Now…For the essay part of our interview…

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever
find out about it…where would you go and who would you take?
BC: A tree house in the jungles of Belize, with my wife, and lots of chocolate.
Thank you so much for spending time with us today and make sure get your copy of Blake Cash’s’

Surviving”

at 

 http://www.amazon.com/Surviving-loved-through-pancreaticcancer/
dp/1463438893/ref=tmm_pap_title_0

IMGP0996

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

