Today’s Tease…S. Conde

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease S. Conde

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  S. Conde

Title of the book you are promoting:  The Red Speck

 Link to purchase your Book:  Amazon : http://www.amazon.com/The-Red-Speck-ebook/dp/B008GUX8QE

 Genre:  Visionary Fiction

Welcome SC…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little.

SC: What did you want to be when you grew up? I wanted to be an actress and a writer.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

SC: I’m with you on this one.  Most of what I read is nonfiction.  Some of my favorite fictional books are, The Hitchhikers Guide to The Galaxy, Siddhartha, The Old Man and The Sea, and pretty much anything by F. Scott Fitzgerald.  The Iliad and The Odyssey had a huge impact on me as well.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

SC: Hmmm.  My immediate response would be me grandmother, but I can’t think of anything I wouldn’t discuss with her.  Albert Einstein!  I would be so entranced by him, I would not be vaguely interested in discussing myself.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Which form of media do you think is the worst offender?

SC: I’m not bothered by sex, for the most part, it’s the violence I think is problematic.  I agree with you hands down, Hollywood is the worst offender.  What irritates me further is their hypocrisy about the whole thing.  Actors preach non-violence and gun control yet do films glorifying both violence and guns.  Ridiculous.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

SC: I would lift the level of human consciousness.  One of the outcomes of which would be, of course…world peace.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

SC: I wouldn’t go so far as to say they’re everything, but they are certainly something.  As an intensely visual person, I am attracted to what I find aesthetically pleasing, so a great book cover goes a long way in getting my attention.  Now, if you want to hold my attention, there had better be something good inside.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

SC: I started when I was very young, then stopped, then started.  It’s been fits of starts and stops my whole life.  I think it’s because I lacked perspective.  I had great ideas, but not enough life experience to write in a way that felt authentic to me.   It’s only been a year since I’ve really “begun”, now I find it difficult to stop.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

SC: The message is what pulls me in initially.  If the book is misogynistic, excessively violent, or just plain ugly, you’ve lost me.  …for that I can watch the news.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

SC: Most of the time I get my ideas from some sort of epiphany about myself.  It’s sort of like a flash of lightning in my mind, then suddenly I understand the “why” of something I hadn’t before.  The visual component comes to me as I’m writing.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

SC: I can’t tell you, but yes.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

SC: Only the The Red Speck so far, though I have plenty of short stories, poems, and essays on my blog Idols Of The Tribe.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

SC: I write because I have to get it out or it will make me sick.  It’s like therapy.  Ultimately, I would like to make a living from my writing.  It would be nice if my habit would support itself, that way I could spend more time writing and less time financing it on “the outside”.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

SC: The Red Speck is intensely personal.  I had to get it out of my system before I could write anything else.  All the fits and starts I referred to earlier came as a result of not being able to tell this story from the heart, for fear it would hurt a couple of key players in my life.  Even told as an allegory, it’s fairly obvious who’s who.  One family member has not spoken to me since the book came out, the other faded out of the picture a long time ago anyway, so it doesn’t really matter.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

SC: I think writer’s block is just an avoidant behavior, sort of an argument between your heart and your head. A writer can think about a story all they want, but if it doesn’t come from the heart, it will have no heart, the words will feel stilted and dry.

I mean, in my humble opinion.  …but then again, “Que se yo?”  Translation, “What do I know?”

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

SC: On the surface there are a million little things I would change, but you’re right, I could never.  One tug of a loose string and the garment is changed forever.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

SC: LOL!  I would tell the founding the fathers they are doing lots of things right.  J  Seriously though, I don’t think I would tell anyone anything, based on the very same principle from the last question.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

SC: I’d probably giggle uncontrollably for a month.  In between the spontaneous outbursts of joy, I’d contact an entertainment lawyer.  …thrilled, but not stupid. 😉  Without a doubt, the first person I’d tell would be my husband.  I like him a lot.

Thanks for the in depth interview SC….Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Water, weird right?

Exercise or Bubble Bath?  Bubble Bath!

Favorite Color?  Red or blue, depends on my mood.

Take out or Dine in?  Too many variables to say definitively… Is it raining?  How many kids are with me?  Do I have my period?  Have I been working all day?  Is the kitchen clean?  What am I wearing?  Obviously, I take this one very seriously.

Camping or Hotel? Both.

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate

Dogs or Cats?  Both.

Favorite Food? Pecan pie.

Favorite Song? Redemption Song, Bob Marley

Favorite Movie? Deconstructing Harry, Woody Allen

Favorite Car? My old ass, torn up, Land Rover.  I love her so.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 I already have chocolate coming to me from the sports question, so I’ll take the sex.  Thanks.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉 

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

SC: The who is more important to me than the what and the where.

I’ve had a nineteen-year long romance with this guy I met at Lollapalooza in ’94.  We’ve been broke together, we’ve raised children together, we dance in the living room together, he loves my cooking, I encourage his painting, he encourages my writing, we still laugh at each others jokes, I still want him, and he still wants me.

So, it really doesn’t matter where we go, what we do, nor who knows about it.  The only thing that matters is that we’re together.

Sappy, I know, but true.

Thanks so much for the opportunity to speak with you and your readers today.  I’ve enjoyed the interview.

*LH sighs as she’s “sappy” too 😉 and says*

Thank’s so much for spending time with us today and make sure get your copy of S. Conde’s

The Red Speck

at

http://www.amazon.com/The-Red-Speck-ebook/dp/B008GUX8QE

BookCover IMG_0880_2

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

