Today’s Tease…Cameron Lincoln

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Cameron Lincoln

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Cameron Lincoln

Title of the book you are promoting:  Waves Of Passion

 Link to purchase your Book: 

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/10ylB5y

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/UPmChS

Genre:  Romance / Erotica

Welcome  ….I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

CL: I started out wanting to be Batman, and then when I realized that was a little too far out of my reach, I settled on astronaut. After that, writer seemed the most logical step, because then I get to be whatever or whoever I want!  I can even be Batman in space, if I want…

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

CL: So many – I grew up reading Stephen King and Clive Barker.  Neil Gaiman is a big influence – his power to tell a story with such deceptive ease.  The fact his books read so well just shows how much work he puts into them.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

CL: I’m indie at the moment.  Hopefully one day I’ll be discovered in much the same way, but for now I’m perfectly happy building my own personal little world and having full control of my output.  It’s liberating to be in charge of your own stories.  But having the support and promo/marketing of a publisher would be so gratifying and adds a certain validation.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Which form of media do you think is the worst offender?

CL: I think there aren’t enough positive messages about sexuality in the media – and I think the biggest offender is the entertainment press and TV.  It’s the beauty and glamour magazines that sexualize everything and provide ridiculous standards to live up to.  It’s the ‘reality’ TV shows that glamorize utterly moronic behavior.  Positive role models are out there but they’re drowned out by the screeching of orange, sex-crazed harpies parading around with nothing on.  But until people start voting with their remotes and not watching this garbage, it’s going to continue.

As for violence, I think people are smart enough to differentiate between the kind of violence they see on the news and the kind they see Jason Statham dishing out on the silver screen.  The general of message of ‘violence solves problems’ is far more prevalent in the real-world images we see every day rather than in fiction.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

CL: I’d change some people’s propensity to be mean to each other.  I’m a firm believer in the ‘can’t we all just get along’ mentality.  If everyone was a little more relaxed and willing to listen to other people’s points of view, we wouldn’t have so much conflict.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online? 

CL: If the cover is everything, nobody would have bought The White Album by The Beatles.  I think a good cover will certainly encourage people to pick it up, but it’s not essential.  I’ve read fantastic stories in ebook format where the cover hasn’t been a brilliant design, and I’ve been lured in by a gorgeous cover and been lumbered with dreck.  Nobody I’ve ever spoken to about books has ever mentioned how great they thought the cover was, but the story has changed their life.  It’s all about the writing inside.                             

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

When I was old enough to pick up a pen and form intelligible words!  I’ve been writing stories since I was in infants school, making up outlandish situations or writing about my favourite characters.  Very little has changed…the characters are mine, but the situations even more wild!

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

CL: The characters.  Do I identify with them? Can I understand their actions?  How and why do they react to the situations they’re in?  It could be an epic sci fi story or a small scale human drama, as long as the characters are believable and relatable in some way.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

Sometimes it’s an image that strikes me, or a character comes first and I wonder what trouble I can get them into.  Sometimes it’s a fully formed idea with a beginning, middle and end.  Sometimes it’s a thought, or perhaps a line.  It’s never the same each time.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

CL: I’m always working on something!  I just hit a wordcount of 2000 for the day so I’ve earned a rest but I think I’ll get back to it this evening!

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

I have 9 stories published – 6 are shorts, and 3 form a serialized novel.  Right now I have a couple of shorts in progress and ideas for two full, standalone novels in different styles and genres.  And I’m sure by the end of today I’ll a few more ideas vying for attention!          

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

CL: It started out for fun, but I realized I could make money doing it, and there’s no better feeling than getting paid to do what you love.  Hopefully one day it will be my only job, and then I’ll be truly happy.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

CL: With the genre I write in, it’s a little sensitive and would cause many a raised eyebrow, so I only tell a handful at a time.  Those closest to me know and support what I do, which is a great feeling!

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

CL: I don’t get block so much as I get ‘everything you have just written is rubbish, start again!’  I can always write something, but if I’m not in the mood or not feeling the scene or the story, I’ll likely end up clearing a page and start from scratch if I’m not happy.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

CL: Do it your own way.  Find your own voice.  Nobody else can write like you.  Nobody wants to see your best impression of someone else’s style.  They want to read yours.  I think so many budding writers worry that they’re not writing in the same way as the books they love and try to copy that style.  Hell, that’s exactly how I started writing, but you have to find your own unique way of getting those stories out.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

CL: Like you, there’s no need to change a thing.  If you changed anything, you wouldn’t be the unique and wonderful soul that you are.  Waste no time on regrets, just go forward and be yourself.

LH: If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

CL: Me, as a teenager.  I’d tell him it’ll all work out.  Everything always does.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

CL:Total geek meltdown I think!  I think I’d be standing on the rooftops telling the world before I even thought about picking up the phone!  But my partner would be first to know.  She’s so supportive of everything I do, I’d feel like she was as much as responsible for the success as I.

Thank you for that wonderful interview CL…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Red wine

Exercise or Bubble Bath? People are going to think I’m lazy and decadent, but it’s got to be bubble bath!

Favorite Color? Purple

Take out or Dine in? Dine in

Camping or Hotel? Hotel

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate

Dogs or Cats? Dogs

Favorite Food? Lasagna

Favorite Song? Stand By Me – Ben E King

Favorite Movie? The Shawshank Redemption

Favorite Car? Aston Martin DB5

Sex or Chocolate? Both!

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

CL: Call me a hopeless romantic, but I’d take my dearest lady to New York for a week.  Forget fantasy, we’d live in there here and now and be together in that amazing place, which she’s always wanted to visit.

Thank you for spending this time with us and make sure to pick up your copy of Cameron Lincoln’s

Waves Of Passion

at

http://amzn.to/10ylB5y

http://amzn.to/UPmChS

Waves Of Passion

4 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

4 responses to “Today’s Tease…Cameron Lincoln

  1. Reblogged this on Cameron Lincoln's Erotica and commented:
    The amazing Leanna Harrow has interviewed me at her blog! Amazing questions, such a fun interview to do. Check it out!

  2. such a great talent and wonderful person. great piece!!! X

Leave a Reply

