Today’s Tease…Jorja Grael

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Jorja Grael 

Your Name or Pen Name you use: Jorja Grael 

Title of the book you are promoting:  Two actually, To Tame a Rogue Heart and The Rental

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=Jorja%20Grael

 Genre:  Romance

Welcome  ….I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

JG: I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up!  I wanted to be an astronaut, until I found out that math was involved, but from seventh grade I wanted to be a writer.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

JG: I can’t really say who influenced me.  In high school, I was into romance, Rosemary Rogers, Valerie Sherwood, Kathleen E. Woodiwiss, but I also read the classics, Dickens, Scott, and Shakespeare.  These days, it’s Stephen King, Lee Child, and Tom Clancy. 

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

JG: I think there are pros and cons to both.  I would like to have a traditional publisher, if only to have my books in actual print.  Ebooks are great, but there is nothing like a real book in your hands.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

JG: The late Princess of Wales, and not discuss the Royal Family.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Which form of media do you think is the worst offender?

JG: I think sex and violence in media is a symptom of bigger problems in our society.  We are not teaching that there are consequences to our actions, and this is reflected in the media.  There is sex and violence in the world, but the media romanticizes it.  No one seems to realize that this is fantasy and not the real world.  I can’t really say who is the biggest offender.  Movies probably reach more people, but it’s there in any form of media.

LH: I’m a huge softie and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

JG: I think if stupidity could be fixed, it would go a long way toward world peace!

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

JG: I think the cover is still very important.  It is still the first thing that catches the eye.  You can have a great book, but if the cover doesn’t catch the buyer’s attention, they’re not going to give the book a second look.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

JG: I started in seventh grade. To Tame a Rogue Heart was actually started when I was in high school.  I still have bits of it hand-written on algebra papers!  That’s probably why I flunked algebra!  I started again about five years ago, and now I have 2 novels on Amazon.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

JG: It has to be a good story, and it has to be well researched and well written.  If it’s not, I’ll still finish the book, but then I’ll gripe about it for days.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

JG: I don’t have the whole movie thing.  With me, it’s usually more of a still photo sort of thing, sort of what if, and from there it either grows into something worth writing, or it dies.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

JG: I’m always working on something! I usually have two or three books going at once. Right now, I have two.  One is a romantic suspense novel, a stalker/serial killer type book. The other is another historical romance.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

JG: Right now, it’s just two, both self-published.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

JG: I wish it was for the money!!  It’s not even for fun.  It’s more like I have this story in my head, and if I don’t get it out, my head will explode.  I love the fact that people enjoy my books, and would write for just that.  Money would only be gravy, but I do like gravy!

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

JG: My biggest problem with most of my family is that they think I’m playing at something.  They don’t take it seriously. They’re like, “That’s nice,” then change the subject.  The exception to that is my niece, Barbie, who is also my editor.  She has been so supportive and has pushed and bullied me into doing things I would probably never have done on my own, but that I am very grateful for now.  My fiancé Tom is coming around.  I was floored when I was writing The Rental and he told me not to worry about cooking supper since I was working!

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

JG: I like that phrase! I don’t write beginning to end, so if I get stuck at one part, I usually just move on to another part.  At one point when writing Rogue Heart, I had 9 different documents and just worked back and forth until I got them all connected.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

JG: Write, write, write and read, read, read!!  Develop very thick skin if you are submitting to agents or publishers, and don’t let the rejection letters get you down. Keep up the social networking.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

JG: There’s not much I would change.  I would probably start writing again sooner, but maybe not.

LH: If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

JG: I generally speak my mind, so there’s not much I would have to say.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

JG: I don’t usually like movie adaptations of books, because they lose so much in the process.  I would probably freak out, too!  The first person I told would probably be Barbie.  She’s been with me step by step in all of this.

This has been great JG!…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Hot chocolate

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble bath.

Favorite Color? Purple

Take out or Dine in? Take out

Camping or Hotel? Camping

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate

Dogs or Cats? Both

Favorite Food? Sushi

Favorite Song? At the moment, Unity, by Shinedown

Favorite Movie? The Terminator series.  I love sci fi!

Favorite Car? 1969 Camaro

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Both

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

JG: As a general rule, I don’t care who knows what about me, so that’s not an issue.  This will sound corny, but I would take my fiancé, Tom, to an island for a week.  He is a homebody and doesn’t want to go ANYWHERE, so I would love to get him away from everything and everyone and have him all to myself.

 

Thank you so much for spending time with us today and make sure get your copy of Jorja Grael’s

To Tame a Rogue Heart and The Rental

at

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=Jorja%20Grael

Final Final2


522944_104755116354681_2008042729_n

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

