Today’s Tease…Aubrey Brown

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Aubrey Brown

Your Name or Pen Name you use: Aubrey Brown

Title of the book you are promoting:  Ravenous, book one in a three book series

 Link to purchase your Book: www.bookstrand.com/ravenous

 It is also available on Amazon!!

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00C2BWP6W/ref=cm_cr_mts_prod_img

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/ravenous-dawn-brown/1007210996?ean=9781622425969

 Genre: Erotica; Historical/Paranormal

You can follow me on Facebook

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Aubrey-Brown/461280683926616

And my website

http://aubreybrown.yolasite.com/

Welcome AB…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

AB: An author. I have always had a deep love for the written word, and I had so many stories to tell.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

AB: My grandmother, I always struggled in school with reading. So every day-after  school she made me read to her every night, until I could read beyond my grade level. She loved books, and that love transferred to me.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

AB: I am a published author with Siren Book-Strand. I am also getting ready to publish as an Indie author. I have been told there are pro’s and con’s to both.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

AB: Oh, wow. My answer was going to be Johnny Depp. I post many pictures of that good-looking man on my author’s page! He is not only gorgeous; he also does many acts of charities, which combined together make one hell of a package!

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

AB: That is a very hard question to answer, because I am an erotica novelist and a paranormal author to boot. So there are both of those aspects in my novels. I do believe, to a degree, that sex sells, and violence can bring a certain excitement to a thrilling novel. However, I do not agree with individuals under the age of eighteen purchasing my novels. I also am of the opinion that as a parent it is my job to censor what my child sees. As I stated, previously, that is a very hard question to answer.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

AB: The perception I receive for being an erotica novelist in such a conservative state. I am either hated or loved; there is no numb or happy medium. So in essence I would say people’s attitudes and the way they treat other individuals. For example; bullying, hate crimes, and bigotry. I would love the world to come into an understanding or one another and have acceptance and love.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

AB: I remember winning a short story contest in Elementary school. It was a story about my dog passing away and how sad I was. Later in my years I was on the school newspaper, journalism staff, dead poet’s society, and winning another writing contest for a short story about my grandmother. I also have a degree in English Literature.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

AB: A story should have a strong feasible plot with fun and interesting characters that I can relate to. I want to be caught in the story within the first few pages and strung along until the end, where I am upset that the story is over, and now I have to wait for another novel.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

AB: I usually come up with stories for submission calls or something that has been suggested to me. I can make up a fun and entertaining story in my head, but I also liked to be pushed into uncomfortable topics and expected to write the characters that I may not have thought about. Ravenous, was a submission call, and I had never written a paranormal novel before. I also was used to writing straight across romance, and I was told to spice it up and use direct words, leaving nothing to the imagination, so in the end, I became an erotica novelist. I am a true believer you should write what makes you uncomfortable and pushes your limits.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

AB: I am working on a short story for Amazon, BN, and smash word called, Cursed. Hunger, the sequel to, Ravenous, will be published in August, I have the third installment, Crave, scheduled to publish in December, and lastly, a Holiday novel for Amazon in December as well. Busy. Busy.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

AB: Ravenous is my third novel. My first two were contemporary works that are years old. I stopped writing when I had my son. He has special needs that required my full attention for four years. Now that he is stable, I am writing again!

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

AB: Both? Lol. No, I mostly write for the fun of it, or I should say the ‘must’ of it. I have to write to feel fulfilled. I want to share my art and talent with everyone, and bring enjoyment to avid readers.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve at no time wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

AB: I have been called a heathen, and a supporter of pre-marital sex, adultery, promiscuity, teen pregnancy, and essentially the downfall of society as we know it. Hurtful words can be distracting, but I figure religion and politics are not my problem, so I write on, and ignore some bashing I receive. However, some other family members support me, love my writing, and encourage me. It just depends upon the attitude. Nevertheless, mostly I receive support from friends and family.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

AB: Absolutely. I have never met an author that hasn’t  However, a contract with a specific publication date and deadlines, make for a wonderful motivator.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

AB: Rejection comes to everyone; do not let it discourage you. Everyone receives that, ‘no thank you,’ letter. Keep holding on and stay strong, your time will come. Write your heart out, and sell it!

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

AB: Nothing. Nothing at all. I am right where I need to be.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

AB: I would tell the young me not to cry, that someone someday soon would love my writing and publish my work. Everyone has their time. Mine was just delayed.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

AB: Where do I sign? Lol! 

You are absolutely awesome AB!..Now…for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Ice Water. I cannot write without it.

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Both. Exercise first, then the bubble bath.

Favorite Color? Red

Take out or Dine in? Dine in. My food tastes better.

Camping or Hotel? Hotel! I do not work hard all year long to cook a hot dog on a stick over a fire.

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate!

Dogs or Cats? Neither. I am allergic to both.

Favorite Food? Salad it has to be Romaine lettuce and spinach. Yummy!

Favorite Song? That is like asking me what my favored novel is. I can’t answer it.

Favorite Movie? Any horror movie, I love them. The scarier the better!

Favorite Car? Hyundai, Santa Fe

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Both! At the same time please.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

AB: Johnny Depp. We would go to his private island and never sleep! 

Thanks for spending this time with us and make sure to pick up your copy of Aubrey Brown’s Ravenous

at

 www.bookstrand.com/ravenous

 It is also available on Amazon!!

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00C2BWP6W/ref=cm_cr_mts_prod_img

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/ravenous-dawn-brown/1007210996?ean=9781622425969

Ravenous kelli

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

