Today’s Tease…Chantal Bellehumeur

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Chantal Bellehumeur

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Chantal Bellehumeur

Title of the book you are promoting:  Just.Another.Common.Killer

Link to purchase your Book: 

You can buy all my novels directly from my publishers, but it is cheaper on Amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/Chantal-Bellehumeur/e/B008YX5YGK

 Genre:  Horror

Welcome  CB…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

CB: Thanks for hosting me.  I am happy to answer your questions.

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

CB: I use to make jewelry with cut straws, plastic beads, macaroni noodles and such and told my mother that I was going to open up a jewelry store for poor people.  I then moved on to wanting to be an astronaut because I wished to go into space.  Then I got confused.  Thought about acting and ended up being a writer instead.  I just do it as a hobby though. 

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?     

CB: My mother always encouraged me to write as a child.  I used to do drawings that dictate my stories to her before I knew how to put words together.  I never really thought about publishing anything until a friend of mine told me I should.

My friends, family, and even co-workers have been encouraging me to continue writing.  My son even showed his support by working on a fantasy novel with me and then proudly showing off the published book to everyone.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

CB: I am an Indie publisher.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

CB: I would not say no if a publishing company approached me because self publishing is expensive and a lot of my time is spent trying to promote my books.  With no budget, it is very hard to get the word out…I would just be afraid of a traditional publisher wanting to change my style of writing or something like that.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

CB: I believe our thoughts are the same here.  Lol  Trying to think of somebody else…Tim Burton, and I would not discuss books with him.  Then again, if I could get him to direct a movie based on one of my creepy stories from «Thirteen-A Compilation of Short stories» I am sure that he would make it very original.  I love his style!

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

CB: Everything has its place.  There is nothing wrong with sexual content, but sometimes I find it is placed where there is no need for it.  I have been in awkward situations watching a movie or show with my son, who is now twelve, were we both get uncomfortable because something sexual randomly pops up.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

CB: World peace would indeed be nice.  I would also like it if nobody was ever starving or seriously ill.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

CB: I hate people who judge a book purely by its cover, but unfortunately it is the first thing everyone sees.  So, it is important to try and create a book cover that catches the eyes.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

CB: I always wrote yes. I used to create mini books by stapling pieces of papers together.  I had a writing folder at school too, which I kept.  As a teenager, I started working on short stories and novels.  My sister and I attempted to write a movie script.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

CB: It depends on what I am writing.  I will admit that the main character of my Veronica Series, which include «Veronica’s Soap Opera Life», «Veronica’s Attempt at romance», and «Veronica’s Happily Ever After» was highly based on me.  Veronica has my personality and I kind of turned her into somebody I would have wanted to be in the sense that she found her happiness in the end of all her bad luck with men.

When I worked on Just.Another.Common.Killer, it was the mystery of Jack the Ripper’s murders that really interested me.  I have always been fascinated with the killer and decided to base a modern character on him; his reincarnation really.  I love horror movies and wanted to create a monster of my own.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

CB: Sometimes there is like a movie playing inside my head too.  I mostly get inspired by life in general or dreams.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

CB: Yes. I started writing short stories for The Suburban Online Magazine.  My first story, «A Mother’s Love», was published in the April 26 issue.  «A father’s promise» will be published in June, followed by «An unplanned Wedding» in July.  I am currently working on a new story with the same characters for an August publication.  I already have an idea for the story that will follow.  My stories can be read for FREE by going to www.thesuburban.com and clicking on their magazine tab.  I post direct links on my Facebook author page when the stories become available.  People can follow me at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Chantal-Bellehumeur-public-author-page/347446362035640

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

CB: I published 7 novels in total.  Titles include:

Fictional diaries, «Veronica’s Soap Opera Life», «Veronica’s Attempt at romance», and «Veronica’s Happily Ever After»

Horror novel «Just.Another.Common.Killer»

Mystery book «Thirteen-A Compilation of Short Stories»

Fantasy novel «Sdrawkcab»

Fictional health novel «Hope», write to make people understand what living with Colitis is like

I hope to continue writing short stories for The Suburban Online Magazine.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

CB: I write for fun; have not made back the money I invested in my novels.

Glad that The Suburban is publishing my short stories at no cost to me.   In fact, they are giving me very good exposure.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

CB: A lot of my characters are originally based on me or events in my life so sometimes people look at the other characters of my stories and see similarities to themselves and think that the way I portrays those characters is how I view them, or that I am talking about them when I am not… If I make my characters do bad things, like kill or torture, some people ask me how I could come up with it as though I was the one doing it rather than my characters.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

CB: On occasion, but it usualy doesn’t last.  More often than not, my ideas flow faster than I can write them down.  lol

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

CB: Keep writing, don’t let critics get to you but rather take in positive feedback.  Constructive criticism can be good though.  Also, help other authors since they can also help you.  It is good to have support all around.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

CB: I was diagnosed with Colitis, which is a serious digestive illness, about 3 and a half years ago.  If I could go back to being perfectly healthy and being able to eat whatever I wanted whenever I wanted without suffering any consequences that would be great!

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

CB: Hummm.  Can I give my parents the numbers for a winning lottery ticket?  lol

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

CB: I could totally handle it!  I actually looked into that at one point because people told me that Just.Another.Common.Killer would make a good horror flick.  My son keeps saying he wants my fantasy novel Sdrawkcab to be a movie.  I found out that it is very complicated and expensive to just try pitching the idea, with no guarantees that my suggestion would even be seen.

I would also like to point out that I have a small background in acting so I would probably ask to do a cameo or something if one of my books got turned into a movie.   (I have to say that I am normally shy when I am not a character.)

My son is starting to show interest in acting now so I am sure that if Sdrawkcab got turned into a movie he would want to be part of the cast, even if he was just an extra.

Anyways, if one of my stories got turned into a movie I would tell my son first, then contact my boyfriend, and proceeded to calling my mom, my sister, and my dad (in that order).  My best friend Sarah would be next, and then the rest of my close friends.  I would definitely post the news on Facebook!

Thank you for that interesting interview CB….Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Ice tea on a warm day, hot chocolate when it is cold.

Exercise or Bubble Bath?  Bubble bath

Favorite Color? Black.  Okay, I know it is not a technically color.  I still say black.

Take out or Dine in? I like to go out and sit on a terrace or have a pic-nick, but sometimes it is fun to order in and eat in front of the TV.

Camping or Hotel?  Camping to get away from the word for a  weekend, but hotel if touring in a city.

Sports or Chocolate?  Chocolate!!!

Dogs or Cats? Cats

Favorite Food?  Pasta, medium rare steak.  CHOCOLATE!

Favorite Song?  Don’t have one in particular.  I like music I can dance to.

Favorite Movie? Hard to pick.  First thing that comes to mind RIGHT NOW; I like the Scream series.

Favorite Car? I don’t know anything about cars.  I don’t even have a license.  Why?  I daydream too much and believe I would be dangerous on the roads.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉  Good, cause I say both.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

CB: I like the idea of a secret trip.  I would go to Italy with my boyfriend and turn the trip into a romantic getaway.

Thank you for spending this time with us and make sure to pick up your copy of Chantal Bellehumeur’s

Just.Another.Common.Killer

at

http://www.amazon.com/Chantal-Bellehumeur/e/B008YX5YGK

jack big 2 (1) 1 (1)

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “Today’s Tease…Chantal Bellehumeur

  1. What a wonderful interview! I’m going to put Just.Another.Common.Killer on my list TBR!

Leave a Reply

