Today’s Tease…Danielle A. Elwood

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Danielle A. Elwood

Your Name or Pen Name you use:     Danielle A. Elwood

Title of the book you are promoting:   Take Me Out

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://author.danielleelwood.com/shop/

(Not available on Amazon yet)

Genre:  Romance

Welcome  ….I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

DAE : Oh gosh!  I think at one point it was a Veterinarian. Then a Doctor, a Mother (which I am!) a Marine Biologist. I mean, as a kid the sky really is the limit right?

LH:didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?      

DAE : I am kind of the same way. I have been writing for almost six years mostly as a blogger though. When I found out that to write and publish a book you could literally just do it… it inspired me to start writing.  Plus, knowing EL James originally penned 50 Shades with no book deal was certainly inspiring.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

DAE : I am an Indie author. Although, some day… I would love to be discovered myself.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

DAE : It would really depend on the circumstances. I can’t say yes or no to something I know so little about. I guess its just one of those don’t knock it till you try it things?

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!  Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

DAE : Marilyn Monroe and men. So easy. She is one of my idols, always has been.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.   Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

DAE : I feel like society is far more acceptable of sex and violence. There is a time and place for adult activities and they should be kept behind closed doors.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

DAE : Hunger. Far too many children around the world aren’t thriving because of the lack of food, or safe food to eat. Even right here in America. No child should have to go to bed hungry. Ever!

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

DAE : I am kind of a cover snob. Especially when I am picking out my next novel to read. If the cover is so-so, I may just pass it by. Even if the book has amazing reviews.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

DAE : Nope, I used to hate it. Then I started blogging and my love for writing was born. Which translated into a fascination with fictional work. Here I am today!

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

DAE : I think the first chapter is always a make or break for me. If the beginning of the storyline doesn’t grab me, the book won’t hold me interested.  I think there always has to be some kind of catch, tragedy, life changing event… quickly in a book.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?            

DAE : I think I am the same way with the movie comparison. As I write I play my words and thoughts into a movie in my head. It has to flow, work really…

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

DAE : I am!  I am currently working on the next book in the Young Brother Series. Take Me Out is book #1, and book #2 is titled Unexpected Desire and is coming Fall of 2013!

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

DAE : Take Me Out is my first published work!

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

DAE : I write for a mixture of both. I am sure so many independent authors out there know the money that it takes to publish a book. Even if I only broke even, I would still continue writing since it is my passion.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

DAE : Honestly, I think some of it is the embarrassment factor. So far my family has been extremely supportive including my pretty conservative father. I guess I just don’t want them to actually read my book! Haha!  But I think another difference is, the main characters in my books are 100% fictional. I pick up bits and pieces from friends, but for the most part they aren’t anyone that I personally know.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

DAE : I did. For a while actually. I started writing Take Me Out and truly dove in head first. Then life got in the way in the form of children going to school, work, and other obligations outside of the hobby writing had become. Any time I set to the side for writing just left me feeling like I wanted to smash my head on the keyboard. So I just stepped away until I felt that passion again. Sometimes, you just need to walk away for it to all come back to you!

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

DAE : Just write! Don’t worry about what people will think, everyone will have something to say; good, bad or excellent. As long as you love what you do, keep doing it!

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

DAE : There are a lot of things I wish I could go back in time and change. But like you said, I wouldn’t be the person I am today if I did that. I think the main thing I would turn back time for is the loss of my sister. I have a lot of “what ifs” when it came to her care, helping her, etc.  If I could go back and re-write the outcome of losing her, I would do it without a doubt.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

DAE : If I could go back in time I would go back and tell my sister I love her. Although I know she truly knew that, she was the most important person I have ever lost. But, I think to this day she can still hear me when I talk to her.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

DAE : I would probably tell my father first. He has been my biggest cheerleader over the years. Anything new I have taken on he has always pushed me to be excellent at. As for being in the spotlight like that, I would probably end up locked away in my house like Brian Wilson.

Thank you for that sweet and candid interview DAE…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?  Sweet Tea

Exercise or Bubble Bath?  Bubble Bath all the way!

Favorite Color?  Lime green

Take out or Dine in?  Take out!  I totally don’t belong in a kitchen at all.

Camping or Hotel?   Hotel, I am so not cut out for the outdoors!

Sports or Chocolate?   Oh god! BOTH!  I could never choose between the two.

Dogs or Cats?  This is another both. I love my cat to pieces, but my Bella (our Pitbull puppy) is my partner in crime.

Favorite Food?  Mac n Cheese.

Favorite Song?  If Its the Beaches by The Avett Brothers

Favorite Movie?  The Wizard of Oz  (I am all about the classics!)

Favorite Car?  Probably my Mom mobile I drive  Mazda CX9

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉  Is it bad if I say Chocolate?  HAHA!

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉 

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

DAE : This is a tough one!  I would probably take my mother someplace tropical. She totally deserves it! She works hard and is just an overall amazing person who has had a trying time in her life after losing her daughter. She deserves a good tropic vacation, maybe a cruise. Honestly, anything she wanted!

Thank you for spending this time with us! Make sure to pick up your copy of Danielle A. Elwood’s

Take Me Out 

at 

http://author.danielleelwood.com/shop/

take me out book cover Screen Shot 2013-04-24 at 7.42.02 PM

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “Today’s Tease…Danielle A. Elwood

  1. Julie

    So many things in this interview don’t match up with what DAE has said in the past. The truth is out there, unfortunately for DAE.

  2. Pingback: Today's Featured Tease! » Danielle A. Elwood - Indie Author

Leave a Reply

