Today’s Tease…Mia Natal

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Mia Natal

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Mia Natal

Title of the book you are promoting:  Tormented

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.amazon.com/Tormented-ebook/dp/B00CK69KP8/ref=sr_1_5_bnp_1_kin?ie=UTF8&qid=1369138486&sr=8-5&keywords=tormented

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/tormented-mia-natal/1115228640?ean=9781484828847

Genre:  Adult contemporary

Welcome  MN…I, LH have some questions for you 😉 

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

MN: Believe it or not I dreamed of being a rock star!

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

MN: My hubby inspired me.  I can always be found writing short stories to entertain family & friends and one day he suggested I write a novel.  I thought about it for months and decided to just do it.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

MN: Indie

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?     

MN: I wouldn’t pass the opportunity to be with a traditional publisher.  It will alleviate all the work that seems to frustrate all indie authors. (Smashword, Create a space & KDP select (headaches))

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!  Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

MN: I would definitely invite Adam Levine! (gush I’m a huge fan!).  I would not discuss politics or his latest love interest.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why? 

MN: I personally think sex between to consensual adults in love or in lust is fine but when it is sold or taken by force is disgusting.  I think there is to much violence out there as well.  How is our society as a whole able to end the endless violence that is around us on a daily basis?  We live in am imperfect world. Sex and violence have been around since the beginning of time and will continue to the end of time.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be? 

MN:  If I could save the world I would to but for me it would be child abuse.  It’s a personal issue for me because I grew up in that environment and survived it but not many children do which is sad.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online? 

MN: Well a good book cover catches the eyes and draws you in.  When I shop for ebooks I tend to look at covers that draw me in because either they look great or just downright sexy.  I know that’s wrong but I can’t help myself.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start? 

MN: I always wanted to write and as a child growing up in abuse writing was my escape.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?   

MN: What interests me the most in a story is the connection between the characters.  They have to be believable to hold my interest.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories? 

MN: This one is a little hard to explain but I will try.  My ideas for a story come to me at odd times.  I could be driving home from work and a scene or daydream pops into my head and the minute I get home I write down what I envisioned.  I guess I’m like you, it’s a movie that starts in my head and eventually makes it way to paper.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

MN: Yes, I am.  I’m currently writing Bound by Grace.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?   

MN: I’ve published one book so far, Tormented and working on my second.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

MN: I write for enjoyment it’s never been about the money.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

MN: I guess it would be that they will nag me about not having anytime for them.  When I start to write I lose myself and tune out everything around me much to my family’s chagrin.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

MN: I never experience writer’s block but I have experienced writer’s overload where I have all these ideas churning in my head I don’t know how to put it all together.  When that happens I walk away and procrastinate for days or weeks until the urge to write hits me again.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

MN: Write when the moment hits you. Don’t get crushed by a bad review or criticisms rather use it as a learning tool to improve. Read out loud what you have written and most important have fun with your characters.  It’s your story to tell.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

MN: I really don’t have any regrets in my life just the situation I grew up in but if that never happened I wouldn’t be the person I am today.  It took me a long time to come to terms with this and I’m so much stronger because of it. Therefore I wouldn’t change a thing.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

MN: If I could go back in time it would be my father.  What would I tell him you ask?  I will tell him I forgive him for all the years of abuse.  It’s kind of deep and sad all at the same time.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

MN: First I would think I was being punked by Ashton Kutcher then I would flip the freak out.  The first person I would tell would be the love of my life, Edgar, my hubby!

Thanks for that touching and honest interview MN…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Tequilla (Would you even classify it as a beverage?)

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Definitely a bubble bath

Favorite Color? Red

Take out or Dine in? Without a doubt take out

Camping or Hotel? Hotel

Sports or Chocolate?  If you ever read Tormented there is a scene in the book that involves a steamy couple and chocolate mousse so chocolate would have to be my answer.

Dogs or Cats?  Dog

Favorite Food? Chinese

Favorite Song?  Sunday Morning by Adam Levine.

Favorite Movie?  Wizard of Oz (Please don’t laugh, lol)

Favorite Car? The Hennessey Venom GT, because it’s a sexy fast car. (I have a need for speed)

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Both of course!

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

MN: If I could go anywhere for a week and no one will be the wiser then I would go to a deserted tropical island with non other than Adam Levine. (Can you tell I’m obsessed with him?)  And the real question would be, what would we not do and that would be sleep separately!  (I wish!)  I honestly would take my hubby.  He is my greatest supporter and biggest fan.  He completes me in every way imaginable.  He saved me and for that I would be eternally grateful to him.  Spending a week with him would be heaven. God I love that man.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of  Mia Natal’s 

Tormented

at

http://www.amazon.com/Tormented-ebook/dp/B00CK69KP8/ref=sr_1_5_bnp_1_kin?ie=UTF8&qid=1369138486&sr=8-5&keywords=tormented

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/tormented-mia-natal/1115228640?ean=9781484828847

image image (1)

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “Today’s Tease…Mia Natal

  1. Great interview! I loved Tormented and can’t wait for Mia’s next book.

Leave a Reply

