Today’s Tease…Roy Huff

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Roy Huff

Your Name or Pen Name you use: Roy Huff
Title of the book you are promoting: Everville: The First Pillar
Link to purchase your Book: http://www.amazon.com/Everville-First-Pillar-Roy-Huff/dp/0988936402?&linkCode=wey&tag=royhuffsoffib-20
Genre: Young Adult, Epic Fantasy

Welcome RH…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

RH: I wanted to be a meteorologist.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

RH: I’ve been influenced by all the scifi and fantasy greats from J.K. Rowling, Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and others.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

RH: I am self published.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

RH: It depends on the price point, creative control, and contract details.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

RH: I would invite Barack Obama and not discuss politics.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Which form of media do you think is the worst offender?

RH: There certainly is a lot of sex and violence in society, but it is difficult to say if that is reflection of society, an influence on society, or a mixture of the two. It certainly would be nice to see options for those who prefer entertainment without innuendo and excessive violence. If I had to say where each were most prevalent, I would say sex in the movies and violence in video games.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

RH: That’s hard to say. I think the problems that we have often make us stronger for it. If I could eliminate one thing, it would probably be oppressive governmental regimes that restrict liberty and free expression.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online? 

RH: The cover is still extremely important, and I would say equally important as the editing, the story itself, and goes hand in hand with the marketing of the story. This is the reason that most blockbusters on the big screen are panned by the critics. If the people don’t like what they see, they won’t buy it. You have to sell the story, and the cover makes someone take a closer look.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

RH: Writing was never a strong desire, but it was something I felt I could do well, and I occasionally fantasized about writing a book.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

RH: I like the main plot line. I like to see that plot line maximized.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

RH: I generally have a fantasy that lives in my head and I start trying to write it down. The details fill themselves in as I start tying in the plot lines.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

I am working on my second book, the second in the current series.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

I’ve written and published one this year and hoping for the second in late Summer.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

RH: I write for both, with the expectation that the latter may never come.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

RH: My biggest problem is restricting my writing so that it does not offend them. I don’t want to be creatively stifled, but it does feel like that occurs to a certain degree.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

RH: Not so much writer’s block as a lack of time to write. Promoting and the daily grind often get in the way of writing.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

RH: Get a good editor, and never take no for an answer. Be patient, and don’t be afraid to promote yourself in person or through social media.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

RH: There are things that I would probably change, but I would likely never share that with anyone. In more general terms, I would probably say that I would take more chances and not let fear stop me from trying something new as it has in a few instances in the past.

LH: If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

RH: I would probably go back and tell the Navy at Pearl Harbor that Japanese were going to attack or the FBI just before 9/11 that we were about to be attacked.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

RH: I have already been approached, but I can’t go into any further details.

Thanks for that awesome interview RH…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Diet Mountain Dew.
Exercise or Bubble? Hiking.
Favorite Color? Purple
Take out or Dine in? Dine in.
Camping or Hotel? Hotel.
Sports or Chocolate? I’m not a huge fan of either. Individual sports and chocolate are just ok.
Dogs or Cats? Dogs.
Favorite Food? It’s impossible to limit to just one. I love Pizza, Steak & Lobster, Crab Cakes Benedict (that’s Eggs Benedict over crab cakes), Ikura, Mondoo, Gyoza, Mabo Tofu, Japanese and Thai curry, Pho, a good burger, and a lot more!
Favorite Song? It changes from time to time. I like top 40 and classic rock in general. Stairway to Heaven and the latest top 40 infatuation of the moment are a good bet.
Favorite Movie? Groundhog Day.
Favorite Car? I liked my old Lexus ES 330, but I want a black Rolls Royce Phantom with gold rims and a classy interior.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 No comment.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

RH: I would spend a week in space with Stephen Hawking and discuss theoretical physics.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Roy Huff’s

Everville: The First Pillar

at

http://www.amazon.com/Everville-First-Pillar-Roy-Huff/dp/0988936402?&linkCode=wey&tag=royhuffsoffib-20

17968674 6218313

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

