Today’s Tease…Sally Franklin Christie

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Sally Franklin Christie

Your Name or Pen Name you use: Sally Franklin Christie

Publisher you work for: Damantion Books/Eternal Press or as I call them; EternalDamnation

Title or Position:  Marketing Manager (PR)

Title of the book you are promoting:  At DB/EP I promote seriously dark horror to laugh out loud comedy.  Romance to Murder.

My own books are If I Should Die and Milk Carton People.  Both are available at Eternal Press, Amazon, Kindle, B & N, Nook, iTunes, Fictionwise, GoHastings and places I don’t even know about.  The best price is at Eternal Press where you can use a code and get 28 percent off the first purchase. http://eternalpress.biz

Link to purchase your Book: 

If I Should Die   http://sallyfranklinchristie.com/wp/if-i-should-die/buy-links-if-i-should-die/

Milk Carton People  http://sallyfranklinchristie.com/wp/milk-carton-people/buy-links-for-milk-carton-people/

Genre:  Both Suspense

Other Special Talents we should know about:

I crochet a lot.  You cannot worry about day to day things when you are busy counting stitches. 

I paint landscapes and like to take pictures. 

Welcome  SFC….I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

SFC: First off, my biggest aspiration was to be as old as my brother.  He colored better and learned to read before I did.  He was going to do everything first.

I spent a lot of time in hospitals as a child and wanted to be a nurse or a nun. 

Later, I saw a theatrical presentation of Arsenic and Old Lace and my Barbie’s came out of my cling wrap oxygen tents and became actors.  I was going to become a director.

I still don’t know what I want to be.  I had a Tarot Reading Business and a Rent – a  – Rev business at the same time.  During the week I gave tarot readings as Silver DarkSky and on week-ends, Rev. Christie married couples who didn’t have local churches.  Now, the couples did not know about Silver.

LH: A little birdie told me you do more than write…it says you are actually involved in the publishing end of things. Can you tell us about that?

SFC: When I book is ready to come out, I begin making plans to promote it.  Promotion is not a sprint by any means.  I promote the Publishers and the Authors.  I am always at my email, ready to help an author promote her books.  I have three hats.  The one I wear for the company, one for the authors and another that gets dusty and sat on for my own promotions.

LH:didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?     

SFC: What Did You Do on Your Summer Vacation?  Grade School….

I worked a lot in social justice settings and spent a big chunk of my time in Foster Care.  My family is made of lunatics and those who take care of them.  A very thin line.  Anyway, people throughout my life have told me I ought to write those stories.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

SFC: Eternal Press all the way.  I would suck at formatting, art work, editing and distribution.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!  Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

SFC: Stephen …. Stephen Hawking… you thought I was about to say Stephen King, didn’t you?  I wouldn’t ask about his ride on the vomit commit.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders. It’s kind of ironic that we’re in the business of selling sex and violence. Ever feel conflicted?

SFC: I sell suspense.  Okay, I write it, selling is another topic…  My family and friends are glad I write and don’t ask for access to their insides with a scalpel in my hand. LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen…but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

SFC: The word tolerance.  People like to say we need to be more tolerant. NOT.  As long as we tolerate people we are not accepting them.  Take the word and the idea and hit the delete button.

LH: I don’t have any business sense at all…I can’t even find my book marks half the time. How does one do all you do in a day on the publishing side and write as well?

SFC: I don’t.  A lot of times I tell myself that any writing counts.  Email, FB posts.  Anything that uses words is writing.

LH: I spend ¾ of my typical day marketing and promoting. The other ¼ of my time is writing. How do you split up a typical day?

SFC: In the morning after I have mainlined some coffee I check email on my phone.  If no one has indicated their heads are on fire, I finish my coffee.  I jot notes in time slots during the day.  The notes begin about 8:30.  “email..email, writerly Wednesday, review links, email………….. Young and the Restless…………email .. FB… twitter… email…. This week Manic Readers, GoodReads, Shelfari and LibraryThing will get the most attention… email….

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

SFC: Characters, always.  I may not know where a book is going but I know the characters down to the kind of poop they drop.  I know what scares them, what makes them happy and why.  I keep character files.  I was a psych/lit major.  I can read really well and even tell you why you wrote it…

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

SFC: I think in themes.  Milk Carton People is about being missing, overlooked, unable to interact and If I Should Die is about silence.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on a book now?

SFC: I have my finger in a lot of pies so I am not getting anything done.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?        

SFC: I have written six NaNoWriMos one of them is published.  I have probably written six others that gather dust.  Not everything I write should be inflicted on a reader.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

SFC: Money?  Do you have some? 

LH: I began my writing career in 2012. When did you get into the publishing industry and why? When did you start writing?

SFC: I’ve been playing at writing since my Summer Vacation Days.  I came into the business part of writing sideways.  I was hanging out in a writer’s chatroom and heard the owner of Damnation Books say she was looking for a virtual assistant.  A week or so later I asked about it.  The job was filled but— she needed someone to work as a Marketing Manager.  I assured her I would not hit the ground running but I would do my best to learn the ropes.  ….  That was early 2010.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

SFC: My family is so messed up they wouldn’t dare …

Okay, they are kind of proud when they hear I have another book coming out.  I have to confess I am holding off the big one that tells all….

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

SFC: Start a crochet project.  Start a new WIP.  Paint a landscape, watch tv.  I have a lot of things I do while waiting for the word fairy to help me get my theme across.

LH: I’ve had many, many jobs over the years. I honestly don’t know what I’d be doing at this stage of my life if I weren’t writing. What would you be doing now if you weren’t in this industry?

SFC: Watching the Young and the Restless.  I’m stopping now so I can watch it.  J Okay, I’m back.  I would like to become a professional student.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

SFC: Stop now.  Especially if you are unsure of yourself.  The whole thing is difficult, so many openings for self doubt, opinions like bellybuttons and after that you risk success.  The world after the contract is maybe even more harsh than sending out submission letters for the dreadful form rejection.  After the book is out, you have to work with people.  People are hard to control.  I’ve said it before, I like people, but you won’t find me going out of my way to hang out with them.  You cannot live the life of a published or want to be published writer without a very thick skin and the ability to accept the things you cannot change. What was the question, again?

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

SFC: I would never have let my daughter have the basement bedroom.  Control issues, again.  I could have changed her life.  On the Up-side I don’t mind being called Granny.  I have three of them, now.  Grand kids, I mean.  One daughter is enough.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

SFC: I’d tell my college bio teacher he should never tell a student she is too disabled to work in her field of choice.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

SFC: Well, I recently heard Justice Sotomayer say she is always nervous when she comes onstage or has to submit to an interview.  Her fix is to admit being anxious to everyone there.  Then she can go on.  I would ask for a travel-mate who knew how to navigate and then I’d invite my map-blind husband if he can take time off.  It is getting there that jams me up, not the arrival. And Kim Richards Gilchrist would be the first person I told.  She would probably be the most impacted by the news.

Thanks for that frank and funny interview SCF…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Water

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubbles!

Favorite Color? Rainbow, yellow ochre and thalo blue.

Take out or Dine in? Take out.  I am very small in stature and I’m too darned old for the booster seat.  3 feet even.

Camping or Hotel? Hotel.  I’ve camped already.  Give me a bed and a TV.

Sports or Chocolate? The kind of chocolate with the raspberry filling.

Dogs or Cats? Both.  I have a CCI Service Dog and a cat that has taken to peeing in my husband’s slippers.  Now if you’d asked Cat or Husband I’d have a real thinker on my hands.

Favorite Food? PayDay Bars.

Favorite Song? Depends.

Favorite Movie? Rear Window the first.  I love to watch and this guy could even hear the people.  How cool is that?

Favorite Car? My broken t-bird.  It is in the driveway with a really bad case of heart failure.  Transmissions cost a lot.  Oh, there is an arm strapped to the grill with a little crime scene tape.  I dove it that way for years.  I should have recorded the comments.  I also put a bag of dog poop in that hand and tried to drive it home.  I have no clue when the hand dropped the bag.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Alone, with a partner or in a group?  Chocolate, of course, with the raspberry filling.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉 

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

If I told you, well I have to ….

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Sally Franklin Christie’s 

If I Should Die and Milk Carton People

at

http://sallyfranklinchristie.com/wp/if-i-should-die/buy-links-if-i-should-die/

and

http://sallyfranklinchristie.com/wp/milk-carton-people/buy-links-for-milk-carton-people/

Milk-Carton-People_150dpi_eBook-187x300 100_0647 Sally_Christie

8 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

8 responses to “Today’s Tease…Sally Franklin Christie

  1. I’ve told just about everyone to drop by. Thanks for having me! Oh, just as I was prepping the Come See Me at Leanna’s your reminder email fluttered in. Did I say thanks? Sally

  2. Great interview! … that’s a very sad looking T-bird.

  3. Sally you are too funny! I love the bit about the Thunderbird…wonder what the person thought who saw the bag of poop drop, or who found it?

    I’m coming to the conclusion as I age, that no one really has a perfect family. We all come from dysfunctional losers, some just have bigger psychoses than others. The ones who survive are the ones who learn to laugh early and often. Because sometimes that’s all you can do to maintain sanity…just laugh.

    Thalo blue? I’m gonna have to go look that one up. It wasn’t one of the colors in the crayons boxes I used to have…

Leave a Reply

