Today’s Tease…Tarah Scott

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Tarah Scott

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Tarah Scott           

Title of the book you are promoting:  My Highland Lord

 Link to purchase your Book: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/tarah-scott

http://ptbr.kobobooks.com/search/search.html?q=%22Tarah+Scott%22&t=none&f=author&p=1&s=none&g=both

http://www.amazon.com/Tarah-Scott/e/B004RBDUXM/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1360006364&sr=8-2-ent

http://www.allromanceebooks.com/storeSearch.html?searchBy=author&qString=Tarah+Scott

Genre:  Historical romance

Welcome TS…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

TS: First, Leanna, thank you for having me! It’s so nice to be here at https://authorteasereadings.wordpress.com. What did I want to be as a little girl? I wanted to be an archaeologist. Who knew I’d be digging for stories instead of bones?

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

TS: I’m a huge fan of the classics, Bronte, Austen, Dickens, and so on. Little did I know the effect all that reading would have on me. A modern author who influenced me greatly was Amanda Quick. I fell in love with her historical romances, but was certain I couldn’t even consider writing like her. I’m still working on it.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

TS: I am published both Indie and traditionally.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

TS: There are advantages on both sides of the fence. As an Indie author, I have complete control. That is a double-edged sword! There is something to be said for handing a book off to a publisher who gets the book publish-worthy. That, however, requires knowing that publisher will handle the book the way I would like.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

TS: That’s a toughie. I guess I would invite Mark Twain and not discuss politics. Heh heh. I would definitely discuss books!

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

TS: The only thing that is ‘everything’ is a really well written book. However, there’s no doubt that a good cover can catch the eye of readers who may not know you. I’ve gotten lots of attention as a result of certain covers. If the story follows up, I’m ok. If not, the cover won’t get that reader to say the book was good.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

TS: As a kid I never considered the possibility I might be a writer—though my seventh grade English teacher took me aside and told me I should be a writer. I thought she was just being nice. I was always involved in ‘writerly’ things, such as, instead of being in the school play, I helped write it. You would think I would have realized I was headed in that direction, but I’m known for being hard-headed. I wrote music for many years, but it wasn’t until my thirties than I began considering the possibility of writing fiction. It took about six years for me to finally give into the incessant—and not too gentle—nudging in my brain before I wrote that first scene.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

TS: I’m similar. Usually, I see an opening scene, or at least a scene that is the heart of the inspiration. If that scene bugs me long enough, I eventually write it.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

TS: I’m currently working on two books, a Scottish Medieval entitled Death Comes for a Knight, and a
Victorian Scottish historical entitled To Tame a Highland Earl.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

TS: Sure, I’ve experienced writer’s block. The only cure is to keep writing—while you’re drinking. Works every time.

You are too funny TS…Now… for the fun stuff!

 Favorite Beverage? Coffee!

Exercise or Bubble Bath? ROFL. Exercise, then bubble bath.

Favorite Color? Purple

Take out or Dine in? Take out

Camping or Hotel? Hotel—definitely!

Sports or Chocolate? Hmm, if it’s basketball, then sports.

Dogs or Cats? OMG, both. Sorry.

Favorite Food? Oh, man, that’s tough. I love Chinese food.

Favorite Song? Too many to choose from.

Favorite Movie? It’s a Wonderful Life. I adore that movie.

Favorite Car? My Camry. Boring, but oh so reliable.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Yeah, that’s a both. Though sex is first.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

ROFL. This is no essay. It’s short and sweet. I would go to the Florida Keyes with Gerard Butler and wouldn’t come up for air until we landed back in NY. Yes, that’s right, not until we landed back in NY. No way I’m getting on a plane with Gerard Butler and not joining the mile high club.

Thanks for spending this time with us and make sure to pick up your copy of Tarah Scott’s

My Highland Lord

at

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/tarah-scott

MyHighlandLordFINAL200x300_150DPITarah Scott Scaled Down

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

