Today’s Tease…My Very Special Guest…Writer and Actress… Shari Shattuck!

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease…My Very Special Guest…Writer and Actress… Shari Shattuck!

Your Name:  Shari Shattuck

Profession: writer/actress

 Links to where we can find you:

www.sharishattuck.com FB and twitter.

Welcome  SS….I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

SS: A princess who rode wild stallions. So, I guess I fulfilled my dreams! Actually, pretty quickly, I realized I wanted to write. I love words and stories, so for as long as I can remember I’ve written, and staged neighborhood plays!

LH: I can remember wanting to be a movie star when I was a little girl, but alas…How did you break into show business?

SS: I was a competitive ice skater. Then I went into modeling, which was good money, but very little creative input, acting was a logical step, it allowed me to express myself again. I just studied hard and went on auditions until I landed something. My first job was on the TV show Mike Hammer. I’ll never forget the feeling of the producer saying, “Let’s give her a part.” My heart soared.

LH: I’ve heard that modeling/acting/show business is stressful and demanding. How do you handle the pressure?

SS: Perspective!! It’s just a movie, or a play, not open-heart surgery! I take hike, a hot bath, a cold glass of something nice, and lots of reassuring conversation with my hubby. The most important thing is downtime. I have to have time alone, so that I can hear my own voice in my head.

LH: I detest having my picture taken! What’s the toughest part of getting models/actors to do what you want them to do?

SS: The toughest part of that, when I’m directing, is getting them to trust me, once that’s done, I have to be conscious of their limitations and strengths and be flexible to best serve the piece!

LH: I write books and can be found all over the web…Give me a list of your favorite accomplishments.

SS: I don’t think of the things I’ve done as accomplishments so much as activities and points of interest. It’s the journey that counts, not the magazine cover or whatever. I love the fact that I have published five books and have two more coming out soon from Penguin. “Invisible Ellen” was bought by a senior editor within two days of my agent sending it out. If you are a writer, you will understand what that means. (Normally you don’t hear a thing for at least 12 weeks.) I’m excited not just to be conquering the very difficult role of Mirium in “Scream at the Devil” but also to be one of the producers. I love giving people work and seeing them shine creatively individually, and as a group. Other than that, I am very happy to just plain contribute to the joy or needs of my family, friends, and pretty much anyone else with whom I come in contact. It can be a coaxing a smile from a stressed out waitress, or helping a mom with a fussy child on a plane, or winking at a guy who looks shy to boost his ego and remind him he’s just as important as Mel Gibson or anyone else. I love to make people laugh when they need cheering up. Those small moments are my finest. In fact, they are all there is.

LH: I’m working on a secret project…Do you have any upcoming projects that you’d care to share?

SS: Yes!! “Invisible Ellen” will be released in summer of 2014, the sequel some time later. And I’m actually writing the answers to your questions on the set of “Scream at the Devil” while they are lighting outside for a night scene. It will be completed by Christmas of 2013, and released soon afterwards. I’m playing a schizophrenic who sees images of the Devil; it’s very emotional and frightening. I’m having a blast. It’s bizarre how you can be sobbing and tearing your hair out, and some level of you is saying, “This is fun!”

LH: I LOVE to shoot pool to unwind and relieve stress. What do you do to wind down?

SS: I have to exercise, Hiking is my drug, it combines the beauty of nature with the endorphins of exercise. After that, reading would be at the top of the list, add in a hot bath or a swim, depending on the season and I’m pretty well toasty.

LH: A long those lines…When I was very young, I worked in the Special Events department at Caesars Tahoe and got to stay after a billiards tournament with Willie Mosconi and Minnesota Fats to knock around a few balls. It was one of my favorite memories from my time there. What is your favorite celebrity story?

SS: Being an ice skater, it would have to be the day my mom pulled me out of elementary school and took me to see Peggy Fleming practice at our tiny rink. It was an amazing moment, and a great lesson in judging someone. When my mom showed up in the classroom with her hair in rollers I thought I would die from embarrassment, and then she took me on this amazing outing. I’ve met many, many ‘famous’ people in my career, Kings and movie stars, but nothing since has compared to that special gift from my mom.

LH: I have always wanted to start a charity for terminally ill adults. Is there something special that you’ve always wanted to do?

SS: I am one of the founding board members of the Desi Geestman Foundation. We assist children with cancer and their families as they go through the terrifying journey of battling this frightening disease. We provide assistance, both emotional and financial for so many basic needs that fall through the cracks. A child’s diagnosis and treatment can send the family into a tail spin that can last years, draining them financially as well as emotionally. We help out with everything from missed car payments, last minute birthday celebrations at the hospital, some special last requests, grief or support therapy, medication payments, and sometimes, sadly, even funeral costs. Really we step in where we are needed, usually when asked by the social workers. I love working with these amazing people. As you know, it puts everything in perspective. Traffic? So what? Your steak is too tough? Big deal. Your sister bitches at you about who’s hosting thanksgiving? Let her. My life is so rich in what is important that it’s much easier to let the stupid stuff go, and it’s mostly all stupid stuff!

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. It’s kind of ironic that we’re in the business of selling sex and violence. Ever feel conflicted and if so why?

SS: Very! I have refused many roles because of gratuitous violence. Especially when rape is used as a sneaky way to show nudity and sex. I’ve had it out with directors and producers!! I am careful about what I write as well. I know that there is that aspect to our society, and I can’t be true to a story if I shirk the violent nature and abuses of those who prey on our society, but I don’t glamorize it! Ever!

LH: It’s guilty pleasure time! Mine is Grey’s Anatomy. I get mad when the season ends, can’t wait for the new season to begin, will be devastated beyond imagination when it ends and find myself crying at some point in nearly every episode! What one television show is your “guilty pleasure”?

SS: I don’t have a ‘guilty’ pleasure, because I don’t watch much TV at all, and I only watch what I think is quality. I’d rather read a book or enjoy time with my family. My husband and I love to watch humor, we’ll go to “Whose Line is it Anyway?” or a stand up like Eddie Izzard. Our fallback sitcom is “Frazier” we own the complete set. 11 seasons makes for a good variety. The ensemble is remarkable and the writing is stellar!

LH: I have things I want the world to know so I write books…Is there anything else you’d like the world to know?

SS: Of course. First, you are not alone. You are a part of something bigger and you are responsible, not only for yourself, but for others and your planet as well. I believe we were meant to be the stewards of our planet, and having forgotten that, we feel very lost. Try it. Pick up some trash, or plant a tree, respect and beautify, and I guarantee that you will feel better, more fulfilled. The same can be said for helping other humans or animals. Going to the mall will not fill that emptiness, but going to the forest just might.

You are not only beautiful and talented SS, you are an amazing person!…Now… for the fun stuff! 

Favorite Beverage? Mmm. Prossecco.

Airplane or Cruise ship? Not crazy about either these days, but I’ll take the plane. I prefer to tailor my own vacations.

Favorite Fruit? A ripe apricot.

Meat & Potatoes or Fruits and Veggies? Fruits and veggies.

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Both, and in that order.

Favorite Color? Green, green and more green, always loved it, a single leaf or blade of grass can bring me great joy.

Take out or Dine in? Dine in. I love to cook and spend time with family.

Camping or Hotel? I actually love both, though the super wasteful resort type places aren’t my style. I prefer places with character and history. I love to camp as well, but since I live in a National Forest, and sometime choose to sleep outside, I have that covered.

Sports or Chocolate? Sports.

Dogs or Cats? Cats! Look at my eyes!

Favorite Food? Pasta

Favorite Song? It’s a Wonderful Life, by Louis Armstrong.

Favorite Movie? The Thin Man

Favorite Car? Don’t have one. But if I did, it would be one that produced no pollution and bounced off of other cars so that no one would get hurt.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Sex. I’m a triple Scorpio, there’s no contest. Nothing against chocolate.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉 

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

SS: I suppose if I could go anywhere it might be to the moon, or into space, imagine looking back at the planet. You would see no lines separating countries, no religions, no hatred, only a miraculous planet teaming with life. Barring that, I would be where I am and do exactly what I do now. I would choose my husband, my girls, and my friends to be with me. I would spend that week traveling or stay home, meet new people, learn, laugh, and try new things. I would live those days with joy and compassion and enthusiasm, just as I hope I already do. I am so blessed and so lucky. If there were something else I wanted to do, I would do it. In fact, I’ve changed course drastically several times in my life for that very reason. I cannot control the waves of change or challenge, but I can learn to surf. I can embrace everything that those days offer—the frustrations and the excitement, the quiet and the noise. Because that’s life, that’s learning, that’s loving with style.

Thank you for spending this time with us and make sure to watch for Shari in the movie “Scream at the Devil” coming soon!

IMG_5413 copyre copy IMG_4273 IMG_0903 IMG_0012

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “Today’s Tease…My Very Special Guest…Writer and Actress… Shari Shattuck!

  1. Terrific answers, Shari! I find your work with the foundation strikes a nerve… all of us have known people who have had cancer, it seems.

    The Thin Man as your favourite movie? You have very good taste. I love the banter between Powell and Loy.

Leave a Reply

