Today’s Tease…Roxanne Hargrove

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Roxanne Hargrove

Your Name or Pen Name you use: Roxanne Hargrove

Publisher you work for: Myself at B&R Publishing

Title or Position:  Editor/Author

Title of the book you are promoting:  Happy Reunion

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/312734

 Genre:  Erotica

Other Special Talents we should know about: Not really. I’m good with punctuation and grammar.

Welcome  RH…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

RH: I wanted to be a Veterinarian.

LH: A little birdie told me you do more than write…it says you are actually involved in the editing end of things. Can you tell us about that?

RH: I am actually the creator and owner of B&R Publishing and the head editor of Titan Inkorp. In my own company, I proofread, edit, format, and help authors with the self-publishing process if they don’t know how or don’t have time to deal with it. I am not genre specific.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?  

RH: I’ve been writing short stories since I was in high school but never thought of publishing until this year when I actually published for the first time. I joined a couple of teaser groups and started posting teasers on my blog. A couple of my author friends have seen my blog and told me I was good and should publish my works. It was them and my author boyfriend who influenced me.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?  I’m an indie author.

RH:don’t think I could ever deal with the pressure of a publisher breathing down my neck.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not? 

RH: Not really. I suppose it would be good for sales but the pressure to put another book out would make it cross the line from fun to actual work.            

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

RH: Johnny Depp is my favorite actor but since you already picked him, I’ll say Antonio Banderas and I would not discuss movies or Mexican food with him.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. It’s kind of ironic that we’re in the business of selling sex and violence. Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

RH: Not at all. I write what I feel. Writing is a release.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen…but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

RH: To stop war. It’s stupid and nonsensical.

LH: This was a secret…but I didn’t finish high school and got married at 17 therefore, my manuscripts are a nightmare for my editor. What is the worst part of editing for you? What makes you cringe? What punishment would you hand out for that offense?

RH: When people use text lingo in there manuscript as a part of the narration. The punishment, being popped in the face with a dictionary.

LH: I spend ¾ of my typical day marketing and promoting. The other ¼ of my time is writing. How do you split up a typical day?

RH: Ha! I am the most unorganized person I know. I do what I feel when I feel like it. I do, however, try to get a person’s manuscript back to them as quickly as possible.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to be in this business and when did you start?

RH: I never thought about it before. I actually got into editing two years ago. I didn’t start trying to do anything with my writing until this year.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

RH: Detail. I’m not talking about describing everything down to a T. Actually; I prefer if something is described in no more than three words but I’m a sucker for a good description. Especially in horror novels.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?  

RH: It’s very much the same for me. Scenes start playing in my head and they stay there until I write them down. I have so many stories in my head, it’s unreal.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

RH: Yes. I have been for some time now because I don’t really have time to write. I am working on a short story about an abused woman exacting her revenge on her husband. A partial of my story can be found on my blog www.leannmitchell.blogspot.com. It’s called A DISH BEST SERVED COLD.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…What are you in this for?

RH: Fun as well. I don’t care if I make a dime. Getting good feedback is great though.

LH: I began my writing career in 2012. When did you get into the publishing industry and why? When did you start writing and editing?

RH: I started editing in 2011. I didn’t start writing until 2012 and did not publish until January 2013.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

RH:haven’t had a single problem with them. They have all been real supportive and proud of me.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

RH: There are times I can’t think of a single thing to write. In those times, I take a break until something comes to me.

LH: When I get to the part of “writers I don’t want to” I work on my blog and one of the other million projects I have going on or watch Grey’s Anatomy reruns. Do you ever suffer from “editors don’t want to” and if so, what do you do about it as I’m sure you “have” to as you have deadlines whereas, I don’t?

RH:dont have deadlines, thank god. If I did, I’d never make them. I sleep when I don’t feel like doing anything. I do sometimes make deadlines for myself when editing but life always gets in the way.

LH: I’ve had many, many jobs over the years. I honestly don’t know what I’d be doing at this stage of my life if I weren’t writing. What would you be doing now if you weren’t in this industry?

RH: I actually work at Walmart in overnight receiving. It’s not enough to pay all my bills though. I wish I could just write and edit full time. That would be the life!

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

RH: Write what you want to write and don’t let criticism discourage you. You can’t please everyone so just please yourself.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

RH: I wouldn’t have left my boyfriend. I know that it’s probably best I did but he’s been even more of a mess since I left. It is entirely his fault I left but I wish I had stuck it out. We are getting back together and our lives will be better, since I’m having him move here and away from the drama he lives around now.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

RH: That one is private so I’ll keep it under my hat. 😉

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

RH: I think I’d faint. No doubt I’d tell my man first.

LH: You have to be totally honest here…As evidenced in my first book “A Beautiful Liar” Book One of the Maggie West Series…I can smell a lie a mile away. How badly did you want to correct my interview? Or did you?

RH: I didn’t want to correct it at all.

I don’t edit interviews.

Thank you for that fantastic and educational interview RH…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Root Beer

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble Bath

Favorite Color? Purple

Take out or Dine in? Take out

Camping or Hotel? Camping

Sports or Chocolate? Can’t I have both?

Dogs or Cats? Dogs

Favorite Food? Asian (They taste good slow roasted over an open flame.)

Favorite Song? Black No. 1 (Little Miss Scare All) By Type O Negative.

Favorite Movie? Natural Born Killers

Favorite Car? Chevy Cavalier. They last forever.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Um both, duh.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

RH: I would go to Transylvania with my lover and sightsee. Not to mention have sex everywhere possible.

Thanks for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Roxanne Hargrove’s 

Happy Reunion

at

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/312734

lunapic_136766871098774_2 036

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

