Today’s Tease…Sensei

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Sensei

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Sensei

Title of the book you are promoting:  The Society

 Link to purchase your Book: 

My amazon author page is at http://amazon.com/author/sensei , and The Society specifically is at http://www.amazon.com/The-Society-ebook/dp/B00BPF9U2I

Genre:  BDSM Erotica

Welcome  S…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

S: Well, I always wanted to be a software engineer, and that’s what I wound up, but that’s sort of boring.

Ever since I was sexually aware, I have known that I was into (consensual) sadism and D/s. I’ve spanked every partner I’ve ever had, and am lucky enough to have married my submissive.

LH:didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?   

S: Like you, I decided to start writing out of the blue. I suppose my biggest influence as a writer has probably been Penthouse Forums, for better or worse. If I had to name a mainstream author whose style inspires me, it would likely be Tom Clancy (particularly his earlier work – Red Storm Rising is one of my favorite novels). 

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

S: I am a self-publisher. I started writing stories over at Lush Stories (http://lushstories.com), and I’m grateful to them for providing me a soapbox. My anthology book (The Alphabet Spankings) is a series of stories I wrote as a personal challenge over at Lush (the ebook form has been edited and expanded). The Society is my first work never before seen elsewhere online.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

S: No, I don’t think traditional publishers “get” erotica. Their traditional marketing channels are largely off-limits to adult literature (“50 shades” is an obvious exception, but its notable also because it’s done so much better than any other contemporary work in that genre). Somewhat better would be dealing with larger adult publishers, like Penthouse or Playboy or some such, but I don’t see them opening up a publishing arm anytime soon. 

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!  Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

S: What are you doing next Tuesday?

Just kidding. I’d probably want to have dinner with Michael Masterson (http://www.realspankings.com/). I can absolutely guarantee I would not spend a single moment discussing foreign policy with him.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

S: I personally don’t get why sex and violence are conflated so readily, but that’s not really at the heart of the question. I think the big issue in general with sex and violence in fiction is exposure to minors. I think it’s frightening to conceive of a mindset that finds any government interest whatsoever in what adults read and watch solely in private or in the company of other adults. The problem comes when people trot out the old “think of the children” meme in order to disguise their desire to impose censorship on everyone. For instance, TVs have “V” chips in them – ostensibly giving parents the power to censor what their children watch. Why, then, do we still have content restrictions on TV?

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

S: I think the world needs a giant dose of “mind your own business.” I worry that privacy is rapidly evaporating in our more connected world, and control over our own personal information is going to be either a battleground or something our children will regret having lost. 

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

S: Covers are definitely not obsolete. If anything, they have become even MORE important. With eBooks, the logical equivalent to the cover of a book is the ebook’s page on the selling site (be it the Kindle store, the Nook store, the iBook store, whatever). The big difference is that the text there is available to search engines, and search engines are absolutely everything in the new universe.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

S: Nope, I started writing in Spring 2012. I’m a newbie! 

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

S: Well, if the sex isn’t hot, then you’re not really writing erotica! 

Most erotica adopts point of view of the female character, who in my work is always a submissive. I therefore wind up writing in terms of what gets done to her and how that impacts (see what I did there?) her. The extent to which I get that mindset correct is both a measure of success for me as an author and as a dominant. My writing (and in particular the research I do on the submissive mindset) instructs me as a dom too.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

S: For short stories, I try to come up with a “hook” – something central to the story from which the rest of the words will just flow. 

For longer works, it takes me awhile to conceive of a story arc. I am a convert to the Three Act structure. I didn’t use it for my first story, and I don’t think the result was as good as the third book. I try and make a story outline that covers a number of plot points. After that, it’s just a matter of writing the words to connect the points together. 

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

S: Yup. I am developing the arc and outline for my next book now. It is going to be much darker. Think Stephen King meets E.L. James. 

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

S: I’ve written a novella, an a single-author anthology, and a novel. 

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

S: I don’t write for riches. I write to share what I have with others. I love hearing from people who enjoyed my work.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

S: My wife knows of my work, and is supportive. No one else who knows me knows my pen name.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

S: Lol. I know exactly what you mean (“Eh. Mañana.”). Well, I’m not on a deadline (another advantage of self-publishing!), so if I don’t feel like writing today, waiting until tomorrow probably results in better product anyway.

Of course, one has to insure that tomorrow actually arrives at some point…

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

S:

  1. Get your work edited before you publish it. You may think you’re a good writer, but I promise you that a good editor will make you look a thousand times better than you will on your own. It’s easy to spot self-published work that wasn’t edited, and it’s… just ick!
  2. Write for you, not for what you perceive and audience wants to read. Not only will the writing be worse if it’s not what you innately want to write, but there are enough people in the world that I promise you that whatever you’re into, you’re not alone.
  3. Marketing erotica eBooks is hard. There are very few channels to which you have access, so use as many as you can find.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

S: I’d have tried to connect with the local BDSM community much earlier in my life. But then, I’d have probably made an ass of myself doing it. 

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

S: I too would love to show the founding fathers where the country is now – for good and for bad. I bet you a dollar your list and mine of what’s less than perfect are not the same… But that’s the nature of democracy. And, quite frankly, can you imagine how dull it would be if we all agreed about everything all the time?

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

S: Definitely my wife. I’d love it if someone turned The Society into a movie, but to do it right, it would have to be an adult film. I can’t for the life of me think of a piece of erotic fiction has been turned into a movie the same way that Hollywood does for mainline literature. So far as I am aware, most adult films are written in-house (and usually fairly poorly).

Thank you for that frank and insightful interview….Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?  I have an absolute addiction to Starbucks Lite Mocha Frappucinos. If I could sell eBooks by simply exchanging them for two bottles, I probably would. 

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Do I get to pick the exercise? If so, then I choose archery!

Favorite Color? I love the shade of red of a welt freshly raised by a cane.

Take out or Dine in? Dine in. Preferably while doing kinky things to my dining partner that no one else perceives…

Camping or Hotel? Hotel. Preferably with well insulated walls and a large “do not disturb” sign.

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate.

Dogs or Cats? Cats.

Favorite Food? Pizza!

Favorite Song? Of late “Let Me Be Myself” by 3 Doors Down has been stuck in my head a lot.

Favorite Movie? Secretary If you insist on a “vanilla” movie, it’d probably be The Matrix.

Favorite Car? The Tesla Roadster. Alas, I could never afford one.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 There’s no way the answer isn’t Sex.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take? 

S: It would definitely be me and my wife. I’m not sure we’d go, but she wouldn’t be wearing a lot of clothing if I had my way…

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Sensei’s

The Society

at

http://amazon.com/author/sensei

TheSociety10 7af42b1fa71a0ad8956e3e.L._V375913091_SX200_

 

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “Today’s Tease…Sensei

  1. Terri

    Fantastic interview! Love the advice for new writers. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

