Today’s Tease…Sarah Daltry

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Sarah Daltry

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Sarah Daltry

Title of the book you are promoting:  Bitter Fruits

 Link to purchase your Book:  (Release date is June 25 so here is the Goodreads link)

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17929834-bitter-fruits

 Genre:  Paranormal erotic romance

Welcome  ….I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

SD: I definitely had no idea. I went through a period of time where I wanted to be a vet. Then I wanted to be a teacher and then an actress. By high school, I wanted to be an accountant (so exciting, I know). Now? I want to be a museum curator. Of course, I work in finance because that was something I was good at, so, you know.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

SD: I read so much and I can’t say any one person was an influence. I love Anais Nin, but I write nothing like her. Salinger is fantastic, but our work is not really in the same genre! I’d say the entire concept of writing is an inspiration. It’s amazing to me – words are only words, but writers can make entire universes exist out of a combination of letters. How cool. 

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

SD: Indie. As indie as it gets. I do all my own writing, cover design, etc. I have been working with an editor and several people on promotions, but even that is usually done out of kindness. My editor works for nothing but eternal gratitude because we know one another; my promo people are just super awesome and are willing to be flexible based on my limitations. There’s an awesome indie author support system out there.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

SD: Of course. I think having a traditional publisher feels more real. It’s like, “oh, someone in the know likes my work,” a sort of seal of approval. Of course, the more I learn in the indie realm, it’s tough to say for sure. My biggest concern is that indies don’t have access to the same PR services that major publishers do. 

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

SD: This was tough. I think I would invite Salinger, but I would not bring up his books. I’d just like to talk to him.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

SD: I’m an erotica writer, so sex? No. I don’t think there is too much. I do, however, think that there is too much sexualization of young people as well as demonization of sex. The way media portrays sex is as an act that is something women do to please men and that women should not be attractive or flirty if they don’t want sex. That’s stupid. Women should enjoy sex as much as men and sex should be embraced. It makes people feel good and it can make someone feel beautiful – despite the nonstop barrage of the standard of beauty (for both genders) in the media. It is also something that adults do and should remain that way. Kids should grow up first. Sex will come later. It’s enjoyable, yes, but if you’re inundated with sex at 16, there is little left for you when you’re 25.

Violence? Absolutely. It amazes me that we freak out if someone wears a short skirt or we see some cleavage, yet we can talk about beheadings, shootings, beatings, stabbings, etc. like they’re normal. Think about it. Movies are rated R if they have one heavy sex scene – between adults. However, it takes excessive violence for an R rating. We live in a world where you are more likely to be excused for beating someone than for sleeping with them.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

SD: Outside of my rant about sex and violence? The way people treat animals. It’s horrible. I can’t even say more without getting upset.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

SD: I still think the cover is important. We are visual creatures. I know that I personally released my books with homemade covers and my sales increased when I updated them by using more professional designs. If we just saw a bunch of blank pages with blurbs and titles, we may not care, but if I have $10 to spend, I’m going to have to choose somehow. The cover still plays a role.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?                             

SD: I always liked writing. I am a natural liar. Storytelling is part of who I am. I don’t mean I lie when it matters, but I love making up stories. I used to make up the most dramatic stories when I would be home sick in elementary school. Once, I think my parents joined the circus and I had to ride an elephant back to school! My teachers encouraged it because it wasn’t that I wanted attention; I just wanted to make the world more interesting.

I started publishing this year, because I had a bunch of stories sitting on my computer and in my desk. My friends asked why I wasn’t doing anything with them and I didn’t have a good answer. So I did something with them.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

SD: Characters. Definitely. An intriguing premise and a setting I can visualize are nice, but when I finish the book, I want to feel like a friend is going away. 

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

SD: Usually it’s an idea, something small. A character. A conversation. A scene. Maybe even a line. From there, it develops into something else, often leaving the original idea behind as I write. 

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

SD: I’m always working. I have several stories I’m working on for anthologies, a bunch of ideas (including sequels), and some early sketches. The big plan right now is to finish Forget Me Not, a college contemporary erotic romance that follows Lily and Derek after the events of the short story, “Her Brother’s Best Friend.” My goal is to have it done by the end of summer but there is no release date yet. 

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

SD: I have three anthologies out, four short stories, and two short novels (as well as the upcoming third which is longer than my others). I also have about twenty that are not finished or are at least not ready to see the light of day yet.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

SD: If I wrote for money, I would be in trouble! I can’t say it’s for fun, either, though. I write because I have to, because when I get home from work, all I want to do is immerse myself in a story. It’s why I read, watch movies, play video games – my life is not that interesting. I always want to be in someone else’s reality.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

SD: My family doesn’t know what I do and I intend to keep it that way. I can’t imagine how my parents would feel. With friends, the biggest problem is either that they don’t understand when I’m under deadline and can’t socialize – or when I need their feedback and they never get around to reading it. I know we’re all busy so I rarely ask; I also would rather have them say they can’t do it than say they can and then never follow through. Mostly, I avoid bringing them into my writing for that reason.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

SD: I have days. Usually, I struggle through or do something else until the muse returns. Sometimes, days pass and I find myself checking Facebook or just staring out the window. I figure readers know when I’m not into the story, so I try not to make it happen if it’s not happening.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

SD: Don’t take any of it personally. Bad reviews, editorial notes, poor sales. None of it reflects on you as a person. There are tons of books out there, so sales are not a reflection of anything but luck and marketing. Editors exist to make you better but they’re still people; if the notes are in such contrast to what you believe, feel free to ignore them (although I tend to listen to editors most of the time). As far as reviews, think about when you go out to eat. You have an amazing dinner. The waiter is funny and gets your order perfect, including all your weird requests. The food is delicious, the atmosphere is ideal, and the cost of the meal is less than you anticipated. You leave, thinking, “that was one of the best meals I’ve had in a while.” Do you go on to Yelp or Tripadvisor? Do you call the manager? Do you even do the little survey on the receipt? Honestly, probably not. If the restaurant is lucky, you might tell someone about your dinner. Maybe.

Now, on the other hand, let’s say the opposite is true. The waiter ignores you and then messes up your order. Your food is undercooked and tastes terrible. They charge you for something you sent back. The restaurant is loud and dark. Do you review it? Of course you do. You probably call the manager to your table. You complain to friends and family. You go online and share everything that went wrong. It’s human nature. We are far more likely to tell people when we hate something than when we love it. Why would books be any different?

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

SD: We all make mistakes. I’ve made my share and I will leave it at that. I don’t like that we get judged on one mistake for the rest of our lives. Life would be boring if we all behaved all the time. 

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

SD: I’d tell my grandparents I loved them. I never said it enough.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

SD: I’d be insanely excited. I would definitely “come out” if I was getting a movie deal! My parents could deal with what I wrote if it was going to be that famous! Who would I tell? Everyone. 😉 The first person would be my roommate – and then probably Facebook! Lol.

Thank you for that wonderful interview…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Alcoholic: Whiskey and Coke or Red Wine Non Alcoholic: Water. I’m boring like that.

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Ha. Bath. Exercise is evil.

Favorite Color? Black. I’m not into Goth things or anything, but black is just good for everything. Classy and sexy and also professional.

Take out or Dine in? Take out if possible. I’m somewhat antisocial and I like to be home.

Camping or Hotel? It’s funny. I love camping – like real, gritty, not even an outhouse in sight camping. And yet when I stay in hotels, I will accept no less than 4 stars and room service every night.

Sports or Chocolate? Is that a real question? Chocolate of course!

Dogs or Cats? Cats. I love cats. I am obsessed with cats. I wonder sometimes if people see my Facebook feed and try to understand why I like all these erotic photos and then like about 100 pictures of cats.

Favorite Food? Pasta. All forms of pasta with any sauce (meatless).

Favorite Song? Katy Perry’s “Firework.” It’s my writing song.

Favorite Movie? Tough to choose one. I really love Girl on a Bridge.

Favorite Car? One that runs? Seriously – I have no idea. Cars don’t interest me. I actually love subways. Is that weird?

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Both – although not at the same time!

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

SD: Such a tough call. I love traveling, but I’d probably go back to Italy. I would like to visit all the museums again and then spend a few days on the Amalfi Coast doing nothing but drinking wine and hanging out by the water. And with whom? Honestly? I’d love to go by myself. Imagine having no one waiting for you, no one else wanting to go somewhere else, no one getting bored with the art. I’d come home refreshed.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to get your copy of Sarah Daltry’s

Bitter Fruits 

at 

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17929834-bitter-fruits

Bitter Fruits.19

6 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

6 responses to “Today’s Tease…Sarah Daltry

  1. sarahdaltry

    Reblogged this on Sarah Daltry.

  2. This is one of the better interviews I’ve seen anywhere!!!! An excellent Q&A by Leanna Harrow and Sarah Daltry!!! ❤

  3. Very nice! Kudos Leanna and Sarah! Great questions and great answers! Loved getting to know Sarah better!
    Loves and Kisses!
    ~Chas ❤

  4. Kool can’t wait to get my copy as soon as I can

Leave a Reply

