Today’s Tease…Vivian Lee

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Vivian Lee

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Vivian Lee

Title of the book you are promoting:  Shadow’s Enlightenment

Link to purchase your Book:  (don’t have one yet but hope to soon)

Genre:  Fiction

Welcome  VL…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

VL: I wasn’t sure what I wanted to be when I was a child. Maybe I wanted to be a great pianist because I liked to play back then or a teacher, who really knows? And yet, I didn’t want to be an author until much later.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

VL: I think it was my father who encouraged me to read books from an early age but I didn’t think anything about it at first. Even when I was in elementary school, I would prefer reading than playing outside because I thought why would I need to go play outside when I could put to use the imagination I had then. He hadn’t encouraged me to start writing but I would say it was my close friends and some family members that told me if I want to be a writer, then go after it, no matter what happens. I still think of that and cherish that one piece of encouragement to this day.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

VL: I am an Indie right now because I just started wanted to publish though the many stories I have written reminds me of what I am meant to be. I am in the process of self publishing my first one so that I don’t have to deal with agents and dealing with publishing companies and also the price of having my stories published by the companies. I do hope eventually I will have enough funds to publish as a hard copy later once I find that right agent. I know there will be a way later and that’s what keeps me going to continue promoting myself and keep on writing.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

VL: I would love to be published by a traditional published but because I do not have the funds to take care of that right now, I think I can wait until my first sells and then move on from there. I hope one day there is a company that will take me the first moment they see my submission and take me on without any hesitations.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!  Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

VL: Hmm, since I am a period piece author, I think I would want to have one of the greats in literature over to dinner like Jane Austen but probably won’t discuss with her the rules of society back then or what it has taken her to be finally considered a great in the literary field because I so admire her courage to go after what she had dreamed for a long time to bring into a reality.

In real life, I would invite Sandra Bullock because she always has a sense of humor but no matter what she goes through, she is so resilient to go through life without letting it affect her any. I like her quirky personality but real enough for us to see she truly is a human being with flaws and tragedies but all that one can do is keep on smiling and move on forward. I guess I won’t discuss any of her personal life.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

VL: I think when I was growing up back then (that’s how old I am) the society didn’t have as much shocking of an effect when it comes to sex and violence like on our television. The shows back then were clean and family friendly but now, it feels as if all of that has flied out the window. Sometimes, I do feel conflicted about it because I work with children and when I think about what they see and hear to repeat it back, I can’t help but feel shocked at what they can pick up at such a young age.

The country where my family comes from (South Korea), the shows back then were like that too that there was absolutely no kissing or any touching whatsoever. Now of course all of that has changed there is a lot more violence and sexual scenes while trying to keep it at a minimum but you still can’t believe how all of that has changed as if it’s no big deal.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

VL: I think if there was a way there wouldn’t be any violence at all from shootings to bombings, etc. I guess that coincides with world piece to just accept each other without making it difficult for the people on both sides and help them whenever there is a chance to help them. The things I see on the news that even children have to get killed just pulls at my heart when I don’t want to see any of that in the first place. I guess I can be described as a dreamer:)

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

VL: Whenever I went into the bookstore, the one thing that helped me determine if a book is worth buying and reading over and over was the cover. What kind of book was it? Would the plot draw me in like the cover did? What would the plot be like? I guess the synopsis on the back cover would have the same effect too.

Now that I am an author, I am the kind to choose something that says a great deal about the story I have written to make it worth reading and not just some random picture. I am a very detailed person so I have to think long and hard about what it is I want it to display. Once you see my cover, hopefully, you’ll understand what I’m talking about. In fact, I am quite proud of my cover.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

VL: I didn’t write until I was maybe in my 20’s (again, that’s how old I am) because the idea didn’t come alive in me fully until much later. I was just a bookworm and that’s all that I wanted to do if I had the chance. But I guess when I couldn’t find a story that I would love to read and enjoy thoroughly, that’s when I started to write and I admire kids that know then and there they want to be a writer as young as they are. I wished I felt that way too. It might have been some ten years past now that I love to write with all that I have but that is the one passion I can never give up to just come up with a brand new set of characters is always a thrill for me. I don’t think I would want to do anything else.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?                                                        

VL: Obviously, since I’m into period pieces, I would want to read about something set in a different era and I know not many would admit to that. It’s just something about how times were different back then from what people wore to what the society was like that it draws me in and I love every single minute of it. That is the kind of author I want to be but that doesn’t mean I will do every single story in that particular time and place.

I also wanted to know about what kinds of characters are within a story like what roles they play in a particular story. What problems/weaknesses do they carry? How are they able to resolve them? What kind of personalities do they have?

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

VL: For me, it’s something that can hit me instantly like something I say but most of the time, the ideas just come to me without anything having to happen but I ask myself, what is one story I want to write about next. The plot might be complicated than of the others but whatever I think will be interesting and you will be like “Whoa, how on earth did that happen?!?”

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

VL: Actually, I’m working on 2 right now but the most recent one hasn’t gotten more than a couple of pages because I need to develop the plot more on that one. I usually don’t work on more than one at a time based on what the story is like but if I think I can, I’ll give it a try. We’ll see how they turn out. Sorry, can’t give any spoilers just yet.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

VL: I don’t have any published except for my first one coming out later between August and September which I am very excited about. I have written probably over 13 stories but this is my first one. You’re probably thinking if you have so many, why haven’t you published them so that everyone can read them? Well, it hasn’t been until recently that I decided to share some stories with some people I know because I am afraid of criticism and them telling me “well, it’s okay.” But now that I have the courage to share them with anyone who asks, I realize I can’t be a published author if I just keep them to myself all of my life. And no matter what the criticism or the suggestions someone is willing to give me, I know they are only wanting to help me become better so that it will sell and hopefully, end up on the bestseller list if not #1.

Once this one does well, I’ll keep publishing for as long as I can, no doubt.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

VL: I would love to be writing for money but most of the time, it’s something I enjoy doing because that’s the one creative outlet I have to profit from since I tend to be a quiet person most of the time. But if this is the one job I can have and make me much more than what I am earning now, hey, why not?

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

VL: Like I said before, it is either negativity or criticism or them just having this blank look on their face when I’m trying to explain a story to them and they’re like “I don’t understand. It’s too confusing.”

Even now, they are like “Why does she spend so much time sitting before a computer? What can she possibly be doing like that for so long?” But unlike before if they had said that to me and I would have become embarrassed, now I don’t have to think anything about it because this can be the one area in my life that gives me the most meaning and the most important purpose if I have nothing else to keep on moving forward. I guess since it is a habit of mine not to speak too often, then I’ll let my brain do it all for me instead.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

VL: Ugh, writers block! I’ve had it a couple of times but when it does come around, it can be so frustrating because you can’t think of anything to help move the plot along in a way that makes sense that I have to go back read some of my earlier written stories or go to my Kindle and read something on there. That’s the main thing I have when it comes to writers block, not because I don’t want to, but because I’m stuck at a particular point in the plot. It might come easily but does not mean it will go away that easily either.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

VL: I guess the only advice I have for new writers is don’t ever be afraid to go after what you want and if you want to write, then write as if it means the world to you. Don’t believe anything anyone says to you unless it’s out of love and care.

The other thing is do whatever you can to promote yourself because that’s what I’ve been doing for the last several days just being on Facebook all day long and asking all of these people/organizations to support my dream and now, I know if I hadn’t done that, I wouldn’t be where I am now. Just put yourself out there and the world will notice, one way or another.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

VL: With everything that’s happened to me, I know now it has helped me to be a stronger person than what I can be even with all of the personal tragedies and heartbreak I’ve had to endure and learn from. But if I could change one thing, it would be to still have my dad around to show him myself just what I can be if I put my all in it and how far I am reaching to make my one dream come true. He and I have similar personalities so if I were to show him the first book that has my name on it, I know he would be extremely proud of me and keep encouraging me to do more than I could imagine to. If I didn’t have my friends to lead me on, he would be my strongest ally.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

VL: Hmm, that’s a hard one. It might not be of something in history but something deeply personal to me. I don’t want to go into all of the details of what had happened then because it’s way too tragic for an interview, especially when people don’t know me, but if I had the guts and I know I should have, I would tell this one person from my past no to a particular thing he demanded of me regardless of what he would have done or said. I should have stood up for myself and not give in for a second. It would have changed everything for me that I wouldn’t have so many problems coming all at once at me and would have made my life so much easier.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

VL: I would love for that to happen since I am a dreamer! Of course I am shy and wonder if they are talking to me when it should be someone else but if I was given the chance, I would jump at the chance without waiting because I would love to see it played out on the screen! That would make even more people go to my books and read all of them that they would raise the roof in demanding “All of Vivian Lee’s books need to be turned into a movie!”

The first person I would tell is my mom and aunt because they would be so excited for me and then I would tell my whole group of best friends that would be even more excited and louder than what my mom would. But for now, I’ll just focus on getting them published

Thank you for that thoughtful and insightful interview VL…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Sonic’s Diet Coke with Vanilla Syrup

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble bath of course! Why would you take pleasure in getting all sweaty and out of breath?

Favorite Color? Light blue

Take out or Dine in? Take out

Camping or Hotel? Hotel

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate

Dogs or Cats? Dogs

Favorite Food? Shrimp Scampi

Favorite Song? Don’t have one

Favorite Movie?  Pride and Prejudice (2010 version)

Favorite Car? Don’t think I have one

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 I’d think I would go with Chocolate

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

VL: Oh, that’s easy, I would go to Paris, France because I’ve always longed to go there. I would go visit all of the landmarks like the Eiffel Tower and visit the shops and eat all of their fabulous food even though I’m not sure what French people like to eat. I would just luxuriate in the fact I am in Europe and do everything me and my best girlfriend whose name is Laura would want to do like even going clubbing and drinking from time to time! If no one knew at all, I would spend all of the money I’ve brought with me to buy on things you can’t get anywhere else like of the ohh so expensive clothes and accessories like handbags and shoes because if you’re in Europe, why would you want to just look at everything and not dare to purchase it? I think you would be an idiot if you looked at something and put it back where you had gotten it, saying “Oh, it’s too expensive. I don’t have the money.”

Obviously, that would be the dream vacation for me because obviously, I haven’t gone anywhere much beyond the United States so to go across the Atlantic Ocean, would be a once in a lifetime trip you can’t turn your back  on. I think on the first night in Paris, me and Laura would get all dressed up to have a fun night out that we ride in the limo to eat at the fanciest restaurant around and then go clubbing all night long like there is nothing later else we have to do. I think I would want to get a beret too!

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Vivian Lee’s 

Shadow’s Enlightenment

as soon as it’s published!

013_crop Rachel and William 063

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

