Today’s Tease…April Wood

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease April Wood

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  April Wood

Title of the book you are promoting:  Outside the Mists of Time

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.amazon.com/Outside-Mists-Time-April-Wood/dp/1600431364/ref=la_B00APOY2KK_1_1_title_1_pap?ie=UTF8&qid=1370278665&sr=1-1

Genre:  fantasy

Welcome  AW…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

AW: I really wanted to be a teacher until I was about thirteen. Then I realized I don’t like teenagers that much. I have been writing since I was twelve. It wasn’t until recently that I dedicated myself to it.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

AW: White is one of the most profound writers I have ever read. I started this book a month after reading his book One Man’s Meat. It made me believe I could do it too.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

AW: I am published author.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

AW: I was fortunate to find a publisher first. I enjoy the security that comes with having a publisher.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!  Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

AW: Rupaul. No topic would be off the table. I think he has great courage and I admire his ability to embrace others.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

AW: I think we need to acquire some personal responsibility. It’s like people blaming McDonald’s for being fat. They didn’t hold a gun to your head and make you eat that Big Mac did they? We should be teaching our children how to manage the information that is out there.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

AW: Acceptance. We are very intolerant as a species. That is true the world over. We need to learn there is no perfect.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

AW: Vital. As a reader it’s the first thing I notice. If your cover doesn’t intrigue me I am not going to read the blurb.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?                            

AW: I started with poetry at 12. I wrote my first manuscript at 18. Then I left it alone until I was 35.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

AW: I am always rooting for the underdog. I love to see them win in the end.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

AW: I see it in my head as a movie. That is probably why I have so much dialogue. It has taken some time for me to figure out the reader needs a little more. They aren’t privy to my inner movie.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

AW: My current WIP is a vampire story. I have been a writing a lot of erotica. I find vampires can be more depraved. That makes writing it so much more titillating.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

AW: I am working on #8. I have one published and three slated for release early next year. The others are waiting for review by the publisher.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

AW: For the love of writing.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

AW: My family have been super supportive. I don’t care what people think. I’m proud of my work and happy to share my sick, twisted mind with the world.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

AW: Can’t say that I have.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

AW: Just keep plugging away at it. If it’s your passion you should go for it.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

AW: Regrets are a waste of time. I wouldn’t change a thing.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

AW: I wouldn’t.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

AW: I would cry for a bit then scream. I would tell my husband first because he has been my biggest supporter. First phone call would be to my mom.

Thanks for that fun and fabulous interview AW…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Coke

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble Bath

Favorite Color? Purple

Takeout or Dine in? Dine in

Camping or Hotel? Camping as long as it’s in a travel trailer and not a tent

Sports or Chocolate?  Chocolate

Dogs or Cats?  Dogs (I have three)

Favorite Food?  Do I have to have one?

Favorite Song?  Right now its My Heart is Broken by Evanesence

Favorite Movie? Don’t have one

Favorite Car?    Mercedes

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 SEX

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

AW: I’m not sure if I cared who would find out. I want to take my husband to Europe. I’ve seen but he hasn’t. It would make me the happiest person in the world to just share an experience with him. He has helped me through so much and puts up with the cray cray I put him through. My world wouldn’t exist without him. Anywhere he is where I want to be.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure you pick up your copy of April Wood’s 

Outside the Mists of Time

at

http://www.amazon.com/Outside-Mists-Time-April-Wood/dp/1600431364/ref=la_B00APOY2KK_1_1_title_1_pap?ie=UTF8&qid=1370278665&sr=1-1

cover

3 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

3 responses to “Today’s Tease…April Wood

  1. You sound like a level headed person. Good advice in this one. Much success!

Leave a Reply

