Today’s Tease…Charlene M. Martin

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Charlene M. Martin

Your Name or Pen Name you use:   Charlene M. Martin

Title of the book you are promoting:  Unexpected Love (Unexpected Series)

 Link to purchase your Book:

 http://www.amazon.com/Unexpected-Love-Series-ebook/dp/B00CT8YJLM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1370532149&sr=8-2&keywords=unexpected+love

Genre:  Fiction Fantasy, paranormal, coming of age, NA Romance.

Welcome  CMM…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

CMM: I have always wanted to be a Neonatal Nurse, (the NICU nurse)

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

CMM: I too never wanted to write, but I started reading about 5 years ago and I have read a ton, of great books. I had a great idea for a book and gave it to shelly carne and she said you write it. I said um, NO I can’t write. She told me to give it a try. A few months later with her and my best friends influence I did just that.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

CMM: I am INDIE

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?              

CMM: I have no idea, I am hesitant, cause I like that I am my own boss. That I decide when I publish and what is published.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

CMM: Christian Grey, and the red room of pain..

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

CMM: I write sex books, so I can say that I love the fact that we have grown into a society that has the ability to talk and read about sex. I like that we don’t have to be ashamed of what we do in the bedroom. As far as the violence, I hate it and wish it were gone forever.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

CMM: I would change money. I wish we didn’t need it. I wish everything was free and everyone went to work and had their jobs and health care. We all were responsible and do as we are supposed to.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

CMM: I think the cover draws the reader to the book, but I think the synopsis is what hooks the reader. I don’t think it makes a difference that it’s online. If I like the cover then I read the back if  I link both I buy.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?                            

CMM: Just started this year. I hated to read as a kid, but I was a pretty good story teller when I was a kid.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

CMM: I always want to be the one that has the wonderful guy that treats her like a princess.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

CMM: This was a dream, I woke up and wrote down the start of a book, then the idea came from the words.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

CMM: Yes, I am working on the book two of this series. Unexpected Destiny

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?            

CMM: Just this one.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

CMM: I like started writing for fun and I will continue to do so, but I like to see my success too. I use the money to fund the next book so  the money isn’t a big deal to me.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

CMM: I know my family is proud of me, but I have some that are very religious and for me to be writing basically a book that has some pretty hot sex scenes. Some of them are not supportive.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

CMM: Not writers block, just the writers don’t want to. I did have some trouble coming up with a scene in my next book, but another author helped with that.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

CMM: JUST WRITE, TILL YOU CAN’T.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

CMM: Honestly nothing, because it has made me who I am, but life has always been a challenge for me. I wish for something to just come easy, but you know what they say nothing that comes easy is ever worth it.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

CMM: I would tell everyone not to smoke, That tobacco is awful and very harmful. As I work in a hospital and see people die horrible terrible deaths.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

CMM: I would call my husband and scream at the top of my lungs. I would handle it very well. I would be thrilled if that ever happened.

Thank you for that interesting and well worded interview CMM Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?  Dr. pepper

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble Bath

Favorite Color? Um, I have two pink and blue

Take out or Dine in? Dine in

Camping or Hotel? Hotel

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate

Dogs or Cats? Both

Favorite Food? Steak

Favorite Song? Lots I love music.. this week is A thousand years by Christina Perri.

Favorite Movie? Sweet home alabama

Favorite Car? Silverado truck

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Sex over chocolate any day, but both can be fun.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

CMM: I would go to an exclusive island with Christian Grey AKA Ian Somerhadler and have a lot of amazing sex. I would take my best friend Dana so when I came up for air we could shop and talk about the Amazing sex I was having..

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Charlene M. Martin’s

Unexpected Love (Unexpected Series)

at

 http://www.amazon.com/Unexpected-Love-Series-ebook/dp/B00CT8YJLM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1370532149&sr=8-2&keywords=unexpected+love

final cover Author photo (1)

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

