Today’s Tease…Clifford W. Dunbar

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Clifford W. Dunbar

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Clifford W. Dunbar

Title of the book you are promoting:  Silver’s Treason

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.amazon.com/Silvers-Treason-Clifford-W-Dunbar/dp/1615724087/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1317780075&sr=1-1

 Genre:   Science-Fiction/Fantasy/Thriller/Military…  Take your pick.

Welcome  CWD…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

CWD: My first choice was to be an astronaut.  My second choice was to be a millionaire.  Neither worked out.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

CWD: Probably my strongest literary influence was Edgar Rice Burroughs.  Tarzan is my favorite character ever, because of the fluidity with which he moves through human and great ape cultures.  If you’ve only ever seen the movies, you have no idea what you’re missing.  Edgar Rice Burroughs ignited my interest in animal communications and set me on my path to becoming a linguist.

And then there were the Nick Carter spy novels, written by various authors.  That’s where I learned about sex.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

CWD: Both.  My novel Silver’s Treason is published by Damnation Books.  I self-published my novel The Manna Trail with Smashwords.  I’ve published some short stories and poetry through various webzines, and some through Smashwords.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

CWD: Two factors influence my decision on whether to go with a publisher or go indie.  The first one is the fit.  Does my story fit what the publisher is looking for?  If so, I’ll run it past the editor and see what happens.  But if I think my story is too weird/unique/different I will take my chances on my own.  The second factor is word count.  I prefer to see longer works go to a publisher.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

CWD: I would invite Isaac Newton but we would most definitely not talk about calculus!  I would pick his brain on his study of Jewish mysticism and his prediction that the world will come to an end in 2060.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

CWD: I don’t have any issues with it as long as it’s not gratuitous.  It has to be part of the storyline.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

CWD: Only one?  Well, OK.  I would wipe out illiteracy.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

CWD: I think book covers are as important as they ever were.  They should provide a glimpse of  the dominant emotion of the story and catch the prospective reader’s eye as it scans the page.  But I don’t know why they’re still frozen in stone.  They should have some animation or sparkle or something (visual media is so not my strong point).

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

CWD: I’ve wanted to write since I was in second grade.  School, work, marriage, kid, divorce, work, more school, marriage, kids, divorce, work, work, work…  All that stuff took a higher priority.  I managed to squeeze a few things out along the way, and  I am optimistic about the future.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

CWD: I want the story to take me someplace I haven’t been before, or give me a new perspective on a place I know very well.  A story has worked its magic on me when it’s given me a new way of looking at the world.  I hope my stories provide that.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?            

CWD: I just get some general idea of what I want to say and then start writing.  And rewriting.  And so.  The process does not come easily to me. I don’t quit until I’m satisfied with the result.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

CWD: Always.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?            

CWD: I’ve written two novels, some poetry and short stories, and one pedagogical article.  But many more stories lurk within, biding their time, dreaming of release.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

CWD: I write because I have something to say.  But money is always nice.  😉

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

CWD: Yes, they do tend to point out similarities among characters and me and themselves too.  Usually they are spot on.  It doesn’t bother me at all.  Who cares?  I tell them.  It’s only a story.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

CWD: Yes, I have; I overcome it by typing really really fast. 

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

CWD: I can’t do better than Robert Silverberg’s three rules, which are basically:  Read a lot, write a lot, read a lot more and write a lot more.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

CWD: The length of time I spent in my second marriage.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

CWD: I would tell the Roman Inquisition how wrong they were about heliocentrism and how cruel they were in putting Galileo under house arrest.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

CWD: In no way would I freak about that.  I would welcome the news, and the first person I would tell would be my loving, supportive girlfriend.

Thanks for that honest and open interview CWD…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?  Starbucks mocha frappuccino with cookie crumbles and whipped cream!

Exercise or Bubble Bath?  A walk or a bike ride.

Favorite Color?  Sky blue.

Takeout or Dine in?  Depends; who’s buying?

Camping or Hotel?  Hotel.

Sports or Chocolate?  Chocolate.  The closest I ever came to a sport was aikido.

Dogs or Cats?  Since Silver’s Treason features dogs in prominent roles, most people think I am a dog lover.  Maybe I was when I started the book.  Not so much when I finished it.  My answer is “neither”.

Favorite Food?  Sushi.

Favorite Song?  Dire Straits “Brothers in Arms”

Favorite Movie?  “The Ruling Class”

Favorite Car?  I like my SUV.  As long as a car is roomy and gets me there, I’m OK with it.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉  Then “Both”!

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

CWD: I would like to go on a nice long trip with my honey.  Time and place TBD.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Clifford W. Dunbar’s

Silver’s Treason

at

http://www.amazon.com/Silvers-Treason-Clifford-W-Dunbar/dp/1615724087/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1317780075&sr=1-1

51EqpSDqgcL._SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU01_AA160_ Author Photo at MIA Author Photo

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

