Today’s Tease…Book Reviewer & Author…Leanne Herrera

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Book Reviewer Leanne Herrera

Your Name:  Leanne Herrera

Title: Author and Book Reviewer

Where on the web can we find you: http://author-leanneherrera.blogspot.com/ http://www.facebook.com/leanne.m.herrera

Welcome  LH…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

LH: When I was about 12 years old, I made a list of jobs I wanted to try. Everything was on this list from a taxi driver, waitress, artist, author and the list goes on and on. I have managed to try all of those some successfully and others are ones that I am still working on.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. How did you decide you wanted to get into promotions?

LH: Actually I started stealing my mothers romance novels when we lived Germany at the age of 9 and realized that I could become someone new every time I opened a new book. So While I never had a particular literary influence I did find myself a safe haven in books. As far as promotions go, I have a huge love for reading and writing, but wasn’t a big blogger. When I found out that I could talk to a lot of interesting people ( even some that were my favorite authors) I jumped at the chance. I also get a thrill out of telling people what I think of the books I read. With my husband not being a reader and my kids have very different tastes than I , there was no one for me to talk to about the books I was reading or had just finished reading. I had to find an outlet where I could talk about my own writing and the writing of others. My blog was where I found it. Joining book tours and friending authors was an easy way to get my fix in both reading and talking about it.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. How hard was it for you to break into the promotions business? It seems to be very competitive…

LH: Not really a promoter. I just love to talk about plot, characters, love interests, the good and the bad in someones writing.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

LH: You stole Johnny from me so I guess I would have to invite…. Oh heck no I am stealing Johnny back and we would not be talking about acting!

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. It’s kind of ironic that we’re in the business of selling sex and violence. Ever feel conflicted and if so which media source do you think is to blame?

LH: Actually I think your children are the product of what you teach them. I have three daughters; we have an open dialogue about every topic. There is no such thing as Taboo topics in my home. When violence or sex was on the screen or in a book or game, we talked about it. I believe communication along with proper discipline is key to raising a child with a balance. This is a hot topic for me lol so I will step aside from it.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

LH: The way that people are treated is something dear to my heart. I am no where near thin and sit most of the day in a wheelchair. I also have daughters who have been bullied for everything from my obesity to one of them being gay. So if I could change one thing it would be how people treated each other. I do not know everyone’s story about why they look or are the way they are so I treat them as I would want to be treated.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online? Have you ever suggested an author rethink their cover or do you stay neutral on those kinds of things?

LH: Honestly I do not judge a book solely on the cover although I know that some do. I have recommended a change in someones cover and would do it again. I realize that while it won’t stop me from buying and reading a great book, ( digital or otherwise) I know that it can stop others. Great stories need to be told and great stories need to be read,  that cannot happen if you some of your audience is ignoring because your cover is unappealing.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

LH: I have recently submitted a fantasy romance to a publisher and am awaiting their response. I have about 5 romance starts and one biography start, but I am waiting to hear about the one already submitted before I return to the partial stories. I also have two finished ones that need editing, but being poor lol I cannot afford to edit them right now.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…How rewarding is your job?

LH: In my family we have always had storytellers. I am one of those people. For years I wrote stories and shared them with friends. It wasn’t until last year after much begging that I finally decided to share it with the world. My favorite moment is when someone reads my work and tells me something they love about it. That is all I need. If it makes someone happy then I am overjoyed.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced any kind of anxiety or mental block when it comes to an event?

LH: I have the don’t want to… issue often. I try to spread myself out so that I am not drowning in writing. Sometimes I paint or sculpt or blog lol I just find something else to do and come back but in my nearly 44 years I can honestly say that I have not had writers block yet.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you have any advice for someone that wants to go into promotions or event planning?

LH: For new writers, find someone that knows the ropes and ask them to let you learn from them. I am a fairly new writer and blogger so I am tagging along and learning the ropes myself. The rope burn sucks but hopefully I will have callouses soon.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

LH: March 14th of this year we lost our grand daughter, I would go back and repeat the day before. Not to change it but so that I could spend more time with her.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

LH: I would go back in time, way , way back in time and tell the first chauvinist, how idiotic they are.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle say…Michelle Obama calling you and saying she wanted you to promote a book for her? Who would be the first person you told?

LH: Lol I would scream and tell my husband and then I would get on skype and bug Kriss Morton  (cabingoddess.com) to get online and tell her lol.

Thank you for that touching and interesting interview LH….Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Pepsi or Sweet tea

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble bath really hot bubble bath

Favorite Color? Black, no wait! Purple, no wait! Red, No wait it’s blue! lol Okay so it’s the rainbow!

Take out or Dine in? Dine in

Camping or Hotel? Hotel

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate

Dogs or Cats? Dogs

Favorite Food? Chocolate ….

Favorite Song? The lazy song lol or anything by Bruno Mars

Favorite Movie? I have several that are old, I do not watch a whole lot of movies now.

Favorite Car? I love the huge Conversion vans or Rv’s

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Both!

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

LH: To go anywhere for me is a physical and a huge financial challenge, but if I did not have those restraints I would go to Greece and walk all over, I might even try cliff diving. The person that I would take with me would be my husband of twenty-one years because we have never had a honeymoon. I would take him with me so we could journey all over and maybe find a nice romantic and secluded spot to practice making babies. Our baby makers are gone but the playpen is still there and we would play and play and play. (Insert deep husky laugh) I would not tell anyone we are going because I have teenagers and they interrupt us all the time.

(The other LH is touched beyond words and a little envious 😉

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure you visit Leanne Herrera

at

http://author-leanneherrera.blogspot.com/

and 

http://www.facebook.com/leanne.m.herrera

IMG_0589-001

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “Today’s Tease…Book Reviewer & Author…Leanne Herrera

  1. thanks hon !People are going to be confused about which LH is talking lol but that just makes it more fun! I really appreciate the time you spent to put this together. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

