Today’s Tease…Dianne Lynn Gardner

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Dianne Lynn Gardner

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Dianne Lynn Gardner

Title of the book you are promoting:  The Dragon Shield Book II of The Ian’s Realm Saga.

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.amazon.com/The-Dragon-Shield-ebook/dp/B00B7OVUWK/ref=pd_sim_kstore_4

Genre:  YA adventure Fantasy

Welcome  DLG…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

DLG: I wanted to be a movie actress or a cartoonist for Disney.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

DLG: C. S. Lewis has been my most famous literary influence. I love what’s behind his work, his heart.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

DLG: I have a publisher, Hydra Publications.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

DLG: I think I would like to have at least one book by a traditional publisher. I like that they enter their books for rewards and reviews from major media networks. I would also like to see some of my books translated into other languages, in libraries and bookstores.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

DLG: Oh that’s a hard one.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

DLG: I’ve always been concerned about sex and violence in our society. We’ve become almost barbaric and lustful as a nation and it stymies our intellectual growth. Today it isn’t just Hollywood, it’s everywhere.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

DLG: I agree with you. Peace and respect for each other’s cultures. We could learn so much from each other if we’d lay down out prejudices and assumptions and really listened to what we have to say.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

DLG: Being an artist that does her own covers, I think covers still mean a lot. They’re like a good blurb, only trigger a response quicker. A book cover, be it on a print book or a thumbnail digital image, is the first thing someone sees about a book. It should speak to the heart of the story.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

DLG: I did write when I was young. Mostly poetry and I wrote an opera once. I wrote music and songs.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

DLG: I like to emphasize with the characters. I want to care for them and see them make it. Stories that don’t have character development don’t hold my interest. Why would I care what they do if I don’t care who they are?

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

DLG: They creep into my brain, really. I get a premise and usually the characters come right after that, then I go through the ‘what if’ routine. I like to map my stories out and see how many directions they could go before I decide on one.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

DLG: I am. I just completed a novel titled Cassandra’s Castle which isn’t out yet and I’ve started a Dystopia-sci fi/fantasy novel, possibly a series, I’m not sure.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

DLG: I have four published novels and four short stories that are published. I just finished novel #4 and I’m working on #5. There are two more ideas for the first series brewing as well. I’m not sure if they’ll be novels, novellas or short stories.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

DLG: I write because I love to create these crazy stories. Yes, its fun and it would be hard any more not to write. When I’m too busy, the stories go around in my head. Money? Who gets rich writing? Never heard of it. J

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

DLG: Time. My family thinks I spend too much time in my fantasy Realm. But then…I always did and they always did.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

DLG: For me, writer’s block just means I’m not sure how to solve the problem I’ve created for my characters and still maintain a sense of believability. The solution is to go on a long walk in the forest (which is where most of my ideas come from) or to brainstorm with one of my writer friends. It usually doesn’t last long. The only time I don’t want to write is if I’m falling asleep at the computer.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

DLG: Of course I do. Learn all you can about how to write, plot, build a world, characters, learn grammar, sentence structure, what works in a story and what doesn’t, learn your audience, and never stop learning. There is so much we don’t know. Never ever think you know it all. Because you don’t. And you won’t.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

DLG: I’d listen to my parents. I wasted a lot of time trying things on my own and learning trial by error when I could have just listened to instruction and saved myself a lot of grief.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

DLG: I would go back to the times of the industrial revolution and tell them they were headed in the wrong direction.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

DLG: I would jump for joy. I would absolutely love to have my stories made into a movie.

Thank you for that fantasy and fact filled interview DLG…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Herbal Tea

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Exercise

Favorite Color? Rust

Take out or Dine in? Dine in

Camping or Hotel? Camping

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate

Dogs or Cats? Neither…birds

Favorite Food? Tamales

Favorite Song? Lexa Rose The Dragon Shield Ballad (and any one of Il Divo’s songs after that)

Favorite Movie? Ever After

Favorite Car? Honda Fit

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Yah…

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

DLG: I would take my husband. I love my husband. He’s the sweetest man in the world. I’d love to go to Ireland, enjoy the country side, the castles, the ocean…the total essence of its history.

DLG would also like you to help out with a project dear to her heart…

The mystical voice and melody of Lexa Rose, combined with the lyrics from the fantasy series The Ian’s Realm Saga by Dianne Lynn Gardner is captivating and powerful. Help us record all the songs in the stories from the ballads, the laments, and the prophecies.

Three novels and four short stories tell the tale of a fantasy world, a dragon, and the young man who learns the secret of the mountain. The songs are sung by the North wind, the Songs of Wisdom. Lexa Rose,vocalist and songwriter has interpreted their melodies in a hauntingly beautiful manner.. As the author of the saga, I’m working with Lexa, (a young college student in WA), to bring this album to life, and to launch her career.

The story is an Amazon best seller, with four and five star reviews lauded by readers of family friendly.adventure tales.
http://www.rockethub.com/projects/27787-songs-for-the-saga-lexa-rose-and-author-d-l-gardner#description-tab

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Dianne Lynn Gardner’s

The Dragon Shield Book II of The Ian’s Realm Saga

at

http://www.amazon.com/The-Dragon-Shield-ebook/dp/B00B7OVUWK/ref=pd_sim_kstore_4

dsfrontsm 04-on fire2 02-Iansbow1 - Copy me painting2

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “Today’s Tease…Dianne Lynn Gardner

  1. Brenda Perlin

    I am in awe of Dianne’s talent…as a writer and an artist!!! wonderful interview ladies!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

