Today’s Tease…KR Bankston

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease KR Bankston

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  KR Bankston

Title of the book you are promoting:  Thin Ice

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.amazon.com/Thin-Ice-ebook/dp/B005G4WUSU/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1371578817&sr=1-1&keywords=kr+bankston

Genre:  Crime

Welcome  KR…I, LH have some questions for you 😉 

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

KR:  I wanted to be a veterinarian for a time, and once I got a little older, a singer. I actually thought of becoming a nurse in later years.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

KR: I’ve always written, just as a form of therapy, but if I had one person who actually influenced the way I write and my penchant for BookOperas (serials) it would be Author V.C. Andrews.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

KR: I’m Indie, but I was actually offered a deal from a publisher. I personally very much enjoy being the captain of my own ship, so I declined the offer. It’s a lot of work, but honestly I love the challenge.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

KR: Sometimes when it gets hard, I say, wow this would be so much easier if I had a publisher backing me. Then I stop and take a breath and realize how much I would be giving up and decide I’ll stay just the way I am.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

KR: I write Crime laced fiction. I honestly believe that people who have evil intentions always find a way and already have those intentions to begin with. Too much of anything could be construed as being a contributor to a behavior or behaviors that some in society deem inappropriate. I’m not conflicted in the sense that I write for adults, not teens or kids. Even with Hollywood, it’s all smoke and mirrors to me.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

KR: All prejudices for all the myriad of idiotic reasoning’s they exist.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

KR: I may have to disagree with you LH on that one. On a personal note, the cover honestly can make or break me checking out the synopsis. I love GOOD covers, not the ones laced with so much activity I’m dizzy looking at them. I try to make sure I have visually appealing, but thought provoking covers given most people are very visual creatures.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

KR: Yes, I’ve always written, but not as a prelude to a commercial career. My career into the foray of publishing actually came on a dare from my husband. My earliest recollection of doing a story and allowing my peers to read it was my tenth grade English class.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

KR: Watching the magic of all the characters as they speak and the story comes together beautifully. Most of my characters carry a small piece of me, whether it be a habit, a speech pattern, favorite of some sort, there is always some KR in them somewhere.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

KR: That’s honestly a wide open field..lol Sometimes it’s a dream I had, something or someone I see in passing, a comment made, a long lost fantasy, the list is just endless. I can’t say there is any one particular way things come to me.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

KR: Lol, I totally get that and I won’t ask you!  I am working on something as a matter of fact. I’m working on the next generation of the Thin Ice saga, The Thin Ice Origins series, scheduled to launch in 2014. I’m not sure if this one will be 12-Episodes like the earlier, but we’ll see.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

KR: Hmm, I have 22 books currently in publication. I almost as many that aren’t published and I’m continually writing more lol

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

KR: Fun, but the money isn’t a bad thing either! Lol. No, honestly I love to write and if I never published anything else, I’d still write because its in me. I can’t bottle that up or shut it down. I’d just be the author with hundreds of unpublished stories lol.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

KR: The swearing and the violence. I’m honest and admit I have a problem when it comes to the language. I can put some sailors to shame if you know what I mean, but I’m working on it LOL. The violence in my novels can be extremely intense sometime, but its just how the story flows. They’re getting better. I don’t get as many of the “look” as I used to.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

KR:  I don’t think I’ve had the block per se. I’ve had times when I needed to take a step back but after a breather, be it minutes or days, I’m “write” back at it lol…

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

KR: Do you homework! Learn all you can about the industry, never be afraid to ask a question. There is no such thing as a stupid question. Invest in your craft and be open to advice whether its critique or praise. Build a strong network around yourself and your craft.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

KR: I’ll have to agree with you here LH. Everything that has happened in my life has been for a purpose and it’s made me who I am. I like me!

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

KR: Are you kidding? I’m waiting on that very thing! Lol…I would love to see my babies come to life on the big or small screen. I would tell my husband first, he’s my bestest friend! lol

Thanks for that funny and enlightening interview KR…Now… for the fun stuff! 

Favorite Beverage?  PG: Sweet Tea  R: Crown Royal Black 

Exercise or Bubble Bath? A little of both 

Favorite Color? Blue

Take out or Dine in? Either is fine with me

Camping or Hotel? Hotel

Sports or Chocolate? Sports

Dogs or Cats? Dogs

Favorite Food? Pasta

Favorite Song? Too many to name, can’t choose just one!

Favorite Movie? Trading Places & Coming to America (they tie)

Favorite Car? Maserati 

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Chocolate covered Sex is great! lol

 

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

KR: I would go someplace very warm and very tropical, alone. I love my own company, I love being free and unencumbered. I would relax, just take my mind off everything and everyone. I would parasail, jet ski, snorkel, dive. I would enjoy every cuisine the island boasted, and indulge myself on the many tropical drink offerings both alcoholic and non-alcoholic. Take moonlight swims, go sailing, deep sea fishing, and probably never come home again! 🙂

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure you pick up a copy of KR Bankston’s 

Thin Ice

at

http://www.amazon.com/Thin-Ice-ebook/dp/B005G4WUSU/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1371578817&sr=1-1&keywords=kr+bankston

AllBooksTogether Business-Cards---Kirabaco

 

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “Today’s Tease…KR Bankston

  1. Shannon Wyatt Starks

    Enjoyed a glimpse of The Great KR!

Leave a Reply

