Today’s Tease…Lindy Spencer

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Lindy Spencer

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Lindy Spencer

Title of the book you are promoting:  The Boomerang Effect

 Link to purchase your Book: 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1478209518/

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-boomerang-effect-lindy-spencer/1112181586

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/180083

Genre:  Murder Mystery

Welcome  LS…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

LS: I wanted several things.  First, I wanted to be a teacher.  Then I wanted to work with dolphins.  Then I wanted to be rich.  Funny thing happened on the way to being an adult, I became a teacher by becoming a parent; I learned about fish when the kids got a beta; and one time I won at Monopoly, so I guess I got what I wished for.  What I have learned from all of this is to be more specific…

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

LS: One of the authors I enjoy reading had a blurb in the front (or back, I forget, I read them all) of her book that said, “If you think of a story you would like to read that hasn’t been written, you are charged with writing it.”  I glommed (technical word…) on to that and when the glimmer of an idea for what is now The Boomerang Effect popped into my brain, I remembered what she’d said and, well, here we are.  I do wish, however, that she’d have mentioned that writing can be addictive.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

LS: I’m an Indie, simply because I don’t have the patience for finding an agent and a publisher, waiting for word back from them, and I’m totally not into changing my storyline to fit someone else’s vision of my vision.  A little OCD, some say… I prefer headstrong.  Though I’ve been called worse!

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?              

LS: I have thought about it from time to time, and I’m not interested in running around looking for a publisher and having to talk them into reading my book that I’ve already self-pubbed; though if the right offer found me I would willingly entertain it.  I wouldn’t mind having the help with promoting my work… that’s the hardest part of this whole business.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!      Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

LS: Abraham Lincoln, probably… and we wouldn’t talk about slavery.  I’d love to hear his thoughts on a lot of topics, not only from his time but from ours as well.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

LS: Hollywood and authors of all types (written, film, television, etc.) are continually pushing the envelope.  I believe there is entirely too much sex and violence visible to everyone, everywhere, at any time of the day or night, and we are becoming numb to it.  There’s something to be said for leaving something to the imagination.  I’m definitely concerned about it; my children are grown so it is not them I’m bothered by, it is their children that are now growing up in the age of internet and explicit movies/writing.  Childhood should, in my opinion, remain the magical place it was when I was young.  There’s no reason for them to be introduced to all of the extremes at a tender age.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

LS: *warning, potential land mines ahead*  I would remove lazy.  There are so many people who are otherwise capable of supporting themselves but are instead taking advantage of the government programs, it really sets me back when I look at my paycheck and see how much money is going to support other people.  I’m not talking about the people who genuinely need a hand up; I have no problem helping others temporarily.  I am talking about the people who feel they make more money on government assistance than they could make in the work force and have decided to continue that way until it is no longer an option.  I would also include in that group the politicians who are reaching into our pockets and taking what they want for themselves with no regard to how that affects the working man.  Wow, where did this soapbox come from and why am I on it?

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

LS: Book covers have always been important; they’re the first thing that catches the eye even when the person is looking for a specific author.  When I’m at the library and I see a cover that requires further scrutiny or has bright, bold colors and easy to read writing, I’m more than likely going to pick up the book and flip it over to see what it’s about; I find that the cover makes a difference online, as well; if the author has put time and care into what I’m seeing without knowing anything about the book, then I can be relatively certain that the story inside is going to have the same care instilled and I’m more likely to give the book a read.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

LS: Oh no. Until about 3 years ago I didn’t give writing a serious thought.  I did write a story as a teen, but that was not given a real effort.  All of my siblings took a more serious look at writing than I did… I guess I didn’t really have a story to tell (or time to tell it) before The Boomerang Effect.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

LS: Being able to immerse myself entirely.  I love to know what the character is thinking, what they’re doing, how they’re feeling… I find a good story is one where I can relate to at least one character, even if it isn’t the main character; its important to me to be able to connect.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

LS: Mine’s more of a television series-type reveal.  An idea pops into my brain and I start writing down the ideas as they come to me; different scenarios, different characters, popping back and forth… it starts out all jumbled and eventually works its way into a comprehensive, someone-else-can-follow-this-storyline flow.  If that makes sense!

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

LS: I’m totally working on several projects now! LOL!  I’ve been browbeaten to within an inch of my life for a sequel to The Boomerang Effect; I’ve got a storyline with a serial killer featured; and I have two separate short stories for different anthologies I said I would be a part of, as well.  Oh, and an anthology of my own stories.  The projects now aren’t anywhere near completion except the short stories on deadline.  One is done, one to go.  Ah, and there’s a children’s book that’s currently at the illustrator, too.  Wow, I just made myself tired!

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

LS: I’ve just written the one.  Between working a full-time job and having a photography business on the side I find I don’t have nearly as much time to write as I’d like.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

LS: My first book came about because I had a story to tell.  Money didn’t figure into it for me.  I’d love to take a call from Hollywood, wanting to make my book into a movie, but I’m not betting the bank on royalties.  If we get into writing for the money, we’re not in it for the right reason.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

LS: Oof, I’ve experienced the wall.  Man.  That’s a tough one.  I set my writing down and walked away on more than one occasion; I’ve talked to myself, run my hands through my hair so much that my jewelry got all tangled up in it, paced, thrown mental temper tantrums… the lot.  I wrote a different section for awhile, and then approached the portion I was stuck on from a different direction.  I’m definitely not a fan of writers block!

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

LS: Absolutely.  Don’t quit.  About the time you think you can’t do it, you push through and see you’ve done it.  Oh, and number your pages.  Page numbers make it easier to get it back in the correct order after flinging a draft manuscript across the room.  Yea, I know… don’t ask.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

LS: I would have bought that lottery ticket with the numbers my mom said would win.  She picked 5 out of 6.  Who knew?!

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

LS: I would tell teenage me about a couple of tree roots that could have been avoided being tripped over had I been watching for them.  I think changing my own life would have made the least amount of ripples in the overall scheme of things and made the most difference in how things turned out along the way.  Though changing one thing can alter everything…

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

LS: I would tell my husband first.  He’s my best friend.  Then I would call and tell my children, who are grown and gone, thankfully, because I don’t think they could stand to see the nekkid happy dance I’d be doing all over the house!!!  I could totally handle it… I’d do some research and find an agent who was familiar with the process and reportedly honest in the field, and it would be on like Donkey Kong from there.  I’ve had a reader email me and tell me she had a dream that she was at the movie theater to see my book on the big screen.  I can only hope that, and your question here, can one day be looked back on as good omens!

Thanks for that Awesome interview LS~Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?  Non-alcoholic – water; Alcoholic – Sovingnon Blanc

Exercise or Bubble Bath?  Neither… give me a good book!

Favorite Color?  Green

Take out or Dine in?  Depends on how tired I am after work… today, take out

Camping or Hotel?  Hotel

Sports or Chocolate?  Chocolate

Dogs or Cats?  Dogs

Favorite Food?  Cheesecake

Favorite Song?  Take A Back Road by Rodney Atkins
Favorite Movie?  Pretty Woman

Favorite Car?  Lamborghini Diablo

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉  Both!!!

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉 

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

LS: I would go into the future just far enough to find out the winning lotto numbers for a decent-sized jackpot and stick around long enough to see if someone else won or not.  I’d take my husband because he’s got a good memory and a head for numbers.  Once we had the winning numbers, we’d spend the rest of our time looking for a piece of land to build our new house on once we’ve returned to current time and waited until the appropriate lotto drawing came along, won, and cashed in our winning ticket.  Yes, I’ve put some thought into this a time or two!!

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Lindy Spencer’s 

The Boomerang Effect

at

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1478209518/

book cover Me

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

