Today’s Tease…M.C. Holman

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease M.C. Holman

Your Name:  Maria Carmela Holman but my author name is M.C. Holman

Book you are promoting: Hidden Influence: Unveiling the Truth

Where on the web can we find you:

Welcome MCH…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

MCH: Ha-ha! I was born and raised on an orchard and I hated every minute of it. I think it got to the stage where I was willing to be anything but a farmer or a farmers’ wife. I do remember wanting to be a hairdresser at one stage but that obviously didn’t happen.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. How did you decide you wanted to get into promotions?

MCH: My daydreams got me through my childhood. Life was much more pleasant in my own mind back then and when I was told that writing was good therapy I tried it. Decades later, I’m still writing.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. How hard was it for you to break into the promotions business? It seems to be very competitive…

MCH: It IS very competitive out there. It doesn’t matter what you get into these days, there are loads and loads of talented people everywhere. Some sing, some dance, others act or play sport and I even know a few who make and decorate amazing cakes. I didn’t realize until just recently how many writers are out there. There are millions! But regardless of the competition, if you enjoy what you do, keep going, no matter what. Persevere, and sooner or later it’ll pay off. I’m sure.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!  Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

MCH: Okay. Since you’ve already taken Johnny then I’ll invite Hugh Jackman and I’m going to be naughty and say that I wouldn’t talk to him about his wife. (He-he!)

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. It’s kind of ironic that we’re in the business of selling sex and violence. Ever feel conflicted and if so which media source do you think is to blame?

MCH: I don’t mind a bit of sex in books, movies etc as long as it’s done with taste and it’s not overdone. There’s nothing worse (for me) than being put through, sex scene after sex scene in a book or a movie. It’s like…”Oh god, they’re at it again!) After a while it becomes tedious and I start skipping paragraphs or fast forward to the main story.

I don’t blame anyone. Sex sells, it’s only natural, but as with all things some like it more than others. I guess I’m one of the ‘others’ and I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that. We’re all different.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

MCH: Cancer. Definitely cancer.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online? Have you ever suggested an author rethink their cover or do you stay neutral on those kinds of things?

MCH: I know they say ‘never judge a book by its cover’ but that’s the first thing that readers see. If the cover doesn’t catch the eye then readers may not look twice at it. Even when buying electronic books online, the cover is displayed. Everyone has an opinion about covers.

I was eager to see what the publishers were going to come up with when ‘Hidden influence – Unveiling the Truth’ was being published and I now I’m very excited and keen to see what Eternal Press are going to do with ‘Drifting into the Unknown’. To me, it’s a real buzz.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

MCH: Yes I am. My next novel is a follow-on from ‘Drifting into the unknown.’ The hint is in the last chapter of ‘Drifting’.  😉

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…How rewarding is your job?

MCH: I love writing. It takes me out of my mundane life and into my own fantasy world where all of my hidden fears and secret desires lay dormant until I awaken them. It allows me freedom to do whatever I want in my stories without having to deal with the consequences. (If you know what I mean.)  I love driving the story in whichever direction I want it to go, and since I’m a bit of a control-freak, that suits me perfectly. I can’t wait for the day that I can write full time.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced any kind of anxiety or mental block when it comes to an event?

MCH: Never writers block. I do most of my thinking on my drive to and from work so when I sit at my computer I know exactly where I’m going.

However, since I am a little bit prudish, writing sex scenes are a little daunting. I need to be totally alone when I tackle them. Alcohol helps. Ha-ha! And when it comes to speaking to crowds, book signings and so forth, I may get a little panicky but that’s normal and I’m sure it happens to everyone.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you have any advice for someone that wants to go into promotions or event planning?

MCH: I’m sure they’ve heard it all before. To keep writing and never give up if that’s what you want to do. Even if what you write doesn’t look great, you can fix it later. But you can’t fix it until you’ve written it. So just do it!

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

MCH: I’m with you. I wouldn’t change a thing about my life. No regrets here. I am who I am because of everything that’s happened to me in the past, everything that I’ve done and every person that I’ve met along the way. If I changed any of that, then I wouldn’t be me. And I like ‘me’ at the moment.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

MCH: I had friends who obviously thought that life was too hard. They took matters into their own hands and called it quits, leaving friends and family behind to mourn their loss. If I could go back and change their mindset, then that’s what I’d do. When you hit rock bottom, the only place left to go, is up.

No one should ever feel that the world would be a better place without them in it.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle say…Michelle Obama calling you and saying she wanted you to promote a book for her? Who would be the first person you told?

MCH: Wow! I’d paste it all over facebook. First line would read something like…OMG OMG OMG!!!! Ha-ha! But I’d have to call my husband first; otherwise he might get a little upset with me.

Thank you for that funny and a little frightening interview (kidding 😉 MCH…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Hot-Coffee. Cold-Coke. Alcoholic-Hmm! Depends on my mood. Can be anything from Bourbon and coke, to midori and lemonade, or kahlua and coke and the list goes on and on.

Exercise or Bubble Bath? If I had a spa bath I’d probably say bubble bath but since I don’t then it’s exercise. Dancing around like a maniac and taking my dog for a walk qualify as exercise don’t they?

Favorite Color? If you look in my wardrobe it’s flooded with black, black and more black. So I guess black.

Take out or Dine in?  I love food especially when I don’t have to cook it myself. So both.

Camping or Hotel? Forget camping. Give me a hotel any day. I don’t like slumming it.

Sports or Chocolate? Ha-ha! You’re speaking to a chocoholic here.

Dogs or Cats?  Definitely dogs. The bigger the better.

Favorite Food? Seafood. I can live on seafood…and chocolate…and cake.

Favorite Song? Dixie chicks – ‘Not ready to make nice.’ Because I can relate to it.

Favorite Movie? Under the Tuscan sun.

Favorite Car? All new cars are nice but a friend bought a Mercedes recently and I fell in love…with the car that is, not the friend.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Huh! I might plead the fifth on this one if that’s okay. Answering may get me into trouble.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

MCH:  Fun time! I could really get into strife for this but hey, it’s all fantasy right?

I’d take Hugh Jackman, (because you’ve already claimed Johnny) to a villa resort somewhere. We’d relax, laugh and chat about everything and anything. We’d have relaxing aromatherapy massages, drink cocktails, feed each other exotic foods, lay by the pool and just chill.

I wouldn’t be able to keep it secret though, so I’d take heaps of photos and post them all on facebook. Ha-ha!

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of M.C. Holman’s 

Hidden Influence:Unveiling the Truth

at

http://sbpra.com/mcholman/

9781618972330_Holman_CV_042012 (3) OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

