Today’s Tease….Elizabeth “E.” Rose and Tina Pollick

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Elizabeth Rose or E. Rose  and Tina Pollick

Your Name or Pen Name you use: Elizabeth Rose or E. Rose  and Tina Pollick

Title of the book you are promoting:  Shadow of Hope

Link to purchase your Book: http://www.amazon.com/Shadow-of-Hope-ebook/dp/B00DHW0MLK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1372185580&sr=8-1&keywords=Shadow+of+Hope

Genre:  Paranormal Romance

Welcome  E&T…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

E: A Dallas Cowboys cheerleader. :3 Also a veterinarian.

T: A nurse, teacher and writer. Two out of three isn’t bad 😉

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

E: I’d have to say mostly Tina. She introduced me to the concept that I could actually get paid for writing a book. I had no idea how to publish before that.

T: I’m with you LH, I don’t have a cool story either. (hugs) to Elizabeth!

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

E: Indie meaning self-published? If so, I am an Indie author at the moment.

T: My first was published by a publisher, I have a three series novella that will be published through a publisher, but I’m kind of backwards… this is my first self published work. *laughs*

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

E: I just like being published. Indie or traditional doesn’t really matter to me, but I do think there are better opportunities for getting yourself out there with traditional publication. The publishing houses have more resources to promote their authors than the average author themselves have just starting out. When you self-publish, you have a limited venue in which to represent your work to the broader majority of people out there, in my limited opinion.

T: This is my first go as a self published… it’s a lot of work, but I’m enjoying the freedom too. I’ll self pub again, but I also will submit to my publisher again too.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!      Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

E: I’d like to have dinner with Jane Austin and pick her brain. The one thing, however, I would NOT ask about is her sister, LOL (This is one of those things people either know or don’t, and if you don’t you’re probably better off NOT knowing. 😉 LOL)

T: Hmmm, I had to ask my husband because I don’t know. *laughs* He said Matt Damon and Vin Diesel. I don’t know who it would be, but there would be a NO talking clause in effect. *laughs*

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

E: Here’s the problem; Hollywood comes under constant attack for this, but the reality is it’s biased. A famous author making a violent book filled with sex is not attacked for writing that book, yet a Hollywood scriptwriter doing the same thing is. George R.R. Martin’s Fire and Ice saga (one of the few perks I had with my ex-BF is he started me on this series, and it is completely awesome!) is filled with incest, violence and other sexually explicit scenes. Does that make him a bad writer? No. It’s contextually relevant to the time frame he’s writing in. The reality is you cannot tell a good story without some of these elements. If you do, it lacks the feeling of realism.

HBO has picked up the Fire and Ice saga with the title Game of Thrones, and it has garnered little else besides very high praise. This is why I say outcries of sex and violence all being Hollywood’s fault is subject to heavy bias.

Overly gratuitous violence and sex without reason or context is, however, one thing I cannot stand in any work.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

E: I would want people to understand each other and give each other a chance. That is the starting point of world peace. 🙂

T: Damn… how can you beat world peace? Okay world peace. 😉

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

E: I’ve read books on my Kindle Fire. I think a proper cover is essential even in the electronic arena. Whether or not people want to admit it, the cover still plays a very important part in whether a person chooses to ‘pick up’ that book and decide to read the blurb or otherwise find out more about it. As you can see from the cover for Shadow of Hope, I think it’s safe to say Tina and I both felt the same way on this.

T: Covers are still important. With millions of eBooks to choose from you have to use every advantage you can to ‘attract’ readers to take a chance on you.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

E: I was always writing stuff as a child. But it was Tina who got me started professionally. Shadow of Hope is my first published work.

T: Late start here too.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

E: The characters are, and will always be the meat of the work. But if you have beautifully crafted characters against bad writing or a boring plot, you lose the readers. I try to look at all elements to decide how good a story is, but the characters are definitely a bulk of my ‘interest’ in a story.

T: I need action. I need a fast paced story with interesting characters and a great storyline and can I have fries with that? 😉

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

E: This is hard to explain. It’s like, one day I get an idea, and I want to see where it goes, so I write a story. Sometimes it works out, sometimes it doesn’t, LOL

T: You are so LUCKY LH! With Shadow of Hope it was inspired by a picture, but usually I have a really, teeney, tiny idea that I have to yank, tug and pull into something.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

E: I’m going to try to solo. I have a lot of interesting story ideas. But I also want to hone my writing so I look less amateurish on paper. So no, I’m not working on a specific project right now. But definitely sometime soon.

T: I took two weeks off and then I’m back at it. I have one due in four weeks my publisher and another I’m going to self publish… soon.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

E: One. And one, LOL See above. :3

T: I have one published in Jan-13, one this month, one next and one in August. J

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

E: I’ve always ‘just written’. I had no idea you could actually make money on it until Tina taught me about the publishing industry. So yeah, I write for fun, LOL If I make a buck or two doing that, well that’s just fine with me. J

T: I have a full-time job, but I’d love to write full-time. I’d also like a Mercedes, a house on the beach, and some frequent flyer miles. What? As long as I’m wishing I better make it good! *laughs*

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

E: This has never been an issue. When I started Shadow of Hope I had nothing more from my family than they had ever given me in anything else; their unconditional love and support. For that, I am truly blessed. 😉 

T: I hate creating character names so creating an alternate identity wasn’t going to happen. I’m not that creative. *laughs* Really, I don’t write anything I’d be embarrassed about, although my kids can’t read it right now. Write what comes to you and let the universe take care of the rest. J

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

E: I’m not sure I’ve ever experienced a proper ‘writer’s block’. When I write for myself, I have no compulsions besides my own. If the story falls flat, or loses interest, I can abandon it. On Shadow of Hope, I had Tina’s guidance and expertise, so I had an additional brain to work with there, LOL When something wasn’t working, she could bring it back on track. I have no idea how this will play out when I solo. *shrugs* LOL

T: Yes and it sucks! I think it may be more of a time of the year thing though, but I didn’t write ANYTHING for three months. I was miserable.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

E: Being a new writer myself, the only thing I can say is get a mentor who has experience in the field, It is invaluable on a first book.

T: You know the typical answer… write.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

E: All the guys I dated that I should’ve known better than to date in the first place, LOL

T: Nothing, I’m with you. I am who I am, for better or worse. The trials have molded me into who I am and I’m okay with the person who stares back at me. J

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

E: See above answer. I’d tell them all ‘no’. LOL

T: I’d visit a younger version of myself and let her know it’ll all work out. 😉

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

E: I would have to handle it as it came up. I mean, seriously, how can you even prepare for such a thing? You can’t. So you’d have to deal with it as it unfolded, like any other surprise in life, but this would be a little easier to handle, because most surprises in life are nasty, LOL 

I’d tell Tina, OFC, LOL

T: Make room for me under the bed LH. Elizabeth would handle it all 😉

Thanks for that fun and interesting interview E & T…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? E: Dasani and lemon juice.T: Raspberry Margarita

Exercise or Bubble Bath? E: Bubble bath every time. 😉 T: Bubble bath

Favorite Color? E: Sapphire.T: Midnight Blue

Take out or Dine in? E: Dine in.T: Take out

Camping or Hotel? E: Hotel.T: Camping

Sports or Chocolate? E: Chocolate.T: ? *laughs* Chocolate paired with anything would be chocolate!

Dogs or Cats? E Both. :3 T: Me too

Favorite Food? E: Shrimp scampi T:Japanese

Favorite Song? E:  I Don’t Want to Miss a Thing-Aerosmith T: Too many to name

Favorite Movie? E: Kate and Leopold T: I like action movies

Favorite Car? E: One with wheels, LOL T: Jeep Wrangler

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 E: Both. Often. 😉 T: Both

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

 E: Hugh Jackman. What I’d do cannot be repeated here. And I’d go to Paris. :3

T: I’d take my husband and we’d try and expand our family, even though that’s impossible now *laughs* and we’d do it often J And we both want to go to Ireland, so we’d go there  😉

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to get your copy of Elizabeth Rose or E. Rose  and Tina Pollick’s 

Shadow of Hope

at

http://www.amazon.com/Shadow-of-Hope-ebook/dp/B00DHW0MLK/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1372185580&sr=8-1&keywords=Shadow+of+Hope

SOH2

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

