Today’s Tease…Dylan Cross

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Dylan Cross

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Dylan Cross

Title of the book you are promoting:  Back to School

 Link to purchase your Book:  www.dontcrossdylan.com (and from my page, you can choose either Smashwords or Amazon, depending upon your personal preference)

Genre:  BDSM

Welcome DC…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

DC: I had a few girlfriends for whom I would write naughty e-mail stories.  One of them became my short story “A Letter of Appreciation.”  The gals didn’t know one another, so I would just use a text editor’s “find and replace” feature to change the name, then send each of them the story.

A road adventure with another girlfriend at 75mph eventually was written down and became the basis for “Road Trip.”

Oddly, what finally convinced me to start publishing my erotica had nothing to do with sex.  In my “day job” I often have to write up summaries detailing my methods for dealing with an angry customer and solving a problem, and a coworker told me that my writing was very eloquent and well-formulated.  So I decided to try my hand at writing.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

DC: I am independent at this time.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

DC: I don’t think so, because I’d have to relinquish control to a degree.  I often like to do things at my own pace.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

DC: Cleopatra.  Legend has it that she had a very specific talent, perhaps the best in recorded history.  I’d love to find out for myself! And hopefully we wouldn’t “discuss” much of anything!

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

DC: I think blaming it on the entertainment industry (which, at this point, would include me) is a copout.  Seeing something in fiction doesn’t give one license to behave unacceptably.

In the 80’s, we had Lethal Weapon.  Despite seeing it many times, I’ve never gone out and killed people outside of the Laws of War.  I also got a great education from the public school system.

If you’re looking to point the finger for the problems in society, look at the parents and the modern education system.  We’re worried about hurting the kids’ feelings rather than teaching them and letting them learn that life doesn’t hand everything to them.  They participate in extracurricular activities where everyone makes the team, and everyone gets a trophy.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

DC: I’d get rid of mosquitoes.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

DC: I think they’re very important.  It’s the very first look someone is going to get at your book.  If they’re scrolling through a page containing dozens of book listings, such as on Goodreads, and your cover art is eye-catching, now they’re taking time to read a description, then maybe a review.  You’re well on the way to acquiring a new reader, who otherwise might have kept going.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

DC: I can get them from a variety of places.  “Back to School” originated with a status update on a friend’s Facebook wall.  She mentioned that she’d gone to the high school to pick up her daughter, and one of the guidance counselors not only thought she was a student, but wanted to give her detention for ditching class!  It quickly became an entire story.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

DC: I am working on the prequel for “Road Trip.”  It will be titled “Amanda’s Descent” and will tell us how Amanda got into her predicament.

Aside from writing, I’m involved in another exciting project.  We’re forming a “guild” of erotic authors.  This will be an organization that will allow us to collaborate.  Also, it will allow us to being credibility to the erotica genre.  Too often, stigma and generalization follow us as erotica writers.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

DC: I have 11 now.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

DC: I have a day job, but I enjoy the supplemental income at this point.  However, I wouldn’t write if it wasn’t fun.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

DC: I just write something else.  Or, I skip to a different part of the same book, like the ending, and I write that.  Or, sometimes just writing a basic outline helps.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

DC: Stay away from KDP Select on Amazon.  It gains you nothing.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

DC: I’d go invest in Apple or Google.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

DC: Mr. President!  Duck!

Actually I wouldn’t change anything, because it would affect the space-time continuum and might even cause myself to not exist.

Thank you for that funny and candid interview DC…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? I just poured one of those $1 mini-bottles of wine into a glass, added ice and topped it with raspberry lemonade.  But then again, this has been a rather brutal grilling!
Exercise or Bubble Bath? If it were with certain members of my fan base, could knock both out at once!
(switching to sarcastic Jack Nicholson voice)  What would you like to discuss next.  My favorite color?
Oh, wait:
Favorite Color? Teal
Take out or Dine in? We have a Mongolian Stir-fry grill nearby.  Select all your meat, vegetables, pasta, sauces, spices and put them in a bowl, then they fry it up for you.  And, if you don’t like the food, you have nobody to blame but yourself!
Camping or Hotel? I’d like to go camping in a cabin.  With my Macbook and a bunch of story outlines.  With NO cell phone or wifi coverage.
Sports or Chocolate? Football!
Dogs or Cats? Dogs, definitely…
Favorite Food? Fried chicken
Favorite Song? How Can I Help You Say Goodbye by Patty Loveless is probably the most powerful song ever written.
Favorite Movie? Almost Famous.  You don’t even need to watch the entire movie.  Just start at “I am a golden god” and watch thru “Rock stars have kidnapped my son”.
Favorite Car? The UglyMicheleMobile.  Oh, that’s right, most people know it as the PT Cruiser…
Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Sex WITH chocolate…

 

 

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Dylan Cross’s

Back to School

at

www.dontcrossdylan.com

41gR3bCGwKL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-54,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

