Today’s Tease…Bathsheba Dailey

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Bathsheba Dailey

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Bathsheba Dailey and well you may find my alter ego under Sinfully Alive 😉

Title of the book you are promoting:  Five Year Old Death

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.amazon.com/Five-Year-Death-Bathsheba-Dailey/dp/0615841325/ref=sr_1_6?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1372348001&sr=1-6&keywords=bathsheba+dailey

Genre:  I write poetry but this book is my autobiography

Welcome  BD…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

BD: I always wanted to be a writer but I also thought about the medical field until I was in my second semester for EMT, the blood was enough for me to decide never mind that.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

BD: V.C Andrews and James Patterson, Patterson is an exciting read but Andrews could stir emotions in you that made you want to write even more.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

BD: I am an indie writer, I did however go through a few self-publishers but I did not like the fact that you never knew what you were selling. I have really bad trust issues when it comes to someone having all control over me, probably why I want to have my own advertising business one day and went to school for business.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

BD: I would love to have a traditional publisher who you actually see helping you meet your goals, I am all about doing as much as I can to promote myself so I would never say here is my book now sell it LOL. As far as self-publishing never ever again will I pay a publisher to do my books again. I feel like I have been ripped off to many times. I love the fact that I have more control now over my work.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

BD: Edgar Allen Poe, and I would not discuss sex with him hahhaha I am in love with his words not his looks :p. Instead of wanting to use someone for their meat this would be me wanting to use him for his crazy mind. O yea my daughter wants to choke me sometimes because she is a Johnny Depp fan also and when I lived in Baltimore as a child he was at our school do a “Just say no to drugs commercial” so we got to meet him afterwards. Very cute and down to earth!

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

BD: I feel very conflicted on this subject because yes there is indeed too much sex and violence out there but too many people now use that as a reason to commit crimes. When we were children we would never do any of the things children do these days. I think we just need to pay more attention to what our children are watching and hope for the very best in our decisions.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

BD: World peace also, I have friends from all over the world and they are just like us. I get so tired of people downing other countries and I just wish they seen we all are the same.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

BD: O wow I am a book cover lover LOL! You are right though everything is going to online now but I still love book covers and for the ones that do make it into the stores they matter a whole lot I think.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

BD: I have always wanted to write and started around 8 years old but I stopped writing for years and did not start back until I was around 33, right before my 15 year marriage ended.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

BD: I think it would be what led the character to the spot that they are in at the ending of the book which I will go into detail a little more in a minute.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

BD: Well I have only written poetry up until this new book which is about my life and what led me into the states name so I am just starting with the real story telling.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

BD: Yes I am working on my book “Sinfully Becoming” it is going to be something like a fictional bio of my alter ego where her family is murdered and she goes out for revenge. I know that sounds like a hundred other books out there but there is one thing that sets this book aside, with every murder she commits she loses more of her soul to the devil. There will be a lot of twist and turns in this book.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

BD: I have published four poetry books but I have now retired the first two so I can redo them. I also now have the bio book out.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

BD: I write for fun and emotional release, I doubt I will ever become rich but I do not care because I love to write.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

BD: No one knew for three years about my dark writing, where I live there surly would have been a witch hunt lol

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

BD: I have many times and music always helps me get back to writing

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

BD: Never give up no matter what everyone else says, look at “Harry Potter” there are 12 very unhappy publishers out there that had a chance to pick those books up and refused to. Just never give up and do not set your sights up too high. Do not do it because you THINK you may become rich, do it because it is in your blood to write.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

BD: I would be with my true love and would have went back to school a lot sooner than 33 years old

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

BD: I would go back in time and said yes to my true love instead of worrying about what others thought of us

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

BD: I would tell my daughters first and then have a heart attack before I even got the check for the movie rights LOL

Thank you for that heartfelt interview BD…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? LOL I do not get it much but I have to say it, Tequila rose

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Weed eating is my exercising

Favorite Color? Purple

Take out or Dine in? dine in

Camping or Hotel? camping

Sports or Chocolate? Does fishing count?
Dogs or Cats? cats

Favorite Food? Corn beef

Favorite Song? I miss my friend

Favorite Movie? Gone with the wind, also my favorite book

Favorite Car? I am 36 and have never driven soooo I really do not know lol

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 they go together well :p

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

BD: I would go to a cabin and spend nothing but quality time fishing and walking the hills with my true love. Cough cough and of course make love under the stars as often as possible. We both enjoy listening to country music and tell stories to each other of why the songs have great meaning to us. He is the one who got me hooked to “I miss my friend”

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up you copy of Bathsheba Dailey’s 

Five Year Old Death

at

http://www.amazon.com/Five-Year-Death-Bathsheba-Dailey/dp/0615841325/ref=sr_1_6?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1372348001&sr=1-6&keywords=bathsheba+dailey

602970_328084920625753_493515632_n yep 027 262092_2034779722410_2436850_n

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

