Today’s Tease…Loretta Laird

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Loretta Laird

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Loretta Laird

Title of the book you are promoting:  The Passers

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.amazon.com/The-Passers-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B00DMCVQLK/ref=cm_cd_pdp?_encoding=UTF8&cdPage=1&newContentID=TxBL0PZEMEQWB3&noLL=1

http://steamereads.com.au/

 Genre:  Romance/Fantasy

Welcome  LL…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

LL: I wanted to be in the circus after having been brought up on Enid Blyton’s Hurrah for the circus! Books, either that or Nancy Drew. As I got older, I wanted to be a girl from the Sweet Valley High books – all book related do you notice!

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

LL: Well, my daughter and I started a book together called ‘Teenagers, Mums, Boyfriends and Bums’ all about the trials of you baby girl turning into a revolting teenager. We struggled to get it published so I decided to write a steamy romance to gather some funds for self-publishing. Then I got hooked. I did not think that I would have the time, being a busy working mum but I make time and it unwinds me at the end of a hard day.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

LL: I have just had my first book published by Steam eReads, a relatively new Australian boutique publisher. They have since offered me another contract for a short Christmas story due out in December. The Passers is the first of a trilogy so I hope they like the other two books as well!

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

LL: I suppose my goal is to have my work in a paper copy. I would love to go into a library and check myself out’!

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

LL: I would invite my Nan. She passed away when I was in my early twenties and I would like to know if she is proud of me. She’d have to cook, of course – homemade mince pie. I would NOT discuss the time when I was out with my friends and pretended that I didn’t know her. How awful are teenage girls?

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

LL: As I am promoting a steamy read, I would have to say ‘bring on the sex’! I do think that it should not be as available to children though. I shudder at some of the, so called children’s shows and movies that include sex as common place. As a mum of four girls, I do keep my writing a relative secret – hence the pen name. I would not want them to read some of my more adult scenes until they are much older.

Violence, I avoid at all costs. I shudder to even watch medical shows on TV. Luckily, having girls, I seem to have avoided computer games and all the horrors that that entails.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

LL: Hunger. There is so much wasted food in the developed world yet so many humans are going to bed starving each and every night.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

LL:  I still think they are vital. Online, you pretty much just see the cover. You can’t pick up and have a read and a feel for the book. Cover art is what draws you in still. I, personally, loved mine. It seemed to sum up my characters better than I even could do with words. The dagger behind Jadara’s back just shows her inner warrior yet the passion of her love is evident in the kiss.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

LL:  I suppose I have dabbled a bit with short skits and plays but I didn’t start until the magic forty. I just thought I would have a go and loved it! My sister has always been the writer and it was her thing.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

LL:  I like the pace of a story. I tend to struggle to find enough words and often need a critical friend to help me ‘pad out’ my work. I like my characters to whirl through life, rather like I do, I suppose.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

LL: Yes, I love your description. In my first three books, I did just that wrote from start to finish but my latest book, the third part of The Passers trilogy, I find myself taking twists and turns. I seem to be writing characters then weaving their stories together. It is odd and a little disconcerting but the book seems to be taking me on the journey this time.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

LL: Yes, A story about a widowed mum who is struggling to make ends meet until a large bottle of wine and a case of the hornies finds her beginning a journey which culminate in court as she is accused of running a brothel. It is funnier than I just made it sound!!

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

LL:  I have written three. One came out on 26th June and my second is out as a Christmas release. I hope to impress my publisher with books 2 and 3 of my trilogy later this year.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

LL:  Fun for now but I dream of owning a cabin by a lake and writing from dawn ’til dusk! How does that happen?

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

LL:  Trying to be a good role-model as a mother yet writing about sex! I feel as if I am living a double life with two email accounts and two Facebook pages. I was talking to my daughter the other day and she type, ‘Oh, hello Loretta’!!! My parents are not too impressed about my subject matter either. My dad has labeled my books, “Penny Dreadfuls’. Such is life!

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

LL: A few days after my book was published, I realised that I hadn’t written at all. It was as if, I’d done it and I didn’t have to do it anymore. Soon though, the ideas for Book 3 got the better of me and I was back in the swing of it.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

LL:  I really am a new writer so I wouldn’t presume to give advice. My best tip is to have a critical friend who you know will not just love it because he or she loves you. They will tell it like it is and help make suggestions. I am fortunate to know some English teachers too – that helps!

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

LL:  Ignoring my Nan!

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

LL:  The passengers on the Titanic not to get one. (Not sure they would have listened to a raving lunatic dressed in weird clothes though!)

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

LL:  I actually think my book would make a great movie! I would watch it anyway. I would probably tell my kids and they would raise their eyebrows and say, “What’s for tea?”

Thank you for that fun and fabulous interview LL…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Tea – hot, strong and English
Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble bath
Favorite Color? Red
Take out or Dine in? Dine in
Camping or Hotel? Her in Australia? Hotel for sure – bugs here re too unknown.
Sports or Chocolate? Cake
Dogs or Cats? Neither (Fish?)
Favorite Food? Cake – any kind
Favorite Song? Summer of ‘69
Favorite Movie? Oklahoma
Favorite Car? Red ones
Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Sex

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

LL: No comment – I may have a pen name but there are those out there who still know who I am…

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Loretta Laird’s

The Passers

at

 http://www.amazon.com/The-Passers-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B00DMCVQLK/ref=cm_cd_pdp?_encoding=UTF8&cdPage=1&newContentID=TxBL0PZEMEQWB3&noLL=1

Front cover green eye

4 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

4 responses to “Today’s Tease…Loretta Laird

  1. Loved the interview. Thanks so much Leanne xxLL

Leave a Reply

