Today’s Tease…Shelly Arkon

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Shelly Arkon

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Shelly Arkon

Title of the book you are promoting:  Secondhand Shoes and The Partners’ Progeny

 Link to purchase your Book: 

Secondhand Shoes, Book 1, in the Lila’s Journey Series is available for 99 cents, for Kindle.

 http://www.amazon.com/Secondhand-Shoes-Lilas-Journey-ebook/dp/B00B1ZNQAO/ref=sr_1_1_bnp_1_kin?ie=UTF8&qid=1372550852&sr=8-1&keywords=Secondhand+Shoes%2C+Shelly+Arkon

And

The Partners’ Progeny is available for 99 cents, for Kindle.

http://www.amazon.com/The-Partners-Progeny-ebook/dp/B00DF8K072/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1372551117&sr=1-1&keywords=The+Partner%27s+Progeny

Both books are available in all countries

 Genre:

Secondhand Shoes is paranormal/suspense/thriller with some humor and romance- NO EROTICA!

The Partners’ Progeny is chick lit/drama-NO EROTICA!

Welcome  SA…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

SA: First, I wanted to be a nun because I though their outfits were cool. But my grandfather spoiled it for me. Lutherans don’t have nuns. After that, I wanted to be a flight attendant.

By the time I turned nine, I wanted to be a writer. That stuck with me all through life. Even after I became a wife, a mommy, a divorced single mom twice, a waitress, a hairdresser, a paralegal, a collection agent…you see where I’m going. At about the age of forty-two, I plopped my butt into my chair and began the journey to finish my first novel, Secondhand Shoes.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

SA: I loved everyone I read. But I’d have to say it was the old movies that moved me to write. Especially, the vampire movies with Christopher Reed and Bella Lougasi.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

SA: I’m Indie all the way.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

SA: I prefer to control my own destiny. Although, I would consider a publisher. I don’t believe in putting all my eggs in one basket.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

SA: You’re asking a Libra girl to make a decision. Next question…

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Which form of media do you think is the worst offender?

SA: According to history, sex and violence have been around for thousands of years. It’s not anything new. Television brings it center stage into our living rooms if we so choose. That’s why there’s an on and off button. The same with the books we choose. If we have anyone to blame, it would be ourselves for inviting in such media.

LH: I’m a huge softie and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

SA: Here we go again, asking a Libra to choose something. Good luck with that. World peace, poverty, GMOs, cancer, homelessness, etc. Or people who lose everything in disasters, such as Moore, Oklahoma. William Kendall, Norma Beishir, and I put together a book bundle raffle for 10 dollar donations to the American Red Cross.

People  can visit this sight here to make a donation and pick a bundle:

First bundles:
http://writersofmassdistraction.blogspot.ca/2013/06/raffle-bundles-1-3.html

Here’s the second one:

http://writersofmassdistraction.blogspot.ca/2013/06/raffle-buncles-4-6.html

Or they can check us out on Facebook for more  info: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorsForOklahoma

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

SA: Hmm…well…um…I believe its very important. The cover is the first thing they see. If they like that, they’ll read your blurb.

When book 2 comes out in the Lila’s Journey Series, the first cover will have to be changed because I’m going with a shoe theme. Killer Stilettos will be the next book in this series.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

SA: I began writing at nine despite my mother’s nagging to stop. She told me I had to be special to be published and that no one would ever publish me. Obviously, I didn’t take heed to her suggestion.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

SA: In Secondhand Shoes, Lila to some degree is a lot like me in many ways, except I don’t see dead people, or have a germ phobia. She had a lot to deal with. An overbearing mom, a creepy groom and his moronic friends. Bigotry is a part of this story as well. Lila’s in love with a boy from Venezuela who happens to be very dark skinned. In my lifetime I’ve dated a Puerto Rican, a Thai boy, and am now married to a Jewish man. I understand what its like to be an outcast and unacknowledged for who you love. Lila’s mother threatens her over and over until she makes sure Lila’s love goes away and stays away.

Not to mention, Lila grew up missing her real father. Lila’s mother craftily kept them separated. Something I’m all too familiar with.

I also touch on sibling rivalry. Something most of us know about if we have sisters and brothers. Sadly, the rivalry can lead into adult lives.

There’s also an issue with her crazy mom-in-law. The religious nut who sees nothing wrong with running and pushing drugs. Not to mention, she sees nothing wrong with her creepy son, Max, either.

In The Partners’ Progeny, Monica Bowman is the MC. Victoria Sheek is the antagonist, the bully. I’m sure we’ve all worked under someone like her. I have. The good thing is, Karma does come.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

SA: Characters begin having conversations. I write them done in a tablet. There are lots of great beginnings to many stories waiting for me to write.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

SA: Killer Stilettos, Book 2 to Lila’s Journey Series. I’m also getting ready to publish another short story at the end of August, Time on Her Side, a cozy sci-fi.

I’m also working on another series, White Trash and Pill Heads. The first book to that one should be out sometime next year.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

SA: I’ve written three. Only one book is published. The other two I’ll keep hidden for now until I decide what to do with them. Characters sometimes get out of control. That happens to pansters, I guess.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

SA: I write for fun, but some money would be nice. No one can go into this thinking they’ll come out a millionaire…well…not over night anyway.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

SA: I get absolutely no moral support, except from my hubby and Dad. The rest of my family could care less. They came around for their free signed copy, and I haven’t heard from them since.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

SA: Never. I never have that issue.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

SA: If you really want to write, then do it. Don’t just talk about it.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

SA: I would’ve finished my first novel at thirty. Not in my forties.

LH: If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

SA: I would want to visit myself and say follow your heart.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

SA: I’m not sure how I would handle it. But the first peeps I would tell…well…that would be Sir Poops, my Chinese Crested, and Hair Ball, my Malti-poo. They’re my writing buddies.

Thanks for that awesome and entertaining interview SA…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?  Water and hot tea.

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Both.

Favorite Color? Blue and purple.

Take out or Dine in? Take out.

Camping or Hotel? Either one.

Sports or Chocolate? Definitely chocolate.

Dogs or Cats? Dogs.

Favorite Food? Chocolate.

Favorite Song? Anything by Phillip Phillip

Favorite Movie? Once again, you’re asking a Libra. We could be here all day.

Favorite Car? My Jetta.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Um….its that Libra thing again.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

SA: I’d go on a cruise around the world and do all kinds of things. But Sweetman is afraid of boats so I’d go by myself.

Thank for spending time with us. Make sure get your copy of Shelly Arkon’s

Secondhand Shoes and The Partners’ Progeny

at

http://www.amazon.com/Secondhand-Shoes-Lilas-Journey-ebook/dp/B00B1ZNQAO/ref=sr_1_1_bnp_1_kin?ie=UTF8&qid=1372550852&sr=8-1&keywords=Secondhand+Shoes%2C+Shelly+Arkon

 

http://www.amazon.com/The-Partners-Progeny-ebook/dp/B00DF8K072/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1372551117&sr=1-1&keywords=The+Partner%27s+Progeny

The Partner's Prodigy Secondhand_Shoes_Cover_for_Kindle _MG_8546-Edit (1)

6 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

6 responses to “Today’s Tease…Shelly Arkon

  1. The Desert Rocks

    Great interview and I have a Jetta too! I love Shelly’s books!

  2. Leanna: thanks for having me.

    Hugs and chocolate,
    Shelly

  3. Excellent answers, Shelly!

    I’ve read both Partner’s Progeny and Secondhand Shoes. I look forward to what she’s got in store next…

Leave a Reply

