Today’s Tease…DC Daines

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease DC Daines

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  DC Daines

Title of the book you are promoting:  The Star Crystal   https://www.facebook.com/TheStarCrystal

 Link to purchase your Book:    http://www.amazon.com/Star-Crystal-Dc-Daines/dp/1470917750/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1331120952&sr=1-1

Genre:  Sci-fi fantasy

Welcome  DCD…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

DCD: Up until I was 16, I wanted to be a writer.  Then my English student teacher told me I was bloody awful and I had to get better really quick or just plain give up.  So I gave up and decided I wanted to be a marine biologist.  It would seem the latter was less obtainable than being an author.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

DCD: John Marco was a great influence to me, however my writing just happened when I turned 34.  Got myself stuck in this massive drum heating oven, got claustrophobic and just went, “There must be more than this to life.”  Then the voice started in my head. “Before, before there was dust.  Before the air became poison.  Before the companies, we lived and we lived in peace.”  And from there came my prologue.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

DCD: I am currently published through a small publishing company in Perth Western Australia.  Acashic publications.  However I may as well be self published as they are of very little help.  They did get me out there though so I am grateful for that.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

DCD: I am the opposite, now I have been published through a small publisher, I am not really looking at doing that again.  I am very much going down the path of an Indie Author so that my fans can get the book at a reasonable price.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

DCD: Funny you ask that.  I’ve not thought of this subject since I was 18.  I would invite my half sister who I have never met.  I would definitely not discuss why we have never met.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

DCD: I do believe that life in general is taking a more adult approach to everything.  Sex sells, simple and plain.  We may not like it, we may want to shelter our kids from it but inevitability says, we will all be exposed to it more than is required.  But then, that is human nature.  Most of us would prefer to make a buck than take the moral high ground.  Saying that, there is definitely a place for sex and violence in our lives, it is just not in our every day lives.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

DCD: In the Blink of an eye.  Sounds like my character Blink.  He teleports from one place to another looking for shinies.  I would probably be inclined to make it so our kids are safe.  Not from other kids, that is just part of growing up, but from adults.  Those ones that prey on little children.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

DCD: The book covers are insanely important.  The first 25% of the persons opinion is formed on seeing the cover.  The next thing is the synopsis, then I believe the price.  There are observations I have seen in the market.  In person I believe it is the authors presence that sells the book also.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

DCD: Up until I was 16, I wanted to be a writer.  Then my English student teacher told me I was bloody awful and I had to get better really quick or just plain give up.  I was awful, just do not grasp the human language.  I started writing again on my 34th birthday and it is a good thing because all of that life experience has just added to my depth of story.  Also my writing was/ can be bloody awful.  However that is what edits, continual drafts and editors and friends are for.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

DCD: Depth of character and escapism.  Life can be hard enough without being reminded of it when you are trying relax.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

DCD: Exactly the same way.  The voice started, then the pictures, not the voice and the pictures.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

DCD: I am currently re-editing book 1 for kindle.  Book 2 (Die my son) is being re-edited for kindle and then release on paperback.  Book 3 (possibly titled, Dare to Blink) is being worked on and what I call a book 4 (my world not theirs) this one is based on me and my kids.  However the biggest project I am working on is called fatherhood.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

DCD: I have written two books, working on about another fourteen or so.  One is published.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

DCD: I only write when I get told to write, however I tend to have over simulated writers syndrome.  I have 260 hours of voice recording I have just not had time to get down on paper and more times than not I have ideas floating around in my head trying to get out.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

DCD: Be careful, spend your time completing your novel and getting it right.  Don’t go into it blind and be very wary of any publisher that asks for money.  I have a whole page of new author tips on my blog if anyone is interested  http://www.thestarcrystal.com

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

DCD: I would stop hoarding stuff.  My house is not big enough for me and my kids.  LOL

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

DCD: I am not sure, would life be the same if we did?  Would we have been born if someone had thought slightly differently.  Would we be slaves to ourselves, to the Russians to the Japanese, or maybe the Americans.  I  believe we have original personalities to shape our lives at the time, what would happen to you if you tried to shape it after the fact, isn’t that the age old question in all Sci-fi?  I know it is in my novels.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

DCD: End goal!  As you said above, seeing the book in your mind is the way you write and so do I.  It is so much like watching a movie the ultimate accomplishment would be making it into one.  I would probably call a lawyer, then my publisher to get back my book rites LOL

Thanks for that fun and informative interview DCD…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Milo
Exercise or Bubble Bath? One after the other.
Favorite Color? Green
Take out or Dine in? Take away
Camping or Hotel? Hotel
Sports or Chocolate? Sports then chocolate
Dogs or Cats? Both, I love animals
Favorite Food? Coconut ice
Favorite Song? The theme song for my website, but it was made specially for me so I am biased
Favorite Movie? Flash Gordon color version
Favorite Car? Whatever gets me from a to b without breaking down and is safe for my kids.
Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Depends on who it is with.  I’d better not let my wife read this 🙂

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

DCD: Now this is where I am no fun.  There is nothing in this world that can be done that would not eventually come to light.  Even in a fantasy world. 

So that would eliminate my week with Jessica Alba in a first class hotel on some secluded beach to talk about her days in Dark Angel. The guilt would be far to intense to live with.

So I would have to say, I would spend the week with one kick ass typist/writer/editor/and she could always look like Jessica Alba and thrash out the ideas from my novels until all the novels I ever though of were polished to a high standard and my fans could then have all my books at once…

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of DC Daines’

The Star Crystal

at

http://www.amazon.com/Star-Crystal-Dc-Daines/dp/1470917750/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1331120952&sr=1-1

the star crystal book image

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

