Today’s Tease …Simon Okill aka Phantom Bigfoot

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Simon Okill aka Phantom Bigfoot

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Simon Okill aka Phantom Bigfoot

Title of the book you are promoting:  Luna Sanguis

Link to purchase your Book:  NA

Genre:  Vampire Romance

Welcome  SO….I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

SO: Taller, go figure, now I am Phantom Bigfoot.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

SO: That old chestnut, Stephen King hooked me from the moment I read Salem’s Lot.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

SO: My first book Nobody Loves a Bigfoot Like a Bigfoot Babe was released through a small Indie Publisher in US. I am going solo with Luna Sanguis.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

SO: I guess the prestige would be great, but they take everything and give nothing back. And I prefer to have control over my material and pricing.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!  Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

SO: I would invite Count Dracula and not ask him what it’s like to be a vampire.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

SO: It was good enough for the Romans. We all need an outlet.  I feel Hollywood is a virgin when it comes to sex and violence, where as computer games are wholly influential in violence on our streets.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

SO: You are gorgeous, Leanna. Make space travel a reality and get off this planet before it self-destructs.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

SO: Very important – don’t judge a book by its cover was said by those who believe beauty is skin deep. We are all attracted to beauty.   Wink wink!

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

SO: I loved reading as a kid – Alistair Maclean – but the writing bug didn’t draw blood until I had seen 480 full moons and had been brain-washed by Stephen King and Star Trek.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

SO: Character always comes first and the plot develops around them. Gotta have great characters and make them over-the-top when villains.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

SO: Funnily enough, my books all started out as screenplays and became fleshed out as novels much later. My characters come from dreams, fuelled by wine, stuff I watch on TV, news broadcasts – those can be great for ideas, and life as I see it passing by.  Some of the things I see every day I could never use. Too unPC.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

SO: 4 books on the go right now.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

SO: One published – Bigfoot, Luna Sanguis due 15th July, the sequel Luna Aeturnus September, Bigfoot 2 November and early New Year SS-Steppenwolf.  Then I’ll crack on with my YA fantasy about Errol Flynn’s missing sword. Not that sword, Leanna.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

SO: I write for the love of writing, although these days the pressures of marketing tend to take the fun out of it. Being paid would be the icing on the cake.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing? SO: No problems there – very supportive and nurturing, although not many of my family have read Bigfoot, and that doesn’t bother me a jot.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

SO: From time to time the dreaded block attacks and when it does I simply stop and relax, walk our fossil beach and chill out. Something always turns up.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

SO: Don’t let anyone put you off. Writing isn’t easy and there’s always someone out there who will do their utmost to put a spanner in your works. Stick with it no matter what. And never be dismayed by rejections, Stephen King had 100s for Carrie.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

SO: Nothing! I probably wouldn’t be doing this right now if I changed one tiny thing.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

SO: I would tell, Big Boppa, Buddy Holly, Richie Valens and all not to board that plane.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

SO: That’s water off a duck’s back to me as I once had John Travolta say yes to a script I wrote, but nothing came of it. But I would tell the right agent and get them to sign me up just to keep John happy.

Thank you for that fun and somewhat flirtatious interview SO…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Tea 

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Exercise

Favorite Color? Blue

Take out or Dine in? Dine in

Camping or Hotel? Camping

Sports or Chocolate? Sports

Dogs or Cats? Cats

Favorite Food? Cheese

Favorite Song? Both Ends Burning by Roxy Music

Favorite Movie? The Big Lebowski and Some Like It Hot

Favorite Car? Skoda Yeti

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 I’m male – Sex

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉 is that easy or essay?

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

SO: I would hop on the Enterprise and warp off to the planet Risa and do nothing for a whole blissful week in the sun. Well almost nothing, after all, it is a pleasure planet.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to get your copy of Simon Okill aka Phantom Bigfoot’s
Luna Sanguis
on amazon.com as soon as it’s available!

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

