Today’s Tease…Ashley Smith and Manda Gammons Reviewers at 2 Chicks and a Blog!

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Ashley Smith and Manda Gammons

Your Name:  Ashley Smith and Manda Gammons

Your Title:   Bloggers – 2 Chicks and a Blog

Link to your Blog:   http://www.2chicksnablog.blogspot.com

Welcome  AS & MG…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

AS:  I wanted to be a doctor .. but then I realized that I wasn’t meant to spend all that time in school

MG: Anything that involved kids or elderly, I thought the in between people were too crazy for me

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. When did you decide that you wanted to be a reviewer and how did you get started?

AS:  I think we were talking with a group of girlfriends and we joked about starting a blog to talk about what books we liked .. and that was June 2, 2013 .. and now here we are!

MG: Ashley. She is the reason I started reviewing for the world to see. I would still be writing and reading and nobody would ever have heard my voice if it wasn’t for her.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Do you have a preference when it comes to published or Indie authors?

AS: ehhhh I guess it depends .. I like a good book.  If the author is published or indie or not doesn’t really matter .. but I can say that most of my favorite authors are Indie

MG: A good book is a good book either way. No matter if it’s self published or not. If it catches my attention, I am in it. From start to finish, I feel it. I don’t think it matters who published it at that point, all that matters is the story

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!      Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

AS:  oh hell!  Ummmmm … I’d invite Robin Thicke and we would NOT discuss anything but him signing Blurred Lines!

MG: HAHA I would turn over my L card for the night and have Channing Tatum come over and we wouldn’t discuss anything. He would just dance like he does in step up. Yes please.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Kind of ironic I know…Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

AS:  The only time I feel conflicted is when I have to write a review for a shitty book.  It breaks my heart .. Authors put so much work into their books and for me to give a bad review is sad .. I feel conflicted like “do I really need to do this” .. but the answer is always yes ..

MG: I don’t get conflicted really. I get conflicted over bad reviews like Ash but honestly if you flip on the news there is going to be a death or somebodies panties on the front page of a magazine. At least when we read erotica, with the sex, and violence, there is usually some sort of HEA to make it worth it. In real life that is usually not the case.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

AS:  in the blink of an eye .. ehh .. I’m gonna go out on a limb here and say that I would change the fact that fiction book boyfriends are just that .. fictional .. change that!!

MG: Make my BBF a reality and no more L card for me! No, honestly I would make every one equal.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online and what draws you to a book?

AS:  SUPER important .. if a cover looks boring I’m not buying it!

MG: The cover doesn’t have that much bearing on me. It’s more or less the synopsis and the recommendations from the Book Girls that I really listen to. And a lot of times we get ARC’s and we need to review them without the cover. So I just go with the flow.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! What drew you to reading and the reviewing?

AS: lack of a social life!  And having to speak my mind NO MATTER WHAT!

MG: I felt the need to escape reality a lot and so I would write about books in Journals all the time. Reading was my alternate reality. I can get lost in all of the books at one point or another and I would review them anyway, just now people read them and take my opinion in to account lol

LH: I send out book requests all the time and a lot of times don’t even get a reply back lol. What book did you get to review that you were like “OMFG” I can’t believe he/she wants ME to review his/her book?

AS:  Ok so I haven’t really had anyone OMFG say hey review my book .. but I have some serious author crushes .. Gail McHugh was blowing up my notifications and said she wanted to frame my conversation with another reader .. this was about Pulse!!  And when Pamela Ann sends me presents just cause .. and SE Hall, Brooke Cumberland and Angela Graham asking me to be a beta!!!  WOWZA .. total lady wood!

MG: When any author sends us or me anything I get like that. I get giddy like “omh they actually want to know what we have to say”… Pamela Ann will send us things and we get so pumped up. My favorite time was when Brooke Cumberland wanted us to review SPARK and we were all in a chat with her the whole time. She wanted to feel what we were feeling as we went along. It was awesome. She also did that with me with KITCHEN AFFAIRS and KITCHEN SCANDALS. It was phenomenal that I could share that with her. Every feeling I was feeling as we were going along.

LH: My favorite book of all times is hands down, The Notebook. What’s yours?

AS:  The Time Travelers Wife – hands down!!  The movie pissed me off

MG: I can’t say 1. I love books. I get lost in them, RRNV is up there. Pulse is up there, Anything Brooke, Anything Pamela Ann. God E.L James who started me into my Kink… I wouldn’t even know where to begin

LH: If you’ve ever read my blog, you’ve seen the page where I fight with Me, Myself and I…it really happens because I’m well, crazy like that. Do you ever fight over book reviews and if so…with whom?

AS:  Manda and I are almost always on the same page with reviews and book tastes .. We’re twin souls!!  But we CONSTANTLY fight over Pamela Ann’s Torn Series .. #TeamCarter!!

MG: BASSWHORE…. that’s all me… We don’t really argue over anything else.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

AS: < ——- Angst Whore

MG: The obstacles that they have to get over to get through to the HEA. For example, In RRNF she has to overcome some horrific and painful obstacles before she actually gets to be with the love of her life. But once she is there, I like the thought of them getting through the problems together instead of apart.  I like feeling that it could be real. That one day I could meet a fancy billionaire and get married off… lol not so much really but hey, wishful thinkin’

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. When do you know you are going to like a book or not?

AS:  First 4 chapters .. that is when I know .. When I hit that point I am either head over heals or not!

MG: First few pages and how it’s written. If I can put music with the scenes in my head, I know I can keep reading and make my own movie with lyrics in my head. I love music and I relate all books to songs (Spark-Brave)

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol How many books do you review in an average week?

AS:  Ok soooo .. I am at least a book a day girl – I probably put out 7-10 reviews a week depending on the length of a book and if I get hooked

MG: Not enough…. probably 4… It depends on how much my job takes from me that week…. cause once I get sucked in, it’s difficult to stop. Even for sleep.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books do you have in your queue to review? Are you taking on new books to review?

AS:  18 plus blog tours we have ARC’s for!  We always take new books!

MG: ^^^^ What she said 🙂 Also, we are starting to bring in author reviewers. We always accept new books.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Why do you review books?

AS:  Because I read them anyway and the best way to thank an author is to give a review!

MG: I am going to give my opinion anyway on a book I read. Why not have everyone else read it at the same time. I have a loud mouth and I like for people to know my opinions…. And if some day a girl/guy reads my review and decides to buy somebodies book, that means I have done a good job.

LH: I am actually afraid to ask for book reviews as I don’t like to bother people and am unsure of their reaction when I tell them the genre. Not everyone reads erotica? What is your least favorite genre and is there anything you will not review?

AS:  I will try anything once!  However, with that being said, I’m not a big fan of fantasy or paranormal

MG: No aliens. I can handle Erotica, Kink, Love, maybe even vampires… but I cannot get down with Aliens and paranormal.. or werewolves

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

AS:  That I started doing this sooner!

MG:Agreed

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

AS:  WOW .. I think I would tell my grandmother how much I loved her!!

MG:  I would tell my Rena not to worry about me.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. If someone you did a book review for said they were offered a movie deal and it was because of your review and they were going to use you in the credits, how would you feel? Who would you tell first?

AS:  HOLY MOTHER HELL!!!  I would jump up and down (I have no shame) .. I would tell Manda .. duhhhh

MG: Oh I would def ship my pants-1, and 2- I would call Ash… Sweet lord then the book girls….

Thanks for that ferociously funny and fascinating interview girls…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?  A – anything with vodka!  M – Vodka
Exercise or Bubble Bath? A- Bath M –  I like to run, however I would love to take a bath if I had time. But really who has time to get down on your knees and scrub a tub after your grimy 8 years old…. I surely do not.
Favorite Color?  A – Pink  M – PINK BAM
Take out or Dine in?  A – Take Out   M – Depends on situation
Camping or Hotel?  A – Hotel  M – I have only EVER liked camping at Camp Dearborn in Michigan, I am more of a hotel with a good bed and a shower kind of girl.
Sports or Chocolate?  A – ummm Football with Chocolate?  M – Sports, hands down college football and baseball… I am a big fan… Now if you catch me on my lady business time, I may or may not cut someone for a fudgsicle while watching baseball.. then I am not to be messed with hahaha
Dogs or Cats? A – Dogs  M – Dog
Favorite Food?  A – cheesecake  M – Everything. I love food.. no beans though, blech
Favorite Song?  A – today it’s Blurred Lines!  M – My summer anthem is Blurred lines for sure, however of all time it’s totally Def Leppard “Pour some sugar on me”… yep I love 80’s.
Favorite Movie? A – Grease  M – oh right this second its Pitch Perfect, however I am sure it will change when 50 shades of Grey comes out. Of all time, there are 3. La Bamba, Dirty Dancing, and Steel Magnolias.
Favorite Car?  A – 94 Mustang GT M – 67 Mustang, cherry red with all white leather interior… or a Hummer H2 SUT.
Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉  A – sex with chocolate  M – Sex dipped in chocolate

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

Ashley – well… Isn’t this an interesting question!!  Ok .. so I would LOVE to go on vacation for a week with my Book Whores (Kim, Candy, Eri, Manda, Jodie, JJ, JC, JHJM, JM, Josie Christina, Brandi, and probably some others I forgot).  I want to go on a book boyfriend hunt, somewhere in Europe (that’s where Pamela Ann says all the smoking hot alpha males hang out).  Maybe venture into some crazy erotica club!!  Better yet, we should take Pam with us, just to be sure we don’t get lost!  I think that would be a super awesome vacation

Manda – I would take ERI, JJ, JH, JM, JC, BETHY, GLOBAL, ASH, KINK, CANDY, CHRISTINA, BRANDI, JODIE, JOSIE and whoever else I missed from our book girls grab a few of our Favorite Authors (Pamela, Brooke, Gail) and would honestly go anywhere, because when all of us girls even have a conversation it’s a good time. Imagine us all out somewhere living it up… It’s bound to be a party… and that’s what life is about.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pop over to Ashley and Manda’s blog 

at

http://www.2chicksnablog.blogspot.com

Lots of AWESOME reading there!

2chicksbanner

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

