Today’s Tease…R.C. Murphy

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease R.C. Murphy

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  R.C. Murphy

Title of the book you are promoting:  Enslaved and In Too Deep

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://justinkpress.com/bookshelf/ebooks/enslaved/

In Too Deep will be out later in August.

 Genre:  Paranormal Romance

Welcome  RCM…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

RCM: I’m going to sound very stereotypical, but I wanted to be a doctor. And if I couldn’t afford the schooling, my contingency plan was acting. Becoming a doctor was out the minute I realized I’d have to deal with dead bodies. Acting lasted into college, where I majored in theatre. However, I started leaning toward the writing side of play production and found my passion in words.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

RCM: I have three writers I credit for inspiring me to write—Stephen King, Laurell K. Hamilton, and Sherrilyn Kenyon. King and Hamilton gave me permission of sorts to let the darkness in my head reign on the page. Kenyon, however, showed me that no matter where I am in life, if I want something bad enough I just need to hold on and keep going.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

RCM: My first novella, Be Ours Forever was self-published . . . with a ton of help from my friend, Jinxie Gervasio. Who happens to be my publisher now through Just Ink Press. It was just one of those things that made sense when we both took a step back after BOF released and looked at where we wanted our work to be down the road. To be honest, I am too scatter-brained to self-publish. It takes a world of focus and discipline, and a truckload of business savvy to publish your own books. I only have that sort of focus when dismembering bodies on the page. It’s a huge weight off my shoulder to have a publisher who understands I’m a dingbat artist type and wrangles me accordingly.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

RCM: Just Ink Press is small enough I don’t feel completely out of my element. If I were to take a book to a bigger company, I’d likely freak out. Okay, I freak out now when I send a manuscript to my publisher and I’ve known her for years. Honestly, I’d probably land in a loony bin after my first interactions with a Big Girl (or Boy) publisher. Like I said earlier, I have to be wrangled a certain way. I’d have to find an extremely understanding agent who could find me an equally understanding publisher.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

RCM: There are a lot of people I’d love to dine with. Benedict Cumberbatch is in my top five. I can’t remember who the others are at the moment, so he wins. I’d try not to talk about his career, everyone eventually gets tired of talking about themselves. I said, “try,” though. After reading a rather lovely interview with him recently, I’ve realized trying to table any sort of conversation just won’t work.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

RCM: I can’t be unbiased here, just to let you know. Sex and violence are what I do in my books—never just for the sake of sex and violence, though. It says something that those words are paired together so often. Humans operate on a wide range of emotions and somehow violence and sexual urges were put at the “extreme” end of the spectrum. Which is strange to me because sex is something natural, beautiful. Yet because of the numerous religions in the world, sex is turned into something on par with murder. Have sex with someone of the same sex? You deserve to burn eternally. Kill your neighbor’s wife? You deserve to burn in hell eternally. We’re so fixated with what happens after we die; the religions of the world take advantage of it. A lot of western cultures, and therefore those who produce the most movies, function of Christian beliefs. Even when the people making it swear they aren’t influenced by Christian morals. Sex is bad—it is ingrained in us early.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

RCM: This is difficult. There are a lot of things I look at daily and think, “If only that’d go away, we’d all be so much happier.” Number one would have to be the blind hatred of homosexuals. If that’d go away, the world would be a much more pleasant place to live in.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

RCM: I’m a cover snob. Even with the prevalence of online shopping, more often than not the first impression we’re given is the cover art. And I’ll tell you, I’ve seen a lot of awful covers that stopped me from even reading the “back cover” text. I tend to think of it as sending your eldest child to their senior prom. You want them to look their best and have fun. Sending them out in a pillowcase with a belt around their waist isn’t going to cut it.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

RCM: Writing snuck up on me around the time I dropped out of college. Being a theatre major wasn’t fulfilling any of my desires for the future. I fell into a depression. It wasn’t a very pleasant time to be around me. Then a friend started feeding me books to read. Through reading, I realized there was a way I could vent everything clouding my mind. I’ve been writing since. It hasn’t been an easy road. There are days when I feel like it is the first time I’ve touched a keyboard. But now that I’ve done it, I know this is what I want to do, for as long as I can.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

RCM: I’m all about what makes characters tick. Seeing how what’s going on around them drives them to certain decisions and actions. What about Person A leads them to kidnap a girl when Person B was put in the same situation and didn’t harm anyone? People are weird, complicated, sometimes so difficult to understand—we’re the perfect puzzle.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

RCM: Each story manifests in a different way. For Enslaved, the last quarter of the book came to me in a dream. In Too Deep and its oh-so-complicated plot kinda knocked on my brain one afternoon and laid out something so neat, I knew I had to do it. Often for short stories, they start with one line repeating in my head until the characters show up to claim it. Basically, I sit around and think way too much.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

RCM: Last week I turned in the manuscript for In Too Deep. While I wait for my publisher and editor to work their magic, I’m plotting out book two in the Inbetween series. Don’t have a title for it yet, but all of the characters people loved from Enslaved are clamoring to get on the page again.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

RCM: I’ve written three books and a ton of short stories. Two of the books are published, one is set to come out within the next month or so. I have one short zombie story out in the anthology, Undead Uncensored. Another short, a ghost story, is in an anthology due out later this year.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

RCM: If you’re writing fiction for money, you’re in the wrong business. While getting paid helps—I am the epitome of a starving artist at times—it isn’t what drives me to spend twelve hour days glued to my computer. I write because it is the only thing that keeps me sane. Everything I can’t say or do as myself goes on the page. It is how I cope with my not so savory side. Pretty sure the main reason my family continues to support my writing is because it does make me a much nicer person.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

RCM: Like I said before, my family is utterly supportive. My mother and nephew, who live with me, cheer me on in their own way—whether it is pitching in to do the dishes on nights where a deadline is breathing down my neck, or providing bags of gummy bears to snack on while I work. Friends come in two groups usually, the supportive and the ones waiting for me to “grow up” and get a real job. I don’t blame the latter group. They’re just the ones I don’t go to on days when I’m feeling like a hack writer and that I’ve made a mistake with my life. I know it’s a phase, part of the emotional landmines writers sometimes stomp in. I don’t want to give anyone the opportunity to talk me out of something that makes me so happy.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

RCM: I don’t have writer’s block. I have depression. There are days when I sit at my desk, ready to tackle the next chapter then something happens and I can’t do anything. Literally. It is really difficult sometimes to keep on schedule with a manuscript when I have a bad span of time with depression. My only rule is, I have one day to feel sorry for myself. On day two, I must make some sort of forward progress on the manuscript. That’s what it is all about, getting words on the page. I can always go back and edit.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

RCM: A good friend is working on his first book. He tends to be my sounding board for all the good advice I never take myself. The number one thing I tell him is, “Just keep writing.” Get it all out on the page. For your first attempt, it isn’t going to be brilliant. It may never see the light of day again. But you’ll never know until the words are out of your head and on the page where someone else can read them and help you along whatever path you wish the book to take—to the trunk or to a publisher.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

RCM: It has taken me years to live without regrets, to accept that all the horrible and difficult things I’ve survived make me who I am. These trials give me great insight into the world that I use for my writing. Without that pain, I wouldn’t be here. Same with the good things. I wouldn’t change anything.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

RCM: I’d totally pull a “Doctor Who” and visit artists who like me struggle with emotional disorders. Sometimes you just need someone who understands to look at you and say, “In the end, it was all worth it. You’re not crazy. You aren’t alone. There’s more of us out there, making art from our pain. People will come to love you, respect you, admire and be inspired by the work you’ve done. Thank you for being true to yourself.” It may not change anything, but for a moment these people know they’re loved in some way.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

RCM: It’s hard to know how I’d handle it. I think in the end, it’d depend on the people working with me to adapt the book. And yes, I would be involved in some way. They can’t run off with my babies and do things with them willy-nilly. Anne Rice allowed them to make Queen of the Damned that way and I’m sure she is still kicking herself for all the things they got wrong. As for who I’d tell? My mother. We’re so close. I can’t keep anything from her. Anytime book news comes in, she’s the first to know.

Thank you for that frank and fun interview RCM…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Oolong tea.

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Exercise. Sometimes I just need to be physically exhausted.

Favorite Color? Black. Like my soul. Ha ha!

Take out or Dine in? Dine in.

Camping or Hotel? Hotel. I love nature, but my body does not like sleeping on the ground.

Sports or Chocolate? Why can’t I have both? Not fair.

Dogs or Cats? I’m an all animal person. Except reptiles. They can bugger off.

Favorite Food? Frozen yogurt.

Favorite Song? Impossible to say. It changes with my mood.
Favorite Movie? Labyrinth. Or Beetlejuice. Or 10 Things I Hate About You.

Favorite Car? Not much of a car person.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Sex. Chocolate is great, but not as great as good sex.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

RCM: I’d take my BFF to Vegas for a week. We’d have to have an unlimited budget, for sure. Being broke in Vegas is like going to an all-you-can-eat seafood buffet after getting a gastric bypass—you get to look at all the good things and maybe lick them. Not that I’d want us to go around Vegas licking things. We’d come home with the bloody plague! But . . . yeah. I’m sure we’d do things. Drink and gamble and find places to dance. Honestly, when I go on vacation it is more about being away from work and home. Very rarely do I have a solid plan. 

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of R.C. Murphy’s

Enslaved and In Too Deep

at

http://justinkpress.com/bookshelf/ebooks/enslaved/

picture008 Enslaved Final Cover-sm

1 Comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

One response to “Today’s Tease…R.C. Murphy

Leave a Reply

