Today’s Tease…Stephen Landry

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with  Today’s Tease Stephen Landry

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Stephen Landry

Title of the book you are promoting:  Deep Darkness

Link to purchase your Book:  http://igg.me/at/DeepDarkness/x/3892584

Genre:  Science fiction / horror / military

Other Special Talents we should know about: I am a graphic designer with a 4 year degree, mixed media (acrylic, graffiti, chalk, sketch, etc) artist, and indie filmmaker. I also like to consider myself a professional video gamer J I’ve play tested several video games and even helped work on the artwork for a few mobile releases. 

Welcome  SL…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

SL: I always wanted to be a film director. George Lucas was my greatest inspiration growing up. I still have a “Star Wars” collection of over a hundred figures and ships at my parents house that I am hoping to pass to my kids one day.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

SL: China Mieville. His work blew my mind. The worlds he created from nothing were amazing. I knew after reading some of his works that writing a book was the best outlet for my overactive imagination.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

SL: Self published. I currently have some short stories on smashwords and a few other various websites.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

SL: I would love to work with a traditional publisher because it would give me more time to write and world build.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

SL: Guillermo Del Toro and we would not discuss politics.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. It’s kind of ironic that we’re in the business of selling sex and violence. Ever feel conflicted and if so why?

SL: I agree. It is conflicting. It feels like a double standard in a way. I think people do use media as an outlet though. A lot of my story is about overcoming violence and hardship as much as it is about survival.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

SL: If world peace is on the table then that is a must. Otherwise I wouldn’t children to go hungry.

LH: A little birdie told me you are a graphic artist…in fact, I know you did a beautiful book cover for my book “A Beautiful Liar” How did you get into that and is that your only artistic talent?

SL: I have been drawing since I was in diapers … it was mostly on the walls with crayons back then but after that it turned to spray paint then somehow shifted into CD covers, book covers, websites, t shirts and all things graphic design. I also shoot short films, work in vfx, and I can play guitar, bass, and drums.

LH: My mother was a wonderful artist; I however, cannot draw a stick figure! Where did your artistic ability come from or are you self taught? Will you indulge us with some of your favorite work?

SL: My mother is an amazing artist so I have to contribute that to her. I have also had training at a fine art college where I would paint, sketch, and design things forty hours a week.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start? When did you decide that you wanted to start doing covers as well?

SL: I have been writing all my life. Deep Darkness is my first “real” novel though. I have always wanted create worlds and characters for other people to escape into.

I actually just started doing covers last year when a certain sound designer (that worked on Batman Begins) asked me to design a book cover for him. It was a great experience and I had so much fun with it I began taking on other opportunities. Indie authors are the best to work with hands down.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

SL: I am a huge fan of world building. Fantasy, science fiction, alternative fiction, steampunk, etc. All the greats create living breathing worlds down to the last detail, BUT if the story doesn’t have interesting characters and depth then all that world building is in vain.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

SL: My stories play out in my head like movies. A lot of what my characters experience though are things that reflect my own life with the exception of the alien worlds, giant monsters, and space travel of course. Though I did sign up for the Mars mission. (application taken into consideration)

There are certain parts in Deep Darkness that the main character see’s into the past through another characters perspective. That character from world war 2 and his perspective is based on my grandfather and other war veterans I have had the absolute honor of meeting.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

SL: I am working on a project with two other talented authors. We’re writing a science fiction book together.

LH: I’m working on #6…5 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

SL: I have published several short stories online and a novella. The first book I ever actually wrote I made when I was twelve. It was eighty pages and all about mechs fighting demons and other mechs in space . Only my parents get to read that one though. I have also written several short films some of which have been produced by independent companies and film scripts.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

SL: Fun

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

SL: My family loves my creative side and I get it all from them but sometimes I know it’s scary for them. Some of my stuff can be dark. I have used writing as a release to cope with one of my friend’s death and that always makes it difficult. For the most part all my friends are just as creative as me so there is a great balance and support structure there. Many of us work on projects together.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

SL: I’v never had writers block… Maybe the opposite where I map out a thousand different ways a story could go. I have books filled with unused plot lines, deleted scenes, etc.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

SL: Don’t ever EVER give up. Don’t let other writers get to you. Believe in yourself. Believe in your work. If it is something you enjoy reading and doing someone else will enjoy it with you.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

SL: I would have saved some people.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

SL: I would go back in time and tell one of my friends how much he meant to me. How much I would miss him. I would tell him he was like a brother to me and helped me in more ways then he would ever know how.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

SL: Once my novel Deep Darkness is published I am hoping to turn it into a feature whether that is live action or animated is still a ways off but I am brainstorming with several different studios now on various ways to do it. I am also working with a group of local artists/creatives to make a short film/movie pitch that we’re going to release either around the end of this year or the beginning of next.

Thanks for that fun and fascinating interview SL…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Huge fan of a homemade Mocha Frappe (mocha, vanilla ice cream, milk, and a pinch of sugar blended together with a small amount of crushed ice)

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble bath 🙂

Favorite Color? Blue… no green… no red… black

Take out or Dine in? Dine in.

Camping or Hotel? Camping

Sports or Chocolate? Depends on the sports. I enjoy skateboarding, snowboarding, and other extreme sports. I also consider racing, drifting, and video gaming a sport. J but I don’t like football, soccer, or baseball – they just aren’t for me.

Dogs or Cats? BOTH. I have both. I have a shepherd/husky mix and a Siamese mix

Favorite Food? Flatbread pizza

Favorite Song? Anything NIN, Tool, Deftones, Palms, Isis, A Perfect Circle, Imagine Dragons, Animal Collective, Bright Eyes, Tegan and Sara, etc. No one song can do it has to be a playlist.

Favorite Movie? Apocalypse Now, Hellboy, Dredd, Oblivion, 28 Days Later, Pans Labyrinth, Hunter Prey –  again there are way too many to name.

Favorite Car? I own it. 😉 Subaru WRX

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Both

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

SL: I hate essay questions. I always draw here on tests. 😉

O I o

____

U

Australia and it would be with my girlfriend aka the love of my life and muse for over three years. We would explore the outback.

 Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Stephen Landry’s

Deep Darkness

at

http://igg.me/at/DeepDarkness/x/3892584

where Stephen is also running an indiegogo campaign! Check it out!

531756_10151553380116138_865017695_n 980412_10151662007631138_170094218_o Erebus-longbanner IMG_20120909_172348 IMG_20120911_043119 IMG_20120914_222134 IMG_20130615_112934 monsters-red trepp-black

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “Today’s Tease…Stephen Landry

  1. I was excited to find this page. I wanted to thank you
    for ones time for this fantastic read!! I definitely savored every little bit of it and i
    also have you saved to fav to see new stuff in your web site.

Leave a Reply

