Today’s Tease….Raven McAllan

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Raven McAllan

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Raven McAllan

Title of the book you are promoting:  Impulse

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://authl.it/B00CLTRTF2

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-impulse-1259522-340.html

Genre:  Contemporary paranormal romance

Welcome  RM…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

Hi there and thanks for inviting me.

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

RM: I think it changed every week. At one point it was a weather lady, and another a rally driver.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

RM: I’m the same as you here. I just like words and the way they can all come together and create pictures in your mind.  I suppose my dad was an influence as much as anyone or anything as he gave me my love of reading, and always said I could do anything if I put my mind to it.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

RM: Oh I’m with several publishers. Considering I was though to be good at grammar at school, my command of colons, comma’s and ellipses is horrendous. My publishers (and editors at every level, cover artists etc.) put in so much work to get my books from my head to yours. I appreciate all they do and know my limitations. I might be wrong, but it seems to me that how we use grammar has changed over the years.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

RM: My great aunt, and why she thought I was pregnant. (I wasn’t but she was ever hopeful)

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

RM: I agree, but I’m not much of a one for watching films, or T.V. I get bored and fidget. The family think I’m strange.

As you say, it’s strange because I write erotic romance, so of course there’s sex in there. but I can’t write what I’d call ‘nasty’. There’s enough of all that in reality. Life to me is too short to read it, and anyway I’d get nightmares. I’m a wuss.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

RM: Man’s inhumanity to man.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

RM: Like you say, not as much as they were, but they still need to reflect the story, and not repel you. Even as an eBook, I’ve seen a few covers and thought ‘oh no thank you’.   However I still love the thrill of holding a paper and cover book and smelling the new pages Do you think they could add that to an ereader?

I don’t think we’ll lose bookstores, although they are getting less and less.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

RM: I wrote as a child, but it got drummed out of me at senior school. It wasn’t really until a few years ago when I met the New Zealand author Robyn Donald on holiday there, and she told me just to go for it. I did, it was awful, and then I realized I wasn’t writing as I could, I was writing as I thought I should. Once that changed it was all systems go.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

RM: No, idea, I’m a character driven pantster. I never know where I’m going to be taken, even though I have a rough idea where I’ll end.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

RM: Yeah a super secret something… to be revealed around end of September.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

RM: Now this made me go and look. Well over 40, if you count my Y.A as J. Lilley, so by the end of September I’ll have reached my half century. Wow, oh my goodness, I’ll need a party for that. I have three or four due out in the next couple of months, and well yeah I’ll let you know when I do the big reveal.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

RM: I write because I couldn’t not write. It’s more than fun, but it’s certainly not for the money. Although the email that comes from pay pal and says royalties are in is very welcome.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

RM: My daughter freaking out in case her friends realized what I write. (They all know and couldn’t care less). When I first started having work published, someone told someone else my books plural were disgusting, to which the reply was …so she must have read them all to know that then.

The worst thing, is because you’re at home, people don’t always accept you do have discipline, do sit down to write x number of hours, and don’t drink coffee and eat biscuits all day… not all day anyway.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

RM: No, I just have days when I think I’ll play hooky. But if I did, I’d just write something else, anything I guess, just to get words flowing.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

RM: Write as you can not as you think you should. You’re voice is just that, yours.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

RM: Not to bite my nails as a kid.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

RM: My ‘reditor’ Doris O’Connor, my DH, and my mate June, all in one simultaneous email. And I’d send them the email and get them to check with me to see if it was a hoax! Then I’d warn the kids!

Thank you for that fun and eye opening interview RM…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Fizz or weak black tea
Exercise or Bubble Bath? Oh Bubble Bath. Exercise is a chore, the bubble bath is a necessity!
Take out or Dine in? Dine out if it’s worth it… I’d rather cook for a month and have one perfect meal out, than eat out a lot and it be just okay.
Camping or Hotel? Hotel, I’ve done the camping route, got the t-shirt and scars to prove it.
Sports or Chocolate? Oh silly question, I’m the most uncoordinated person ever.
Dogs or Cats? Cats at home, dogs to walk with.
Favorite Food? Is chocolate a food?
Favorite Song? Mrs. Robinson.
Favorite Movie? Bull Durham
Favorite Car? Well I’d like to say my Mazda MX5, but I’d love a Ferrari.
Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Good.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

RM: I’m really boring you know? I love traveling, but I love traveling with my DH. You see if it was someone else, like Mr. Depp for instance, well I’d be conscious of my age, shape and hair roots. What fun is there in having to hold my stomach in and worry if my grey hairs were showing? Now don’t get me wrong, I’d do that anyway with DH, but he loves me, flabby bits and all.

So I’d go with him, and we’d travel to some of our favorite places without telling anyone where we were. (Sorry kids)

So I’d start off in Honk Kong, then Singapore. Fly to Vietnam and go to Halong Bay and spend a night on a junk. Walk the Great Wall of China at Simitai (and I wouldn’t lose my bottle this time), and go to the Sacred Hills. Spend time in Western Australia and paddle with the rays, and go to New Zealand to enjoy the Bay of Islands. Then whale watch in South Africa. I’d end up in the Caribbean, and island hop. I’d forget about weighing scales, Gluten free food, and watching the wine intake, and enjoy the food and drink of each land.

Finally a wee stop over in New York, to sit in Grand Central Station and drink fizz and admire the ceiling.

Actually can I have a month or two and add in Greece, Morocco, and Italy? Or South America (where I’ve never been.)

And as all that would take much to long, I’ll have a week in Rothman Manor Swellendam, thank you. 

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copies of Raven McAllan’s

Impulse

at

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-impulse-1259522-340.html

Impulse final-sm

raven avatar

5 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

5 responses to “Today’s Tease….Raven McAllan

  1. Oh it was so much fun doing his. I hope it makes sense 😉

  2. Cheeers Samantha, Leanna made me think!

Leave a Reply

