Today’s Tease…Jaime Buncie

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Jaime Buncie

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Jaime Buncie

Title of the book you are promoting:  Makagromme

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.amazon.com/Makagromme-ebook/dp/B00DYVYA1W/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1374732313&sr=8-1

Genre:  Fantasy/Paranormal/Adventure

Welcome  JB…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

JB: I wanted to be a chef on a cruise ship, actually. Life kind of got in the way.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

JB: I met a bunch of INDIE writers on facebook recently, and just decided to do it. I had a story in my brain that was itching to get out, so I wrote some of it down. It ended up being Makagromme.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

JB: I’m am INDIE!!!

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

JB: Eventually I would, but for now, I’m happy being Indie. A lot of people are gravitating toward Indies now.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies!      Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

JB: I would invite Stephen King and NOT discuss scary clowns…I hate clowns.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

JB: They blame Hollywood, but there are more stories about sex and violence in the NEWS. As long as we explain to kids as they grow up that movies are MOVIES, not real, then maybe it would be better.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

JB: I agree with world peace. I’m sick of us losing people in the wars that are, in my mind, pointless. Can’t we all just get along?

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

JB: I think the cover draws the eye. No one wants to look through an online store and just see words. You want to see what you are buying.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

JB: I was the reader growing up. I didn’t start serious writing until about 2 years ago, when I was 35.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

JB: If I can read a story and it plays in my mind with me as the main character, then I’ll finish reading it. The writing is the most important thing. If I’m not hooked by a certain point, then I won’t finish or be as attached.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

JB: Almost the same way. Makagromme came to me as I was thinking about adventures. I was getting into reading all these Paranormal and Fantasy books and Makagromme formed. I had to get it out. Once I started serious writing on it, I only wrote for about a month and it was done.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

JB: I am currently working on book 2 of the Gromme series, Erkogromme.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

JB: I’ve only completed one book so far, but 6 are planned for this series with a mini or two. Only Maka was published so far.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

JB: I write to get the story out there. I haven’t sold many, and being an Indie, we don’t make money on it. At least nothing to write home about…so it’s not for the money.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

JB: I was so afraid of disappointing my family with my writing style. My mother bought 2 books because it was me, you know? But when she finished it, she ordered 4 more and texted me to tell me that it was awesome. Plus, my older sister ordered a copy the day I published. She doesn’t care if it’s good, I’m her little sister. I hope she likes it, though.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

JB: Oh, definitely. It’s the bane of our existence. To get over it, I take a day off, then I go back and edit what I had written so far. Sometimes I edit 3-4 times before the pace comes back. I have one person who is my character influence and talking to him helps as well. He’s come up with some very good ideas for his personal character, and that always prompts me to get more.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

JB: Don’t give up. It’s discouraging not having many sales, but the ones that have it love it. You never know how people are going to react, but don’t EVER let it stop you. And I got a 3 star review on a book I knew was gold, but the comments left for it are freakin incredible. A lot of people are not 5-star reviewers, so don’t worry about it.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

JB: I would have started writing sooner. Everything else can stay. My marriage, my kids, all that can stay the same.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

JB: I would tell Elvis to stay away from the fried peanut butter and banana sandwiches.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

JB: I would probably crap my pants first. Then I would call my mom. Then I would send a message to James Dashner who is on my friends list, and ask him how he dealt with it.

Thanks for that funny and insightful interview JB…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? COFFEE!!!
Exercise or Bubble Bath? Um….neither. I’m fat and lazy and not one of those “bath” people
Favorite Color? Blue
Take out or Dine in? Delivery
Camping or Hotel? Hotel. I’m a little girl when it comes to bugs.
Sports or Chocolate? BOTH!!!!!! At the same time!!!
Dogs or Cats? I like both, but mostly I’ve had cats my whole life.
Favorite Food? Pizza
Favorite Song? For Crying Out Loud by Meat Loaf
Favorite Movie? Lord of the Rings  Trilogy
Favorite Car? Anything fast
Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Both actually…but more chocolate I guess…

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

JB: Isn’t that a bit redundant? If no one would find out about it, I shouldn’t tell you. But I will…I would want to go to New Zealand to meet Peter Jackson and his wife, take a tour of Weta Workshop, and meet all the actors that have ever graced the screen for Lord of the Rings. I’m a nerd, so that would be right up my alley. Oh, and I’d ask Peter Jackson if he could put me in one of his movies, or if he’d like to direct the one that will probably be made from my books one day… 😉

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Jaime Buncie’s 

Makagromme

at

http://www.amazon.com/Makagromme-ebook/dp/B00DYVYA1W/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1374732313&sr=8-1

makamoon2 jaimeauthor

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

