Today’s Tease…NL “Jinxie” Gervasio

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease NL “Jinxie” Gervasio

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  NL “Jinxie” Gervasio

Title of the book you are promoting:  Nemesis: A Kick-Ass Girls Club novel

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://justinkpress.com/bookshelf/ebooks/nemesis/

Genre:  Contemporary Romance

Welcome  JG…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

JG: Oh my. Well, teacher, police officer, firefighter, gymnast, singer, dancer, baseball player (yes, you read that correctly), mother, artist, and the list goes on. With my writing, I get to be any and all of them, since I became none of them, though it wasn’t through a lack of trying. I suppose I am an artist in a way, with being an author, but it’s completely different than what I’d intended. However, I do get to show off my artistic skills with book covers.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

JG: Shakespeare and Edgar Allan Poe were my primary influences, and then Stephen King, Patricia Briggs, and my imagination continued my fascination with writing. I have an incredibly over-active imagination with story lines constantly running through my mind, until one day I finally decided, “Hey, I should write this stuff down!”

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

JG: I’m an Indie author, but I run Just Ink Press, LLC and publish other authors. I guess it’s been a dream of mine for the past 10 or so years. I only wish I’d known what I was doing 10 years ago because I’d have had one of the first and successful eBook publishing companies around.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

JG: I do have a trilogy that I’ll query to agents because I’d like to have at least one book published traditionally for the publication credit and to have that experience tucked in my little bag of tricks.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

JG: Oh my God, that’s a difficult one to answer! Can I pick one of each? If so, I’ll start with…

Dead: Vincent Price, and we would NOT discuss his films, but art because I know he was a huge art fan.

Living: Vin Diesel, and anything we discussed would be just fine with me as long as he kept talking because I love listening to his voice.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

JG: Hmm…perhaps you shouldn’t read Nemesis then. LOL I do agree with you, however. Society, with each generation, is becoming desensitized to it all and that only makes it worse and produces it on a grander scale. But, I also believe we are a lot more civilized than we once were. There seems to be some sort of weird balance occurring.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

JG: I’d cure cancer, plain and simple. Too many of my family members and people I’ve known and loved have died from it.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

JG: First, I’d just like to say that if my local Barnes & Noble closes, as well as Changing Hands (an independent bookstore), I will riot! I don’t believe they will become obsolete, either. That being said, yes, I do believe book covers are extremely important. Not “everything,” but definitely important. If the cover is spectacular, but the writing is horrible, I’m going to want a full refund (though I never return eBooks and don’t understand people who return a $0.99 book). For me, when choosing a book, it goes a little like this: title grabs my attention first, then the cover decides if I’m going to look at the “back blurb,” and then if I like that, I’ll open to read the first page. If I’m not hooked a page and a half into it, I’ll put it back on the “shelf.” Carrie Vaughn had me sitting in the middle of the aisle at B&N with her first Kitty book, and I grabbed the first four of the series that day.

So yes, cover is important, but it’s only part of the process that’ll get me to buy your book.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

JG: I wrote my very first book when I was eight-years-old. My maternal grandmother had bought me a typewriter (remember those days? HA!), and taught me how to type (both of my grandmothers were secretaries at Arizona State University). From there, I just started creating the stories that were always filling my head and keeping me distracted in school. I didn’t write my first actual novel until 20 years later, though I did write a lot of poetry in high school.

Side note…LH remembers manual typewriters, carbon paper and when you had to put a “file” in a filing cabinet 😉

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

JG: The action and development of the characters. I love to watch them grow and learn. It’s an important aspect of the book.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

JG: The movie in my head is exactly what I see and write down, rewinding and fast-forwarding when I need to. It’s a wonderful thing! The ideas for the stories come from everywhere. I don’t believe in muses, per se, but Life gives me a lot of ideas. The weather, a shooting star, a child’s smile, a hummingbird, a butterfly, a dreadful storm, my mother, a random person I meet out in the world. Anything and everything has the potential to become a story.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

JG: I’m just about to start editing my third vamp book, Gemini, which is long overdue. If I tell you anything else, my assassin ninja vamp Shawn will have to kill you.

LH: I’m working on #7…5 are published and the other 2 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

JG: I’ve completed six novels total, have rewritten or am rewriting a few, and currently have three published. I’ll be in a couple of anthologies soon, and expect to have another book released in the next couple of months.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

JG: Always write for fun, it’s when I’m the most creative. I’ve written for money and it’s insanity to me. My thing is that I just really want people to read my stories and hopefully enjoy them.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

JG: Promotion, to be honest. Getting them to say, “Hey! This is my niece/cousin/friend/whatever and her book is awesome” or the like is like pulling teeth, even for the publishing company. Surprisingly, the most flack I caught for one of my books came from a reader who *thought* she knew me, but really didn’t. My friends absolutely LOVED my book Nemesis, where yes, I put a lot of myself into Nemy, but there are a lot of Nemy’s qualities that I wish I had. But the people who have known me for 30+ years never once got mad at me for putting so much of myself into that character, and they each fully expect they’ll end up in one of my novels someday, if they haven’t already.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

JG: I recently finished my B.A. in English, and after having my nose stuck in college books and theory and technical writing, it’s been extremely difficult to get my creative juices flowing again. So I’ve been copy editing a lot for Shannon Mayer because her books make me want to work on my own.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

JG: Keep writing, learn the craft before trying to break the rules, keep writing, hire an editor, and don’t let naysayers get you down and destroy your dreams, and keep writing. A writer will never quit, regardless of what is said or done to them. That’s how you know you’re a writer.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

JG: I’d go back and tell myself to start writing books sooner.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

JG: I’d go back and tell one of my grandfathers to buy as much land as they could in Scottsdale, AZ. LOL

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

JG: I’d say BRING IT! And I would tell my mother first, because if I didn’t, she would kill me.

Thank you for that thoughtful and informative interview JG…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Mocha Frappuccino, no whip, double blended. Oh, did you mean alcoholic? Wine. Moscato. Period.

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Seeing as how I can’t actually fit my six-foot frame into a standard size tub, exercise. LOL

Favorite Color? I’m an artist. There is no one favorite.

Take out or Dine in? Dine in. I’m a fabulous cook!

Camping or Hotel? Hotel!!!

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate, which is why I need to exercise.

Dogs or Cats? I’m definitely a dog person. Lost the last of my pack a year ago, but now have a rat disguising itself as a dog running around my house for some reason.

Favorite Food? Oh God, I’m a foodie, so this is difficult! My Red Clam Sauce with angel hair pasta, Caesar salad, garlic toast, and a nice bottle of cabernet. Oh, and tiramisu for dessert.

Favorite Song? This changes periodically, but right now it’s “The High Road” by Three Days Grace, and surprisingly not a Nine Inch Nails (fave band) song. It’s fine because that particular song has sparked a major plot development in my second Kick-Ass Girls Club book, Assassin.

Favorite Movie? This changes too, but I’m a sucker for a Riddick movie and there’s a new one out in September. How about Pitch Black?

Favorite Car? Fiat 500, which is what I’ll be buying next, though I do love my Avalanche.

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Both, of course. =)

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

JG: Anyplace tropical with the man of my dreams, whoever he is. LOL Can I take Vin Diesel? I don’t think I need to explain what we’d be doing.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of NL “Jinxie” Gervasio’s

Nemesis: A Kick-Ass Girls Club novel

at

http://justinkpress.com/bookshelf/ebooks/nemesis/

nemesis-vii-4

32635_649101468439249_1384132143_n 1005086_10151792085493313_1227161801_n Jinxie_G IMG_20130715_180528

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “Today’s Tease…NL “Jinxie” Gervasio

  1. Thanks for having me here today, lady! =) This was fun!!!

Leave a Reply

