Today’s Tease…T.T. Escurel

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease T.T. Escurel

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  T.T. Escurel

Title of the book you are promoting:  The House of Rose, The Conservancy & Havoc

(All from my 3 book, 3 week challenge)

 Link to purchase your Book:  Amazon.com/author/ttescurel

 Genre:  Teen & Young Adult, Fantasy/Romance (The House of Rose), Fantasy/Humor (Havoc), Science Fiction/Time Travel (The Conservancy)

Welcome  TTE…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

TTE: A marine biologist.  I grew up on a sailboat, so it was pretty much a given.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

TTE: Ditto.  I mean, I loved reading and all, but I never thought I would be a writer.  Then, one day I sat down and started writing.  Like 20k words later, I started wondering how long is a book?  Five weeks later, done.  That was eight years ago.  Haven’t stopped writing since.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

TTE: Indie.  I do everything.  Editing, layouts, cover art and design, the works.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

TTE: Yes, for one reason and one reason only.  I really want to be a member of SFWA and you need at least one work traditionally published for that.  Stupid requirements… ;_;

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

TTE: Ray Bradbury (RIP).  I saw him at comic con once and he was just the nicest, most interesting guy.  I think I would just sit there and listen to him talk.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

TTE: I think every generation perceives it differently.  Parts of society get more lewd or violent and in contrast, other parts get prudish, like a constant game of tug of war.  WWII era calendar girls?  That would be considered offensive now.  I think the difference is that we are seeing much more of the darker side of society in films and television, if not reveling in it.  Look at reality T.V.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

TTE: War.  War is stupid.  Seriously, everyone has forgotten the careful art of strategy.  Chess in politics has been replaced by tonka trucks and building blocks.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

TTE: I think my covers are my first line of defense.  It is the “cheapest” form of advertising out there.  Lots of people, myself included, cave when at the check out and we see something shiny.  Book covers can be that twinkle in the sand that makes you stop and see what could lurk beneath.  Is it a diamond?  Or a rusty bottle cap?

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

TTE: I hated writing.  I mean, I was really good at it, but I always had to write for school.  Essays, book reports, up to full papers in college.  So, really, I hated being forced to write.

Not a month after I graduated from college, I wrote my first book.  *sigh*

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

TTE: Plots are always predictable for me.  I don’t do it intentionally, but I just know where the story is going.  Anyway, I love a surprise.  My most recent surprise was from Neil Gaiman’s Ocean at the End of the Lane.  Just a small bit at the end of the book in the epilogue, but I didn’t see it coming.  I love that.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

TTE: Yeah, me too.  I follow along behind my character’s shoulder, writing everything down as it happens as frantically as possible.  Sometimes my characters balk at me.  I am totally not in control, alas.  One character even yelled at me for not helping in a fight.  I’m the writer, not a hired gun!  Sheesh.  ^_^

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

TTE: Yes.  Always working… always… ;_;

LH: I’m working on #6…5 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

TTE: Ha ha.  Yeah, that sounds like me.  I just published 3.  I have three due out Spring 2014.  I will probably write at least one for Nanowrimo.  I have eight years of back catalogue.  Too many books!  *collapses under a pile of manuscripts*

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

TTE: Fun?  Uh, sure, fun.  It’s more like a compulsion for me.  When I get an idea, I have to write.  I space out.  I can’t hold conversations.  As for publishing, well… I do it for pretty much the same reason all authors do… deep down, we want someone to read our book.  Even those that do it for the money… they could have done ANYTHING else.  Rap, sports, youtube cat videos… That’s why I can’t believe that anyone would write exclusively for the money (even though I know they do).

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

TTE: Nothing but support.  I am lucky.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

TTE: Never had it.  *knock on wood* My brain won’t let me rest in between ideas.  Occasionally, when I walk down the wrong path in a story, I hit the “don’t want to” wall.  I could push past, but my writing turns to crap after that, so why bother?  I start another book and come back when it is ready.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

TTE: Write for you.  Make yourself laugh or cry or scream and throw the book across the room.  Try not to do that with your computer.  As long as you can look back on a piece of writing and read it and love it, writing is never a waste.  If you can’t like your own writing, how can you expect others to?

Oh, and one last thing.  Finish your book.  Whatever it takes.  Even if the ending is crappy and reminiscent of a Monty Python sketch ditch out… FINISH.  It is hard to start a new idea if an old one is still haunting you from the dark recesses of your mind.  Plus, you will carry that doubt with you to that next work.  I always finish and I always have to rewrite the ending anyway.  Moral: FINISH.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

TTE: Nothing.  Good and bad, I’m me.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

TTE: I would tell myself to stop worrying, someone will read your books.  Since one of my stories is time travel, I have thought about this question a lot.  Then again, I also realized that I would change nothing about the past because it has created today.  Even if certain founding fathers could use a talking to.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

TTE: Scream.  Cry.  Wonder how they’ll get it right.  Worry about how they’ll get it wrong.  Contemplate my place in the universe.  Wonder who I should punch if they totally mess it up…

Thanks for that informative and revealing interview TTE…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?  Tea

Exercise or Bubble Bath?  Bubble Bath FTW

Favorite Color? Blue

Take out or Dine in? Take out

Camping or Hotel? Hotel 75% Camping 25% Hot water ❤

Sports or Chocolate?  Chocolate

Dogs or Cats? Both!

Favorite Food?  Rare steak yum!

Favorite Song?  How can anyone answer this one honestly?  At the moment, I have Anna Kendrick doing Cups in my head.  It may morph into Disturbed’s Pain Redefined at any moment.

Favorite Movie?  Hard to pick.  I have a best 10 list.  Maybe X-men First Class.

Favorite Car?  Mercedes SLR McLaren

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉  Both, of course.

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

TTE: I wasn’t kidding about my aversion to essay prompts!  *shudder*  *collapse*

My Blog: ttescurel.wordpress.com

I’m doing a giveaway on Goodreads for The House of Rose.  You can win one of five signed copies and a chance to name a character in the sequel.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up all of T.T. Escurel’s work

at

 

http://www.amazon.com/T.T.-Escurel/e/B00EAHPJKKConservancy Cover Havoc Cover House of Rose Cover self

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

