Today’s Tease…Kat Flannery

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Kat Flannery

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Kat Flannery

Title of the book you are promoting:  LAKOTA HONOR

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://www.amazon.com/Lakota-Honor-ebook/dp/B00D0S530G

Genre:  Historical, paranormal, western, suspense, romance

Welcome  KF…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

KF: I always thought I’d be a news anchor. I could picture myself sitting behind the desk with the blue screen behind me and telling the locals the news.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career? 

KF: Me either. Writing for me was a way to express myself when I was younger. I loved to write poems, lyrics (even though I can’t sing) and short stories. But I knew then that I wanted to write books. I wanted to touch people through words and stories.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

KF: I’m traditionally published. I signed a contract with Imajin Books in June of 2011 for my first novel CHASING CLOVERS.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

KF: Oh, I love Johnny Depp too! But if I was granted this one wish I’d invite Jane Austen, or Leonardo D’ Vinci. I’d like a first account of what their lives were like. I’m getting goose bumps just thinking about it.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it?

KF: I agree with you, but I also think that we allow these things to influence us even when we know right from wrong.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

KF: World Peace a million times over.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

KF: I still think the cover plays a key role in selling books. Whether online or on a book shelf you’re first impression of the book is its cover.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?                            

KF: Yes, I started telling stories when I was five and I haven’t stopped since. J

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?                                                           

KF: The characters. I like three dimensional characters that have real emotions and problems.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories? 

KF: I get it spurts over a week or two. Once I have the plot and characters I write.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

KF: No, I’m taking a break until mid Sept. I just finished releasing LAKOTA HONOR and am getting ready to release HAZARDOUS UNIONS with author Alison Bruce due out Sept 7th 2013. It is about twin sisters separated by the civil war. Alison writes one sisters story and I the other.                     LH: I’m working on #6…5 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

KF: I’ve written three books, and all have been published with Imajin Books.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

KF: Adrian Meade says it best, ‘I write because I have to’ Some days it’s fun and others not so much, but writing for me is like breathing…it’s a part of who I am.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

KF: On occasion. When I cannot write I research. Since I write historical, research is key, and I always have way more than I need, but reading about the past usually gets my muse going and I can write again.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

KF: Never give up and learn to take criticism. If you believe in yourself others will too.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

KF: Absolutely nothing. I’ve had my fair of rejections while looking for a publisher with my first book, but I wouldn’t change it. I learned from each letter I received. I love that it took me years to get here, and I will always stay humble because of it.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

KF: I’d go back and tell Anne Boleyn not to marry King Henry the Eighth.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

KF: I’d tell my husband and then probably do the same. I don’t mind conversing with fans, but I hate crowds and for that one reason I’d never walk the red carpet.

Thanks for that interesting and fun interview KF…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Coffee
Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble bath…even though I know I need to exercise.
Favorite Color? Khaki green
Take out or Dine in? hmmm, a little of both
Camping or Hotel? Camping
Sports or Chocolate? If it’s hockey I’ll take that. I love the game and love watching my sons play
Dogs or Cats? Dogs
Favorite Food? Lasagna
Favorite Song? There are too many too choose from
Favorite Movie? Anything Johnny Depp is in.
Favorite Car? Don’t have one.
Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Well, then BOTH of course, one before the other usually too. 😉

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

KF: I’d go to Italy, and tour the whole country with my husband. 

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Kat Flannery’s 

LAKOTA HONOR

at

http://www.amazon.com/Lakota-Honor-ebook/dp/B00D0S530G

Lakota Honor 2011-08-11 09.19.24

Leave a comment

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

Leave a Reply

