Today’s Tease…Barbara C. Rowe

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Barbara C. Rowe

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Barbara C. Rowe

Title of the book you are promoting: Turbulent Sea of Emotions & Muffin and the Junior Guardian angel Posse” Book #1 “The Angel That Couldn’t”

 Link to purchase your Book: 

 Genre:  Poetry, faith-based, life experiences, childrens

Welcome  BR…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

B.R: When I was little, the thing I wanted most was a home and children.  I grew up being raised by several different families, including my Grandparents.  At 12 yrs. of age I was in an orphanage in Dallas.  Can’t say anything bad about my parents, other than they just didn’t get it. Everything I saw in my grandparents is what I wished for.  As a teenager, I was still wanted a home of my own and to be a good wife.  I did all those things, with no regrets. There were times I dreamed of being an artist, which I became.  The writing just happened.  There were no grand ideas of fortune, but of emotional wealth.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

B.R:  All through my teenage years I wrote poetry and song lyrics. As an adult around 40, I went through a hard time, so began journaling for healing.  Writing with deep emotion is a great thing; it brings out the best in us.  That is how my book, “Turbulent Sea of Emotions” came to be.  It’s a story, in poetic verse, about ones journey through life and all the emotions we feel.  So, my goal is not really to be successful financially with my writing, but more, to make someone’s life better because of it.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

B.R:  My first book was through a Publisher because I wasn’t aware of other options.  I have 5 books coming out this year and I plan to self-publish.  It is the only way to have control.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

B.R:  I would recommend that all new writers do their research for options.  The time is changing and there is a real advantage to being an Indie

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

B.R:  lol.  My husband would crack up at this answer.  I would choose Steven Segal, and trust me; we would not be discussing anything at all.  We’d be far too busy.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest offenders.   Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Which form of media do you think is the worst offender?

B.R:  That has two answers.  One:  We have freedom of choice to do what we want in the privacy of our home and watch or listen to what we want.  If you don’t want to hear it or see it, you have that right, but I believe strongly that we should protect our children from adult topics and allow them to be children as long as they can.  We have all the time in the world to grow old, but not much time to stay young.

Secondly:  I can’t blame one media more than another for the sex and violence.  It’s just out there:  Everywhere.

LH: I’m a huge softie and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

B.R:  If I could, I would try to make society, meaning families, more aware that our elders are where our wisdom is and they should not be disregarded in any way, because of health or age.  They should be cherished as we would want to be, but unfortunately, we forget that we will be “them” in years to come.  I for one want to know I still matter.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

B.R:  I agree the change of how we get our reading material is drastically changing.  My personal opinion is that I would always wish to have books as well as the other option, but if you like what you see on the cover, you will more likely to look inside.  If the cover is not appealing, then I might look over a potential best-seller, just because I didn’t like what I saw.  On the other hand, once inside, the cover won’t help one bit, if the material is not any good.  But what do I know?  lol.  I’m just the writer.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

B.R:  I’ve always written, since in my early teens.  Romance and fairy tales was my idea of writing:  Female hormones raging to be in love or the thought of it.  I was and am a true romantic.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

B.R:  The plot of the story, something I can relate to, or someplace I wish I could go, is what interests me:  If its sex and romance, then it needs to seem real. If  it’s fantasy, I want it to have a happy ending.  I still scream and pester the heck out of my husband, like a child on what is going to happen next in a story.  Maybe I should have chosen a different profession:  A detective.  Lol.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

B.R:  Some of my writing is about my life or something similar.  You already know how funny I can be, so sometimes I just have to write down all the bloopers I have.  My emotions dictate what I write and how I paint.  If I stay true to that, I usually come out ahead.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

B.R: Thanks for asking, Leah.  Two of my books have just been released:  One being a faith-based children’s book, which will be a series.  It’s called “Muffin and the Junior Guardian angel Posse” Book #1 “The Angel That Couldn’t”.  The second is a faith-based poetry book entitled “Turbulent Sea of Emotions”:  Which is about life experiences, emotions and the struggle we all face in life.  Soon to be released is a hilarious short story book entitled “You’re from the city…Right?”   The book is about adventures of a city girl trying to adapt to country life in the mountains and her crazy ideas of hands on experience.  If my readers think the lady is a total airhead, then it is about someone I know.  If my readers love it and have fun with it, then I’ll own up to the fact; it’s about Me.  lol

LH: I’m working on #6…5 are published and the other is due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

B.R.: There is 1 book out now, “A Turbulent Sea of Emotions”, which is a collection of life experiences and emotions, written in poetic verse.  I don’t want to label it a poetry book for it is far more than that.  People perceive poetry books to be something you have to try to figure out or what they were exposed to in school.  This one is my life.  10 years’ of heartache, joy, disappointments and expectation’s.

I have 4 books total- 3 Children’s books yet to be published. One hilarious collection of short stories, almost ready to be released within the next month and I’m penning two novels, one that will be ready by the first of 2014, and the other soon after.   Then there is my children’s book series that will continue on as long as I have my great illustrator.  I’ve been dabbling in different genres, hoping to find what I love the most.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

B.R:  I write because it is as much a part of me as my art is: an extension of myself.  There is the deep side and then there is this airhead side to me that comes naturally.  My husband laughs at me, saying life is never dull.  I suppose that’s a good thing.  I’d like recognition for my work, but to become rich is not that important.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

B.R:  I found out the hard way, that no matter what you do, someone is going to disapprove.  My novels are Contemporary Romance; One is the love story I’m living and the other:  In a different time in my life.  The book that is out now, “Turbulent Sea of Emotions” is such a personal book that there are subjects that hit a nerve with my children, but I wanted to be real and honest.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

B.R:  I have never had a lack of words of thought or in print. My mind goes wild with several ideas, all at once.  I can’t shut up the thoughts, like some can’t shut me up.  You, Leah, should know that very well. lol

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

B.R:  Yes, I do have advice for new writers.  Write what you want and how you feel and just go with it.  It is in the passion of something you love, that makes you successful, not who buys what you write, although it would be nice to be a best seller.  Someone said, “If someone takes the time to write something, it is worthy of reading.”

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

B.R: That’s a deep question for me.  I’d not take for granted, that the one I love knows I love them, but rather I would show it every day.  It is an awful feeling to leave important things unsaid; only to find out it is too late.

LH: If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

B.R:  Ha! Ha!  I would go to someone that was in my early years that told me I would never be anything or anyone important and tell them that they were full of it.  Everyone is important.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

B.R:  lol.  If I were to be approached to make one of my books to be a movie, it would definitely be a surprise, but welcomed one.  I would hope they would pick the funny book to portray:  Something to make people forget their worries.  Besides, I’m considered hilarious to my husband and close friends already.  Other than my husband, who is not only my mate, and lover, he is most certainly my best friend, I would probably tell my best-girlfriend and you already know who that is.

Thanks for that touching and informational interview BR…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Caramel Mocha Cappuccino

Exercise or Bubble Bath?  Bubble Bath-preferably with someone

Favorite Color? I’m an artist, so all except Christmas green are my favorites

Take out or Dine in? Dine Out

Camping or Hotel?  Hotel

Sports or Chocolate?  Chocolate

Dogs or Cats?  Dogs

Favorite Food?  All different Ethnic foods-I’m a gourmet cook

Favorite Song? Soul mate-by Josh Turner

Favorite Movie?  Somewhere In Time-with Christopher Reeves

Favorite Car? Fast one

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉  A lot of both

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

B.R.: I can’t imagine going anywhere with someone other than my husband.  It took me too long to find the right man.  I always wanted to take him back home to North Carolina, to see the Biltmore House in Asheville.  He is all into Renaissance so to go to a place that is like a castle would make him happy.  But I wouldn’t tell anyone, because I would want him all to myself.  Yes, ladies.  He’s that special.

 

Thank you for spending this time with us today and make sure get your copy of Barbara C. Rowe’s

Turbulent Sea of Emotions

and

Muffin and the Junior Guardian angel Posse” Book #1 “The Angel That Couldn’t”

at

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_ss_c_0_12?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=barbara%20c%20rowe&sprefix=barbara+c+ro%2Caps%2C206

promotional cover turbulentsea_72 Author Snapshot_20130717_3 The Angel Who Couldn't Cover

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “Today’s Tease…Barbara C. Rowe

  1. Pingback: Leanna Harrow Introducing Barbara C. Rowe / Author Tease Reading | Barbara C Rowe Author

Leave a Reply

