Today’s Tease…A.K. Kuykendall

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease A.K. Kuykendall

Your Name or Pen Name you use: A.K. Kuykendall

Title of the book you are promoting: The Evolution of the Patron Saint, book #1 in the Conspirator’s Odyssey series and The Possession, book #1 in the Writer’s Block trilogy

Link to purchase your Book [Conspirator’s Odyssey series]:

http://www.amazon.com/Conspirators-Odyssey-A-K-Kuykendall/dp/1623520002/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1377086735&sr=8-1&keywords=conspirator%27s+odyssey+by+a.k.+kuykendall

Link to purchase your Book [Writer’s Block trilogy]:

http://www.amazon.com/Writers-Block-Trilogy-Possession-Volume/dp/1936085712/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1377086876&sr=8-1&keywords=Writer%27s+Block+by+a.k.+kuykendall

Genre:  Conspirator’s Odyssey [Thriller] / Writer’s Block [Horror]

Welcome  AK….I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

AK: Superman of course!

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

AK: What inspires me is lengthy and convoluted as I’ve been inspired by many factions throughout my life. The world is beautiful; lending so much to the cause of many artists from all walks of life and artistic shticks. My life has been one marred with complexities I’m literally writing my way through. Though I haven’t perfected this chosen path, I will continue to follow this invisible muse through to the end. Inspirations are abundant! Some of my favorites are Rod Serling’s 1959—1964 series the Twilight Zone to The Mercury Theatre’s October 30, 1938 broadcast of The War of the Worlds over the Columbia Broadcasting System radio; where actor Orson Welles continues to frighten the hell out of me. What H.G. Wells created has been a huge inspiration for me. I’ve long been particularly fond the poetry of Emily Dickinson, John Keats, Robert Browning, John Ruskin, Sir Thomas Brown, and the novels of George Elliot, Charlette and Emily Bronte, Stephen King, Rick Hautala, Michael Marshall, Bram Stoker, Mary Shelly, Robert Louis Stevenson, James Patterson, Jack Higgins, S.E. Chase, and Nicholas Sparks to name a few.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

AK: I’m a traditionally published author! Writer’s Block: The Possession was published by Felsen Press and imprint of Decent Hill Publishers 2012 and Conspirator’s Odyssey: The Evolution of the Patron Saint was published by IntoPrint Publishers 2013.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

AK: It would be President John F. Kennedy! I wouldn’t discuss his involvement with Marilyn Monroe because, although all of America knew of his sporadic extramarital affairs, they also realize that no one’s perfect. People act as if, just because he was married and held the title of America’s Commander in Chief, they expected him to morph into some sort of drone incapable of recognizing a nice piece of ass when he saw one. Now, I’m not implying that I condone his actions, but then again, who am I or anyone else in this world to judge him, especially when his actions had no bearing on his extraordinary accomplishments pre and post his assassination.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

AK: Not concerned nor conflicted! When you’re accustomed to the matrix, you’re already lost in translation.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

AK: That sexism, racism, and prejudice was never an unethical weapon used by mankind, but more importantly; that it wasn’t perpetuated within our world to this very day.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

AK: Extremely important!

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

AK: I didn’t always want to write, but was an extremely passionate reader. I was fascinated in the places I’ve been using my imagination in cahoots with the words of the storytellers I read. I began writing in college!

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

AK: The journey!

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

AK: By simply stroking the keys of my typewriter.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

AK: Currently, I’m working on book #2 in the Writer’s Block trilogy entitled Purgatory. Also, I’m gathering pertinent US classified Intel as a stepping stone for the next book in the Conspirator’s Odyssey series entitled Origin.

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

AK: I’ve written two novels and both have been published.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

AK: I write for the journey, which is fun! However, you never know when a story idea will yield a million dollars

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

AK: Just getting them to read what I write, objectively!

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

AK: Yes, I’ve experienced writer’s block! How I overcame it, however, is hidden within the pages of my novel The Possession, the first book in the Writer’s Block Trilogy that parallels the experiences of Author Gregory Stillingsworth.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

AK: First, I admire anyone who’d dare brave the waters of my chosen shtick and who’d step foot into an area of artistry that I find so fascinating. Your level of experience is of no concern to me as you’ve chosen to step into the same waters as us all. You’ve chosen to put brush to your canvas and I stand in support therefore you have my vote. I’m sure your painting’s [figuratively speaking] will eventually gain the admiration of many, but for now you must arm yourself with the strongest tool a writer could ever have at their disposal: and editor. Remember, you are the ideas craftsman, but an editor’s core objective is to bring said ideas into focus. Be smart when hiring an editor and learn from the editorial. Compare your original work to that of the editorial. This, I believe, will be the strongest path for any writer.

Last but not least, each of us has a duty to inform the masses about our chosen shtick because everyone needs to know why we love the written word. Why we write. Why we put ink to paper. Why we dare to proclaim ourselves storytellers in a world where books and reading are damn near second to the moving story. Why we covertly, overtly, and strategically attempt to journey all back to a time when the imagination was our collective muse. Books are inanimate objects and only animate when a reader lightly peels back that first page and allows the story to unfold—lighting a robust fire under the ass of a reader’s dormant imagination.

We are authors!

We were once gods of villages at a time children and elders, nightly, sat at our feet anxious to lend an ear to our words. As writers we must make it abundantly clear to all, that supporting our efforts in every way is a noble undertaking. So as you take your next steps as a writer wherever your career happens to be at present, stand tall and let the world know exactly who we are and why we deserve support.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

AK: If I could change anything it would unequivocally be the fashion in which I lost my virginity—the details of which are classified.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

AK: If time travel were possible, I’d go back in time to tell President John F. Kennedy that his wife is scored in a major way by his redundant extramarital escapades and is planning, along with others, to have him assassinated.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

AK: I’d handle it like a champ. And my wife would be the first person I told.

Thanks for that deep and insightful interview AK…Now… for the fun stuff!

 Favorite Beverage? Root Beer

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Exercise

Favorite Color? Red

Take out or Dine in? Dine in

Camping or Hotel? Camping

Sports or Chocolate? Chocolate

Dogs or Cats? Dogs

Favorite Food? Cereal

Favorite Song? Power of Love by Huey Lewis

Favorite Movie? Superman

Favorite Car? Aston Martin DB5

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Both

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

LH: If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

AK: I would take a first class trip to the Canals of Venice on a grand excursion with the love of my life who just happens to be my wife—Magdiel Kuykendall.

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of

A.K. Kuykendal’s books by clicking the pic 😉

The Possession - Front Production Cover - Copy 46666_454429861304514_746903831_n [THE ONE] 455 (1)

6 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

6 responses to “Today’s Tease…A.K. Kuykendall

  1. “My fingers burn behind the keys of my typewriter, the lettering fading with every thoughtful strike. The many words I write I dare not stall; my mind perpetually alert for my magnum opus call.” —A.K. Kuykendall

    Visit the site where “truth reads through fiction” @ http://www.thewriterofbooks.com

  2. Great news everybody! After months of negotiations, my agent Donald Maass of DMLA out of New York locked in a lucrative book deal with Re.ad Publishing, Inc. for the publication of four more books in the Conspirator’s Odyssey series—Origins, Arthurian Legend, Pyrrhic Victory, and Ronin Infinite. I signed February 11, 2014! See the details that ignited the deal @ http://www.thewriterofbooks.com/home/my-current-project/.

  3. My agent Donald Maass of DMLA out of New York and Mark Aylward (President of Dead Ringer Movies) have just entered into negotiations for film rights to my novel The Possession, book #1 in the Writer’s Block trilogy. It’s still early, but a great development nonetheless. To read the synopsis of the novel being negotiated, visit the site where “truth reads through fiction” @ http://www.thewriterofbooks.com/list-of-works/synopsis-possession/.

Leave a Reply

