Today’s Tease…Mandy Eve-Barnett

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease Mandy Eve-Barnett

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  Mandy Eve-Barnett

Title of the book you are promoting:  Am I allowed two?

Rumble’s First Scare – a children’s book about a little monster experiencing his first scaring adventure on All Hallow’s Eve.

The Rython Kingdom – a fantasy for adults set in medieval England following the adventures of a travelling troubadour.

Link to purchase your Books: 

Rumble – http://www.dreamwritepublishing.ca/retail/books/rumbles-first-scare

Rython – http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/214247

http://www.amazon.ca/The-Rython-Kingdom-ebook/dp/B00AUBP2SO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1376316600&sr=8-1&keywords=the+rython+kingdom

http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Rython-Kingdom-ebook/dp/B00AUBP2SO/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1376316653&sr=8-1&keywords=the+rython+kingdom

 Genres:  Children   Fantasy

Welcome  MB…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

MB: My first dream job was working with horses then later an interior designer after attending art college.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence; I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?     

MB: I started my writing rather late in life but have always been a veracious reader. Wanting a creative outlet when I moved to Canada, I happened across a leaflet for a writing group and have never looked back. Many of this group’s members have been my main influencers. I read books with a different ‘eye’ now and appreciate the amount of work a novel takes to write.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

MB: I was extremely lucky to find a local publisher, who helped me with both of my books. Dream Write Publishing has a real personal touch and the process was enjoyable.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

MB: My experience with Dream Write Publishing is most probably not the ‘norm’ for a first time author. However, I am open minded about approaching ‘big’ publishing houses, realizing the process will be very different but each endeavor is an adventure. The worse they can say is ‘No’.

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

MB: Paul Newman as he was the perfect being (in my eyes, anyway!) I would not discuss his blue eyes.

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors.  Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

MB: Unfortunately sex and violence seem to be the biggest ‘selling’ points for everything from toothpaste to movies to cars. Innocence has been lost – it is a slippery slope – as a society and species we will sink to a Sodom & Gomorrah or Roman Empire type demise. With the expectation of sex and violence as the vehicle for everything, it is impossible to get relevant attention from backers, if it is not part of the ‘package’. Regrettably, we cannot ‘unlearn’ this behavior so I’m at a loss as to how we can rectify the problem.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

MB: To have humans live in harmony with the natural world and not destroy the flora and fauna that actually make this world beautiful and vibrant.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?  

MB: An esthetically pleasing cover will certainly help catch a buyer’s eye but as we become savvier with the online world, I believe reviews and blurbs are becoming more important as well as the ability to define our ‘want’ through search engines.                              

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

MB: I have always been creative in one way or another. Painting, pottery, textiles, you name it I tried and enjoyed them all. My writing life began very late – let’s say above 45 and below 50 and leave it at that! However, in the time I have been writing, I have been making up for lost time. My only ‘dip’ into creative writing was when I wrote several short stories for my children when they were small but life deterred me from pursuing it at that time.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

MB: For me it’s how a character will overcome the obstacles and how their personality changes throughout the story.                                                        

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

MB: Ideas come to me in many forms. A simple word or picture prompt, a conflict or emotion seen or experienced, or something read that has me go off on a tangent.

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

MB: Actually I have several projects that are in various stages of completion. I’m working in collaboration with two friends on a ‘How To’ workbook, editing a children’s chapter book and plotting and planning a new romance novel.                                                                           

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

MB: I have two novels unpublished, and my current chapter book is obviously not published yet.  Published works are an anthology, an ebook and a children’s print book.            

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

MB: Most certainly I write for the pure enjoyment of creating a world full of characters, places and conflict. The money may only come in dribs and drabs but no matter how much or little it is, it is the cherry on the top but not necessary.

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing? MB: Initially, my immediate family did not take my writing seriously at all. It was Mum being awkward and wanting time on her own! I think my extended family thought it was a passing fad. Gradually, they have all come to realize I’m not only totally obsessed but also incredibly happy because of my writing. To put it simply – I experience pure happiness deep in my soul.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

MB: Luckily, I have only had (touches wood) one instance of writers block in the midst of my first NaNoWriMo of all times. I was stressing over how many words I needed to write and all of a sudden there were none. After staring for sometime at the empty word document on my laptop, I wrapped up warm and walked the dog. I’m not sure if it was the extreme cold (it was approximately -34 degrees, I live in Alberta, Canada) or just being away from the laptop, TV noise and stuffy atmosphere or something else but as I walked my characters came back to me and started talking again.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you? MB: Believe in yourself. Don’t let other people judge you for doing something that makes you happy. It is a steep learning curve but it is so worth the struggle.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

MB:  I’ve pondered this question before – the great ‘what if’ of life. When I explored all the different paths I could have taken, I found that something or someone I treasure would be missing from my life now. So no I would not change anything, even the bad stuff.

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

MB: Wow that’s a huge question! If it was possible to advise each nation to respect their neighbors and not conquer each other. Diversity is not a bad thing.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

MB: I’d be absolutely over the moon and would love the opportunity to create the ‘world’ in my head onto the big screen. I would be shouting so loud most people would hear me LOL. In no particular order I would tell, my son and daughter, my Mother and sister and my mentor, Linda.

Thanks for that fun and thoughtful interview MB…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage?  Tea – proper black tea with milk!

Exercise or Bubble Bath? No contest bubble bath

Favorite Color? Purple (or any derivative of it).

Take out or Dine in? Depends on my mood but dine in probably.

Camping or Hotel? Difficult question mainly because I have not gone camping or stayed in hotels. I prefer a self catering cottage by the ocean.

Sports or Chocolate?  Chocolate as long as its Swiss white chocolate.

Dogs or Cats?  Dogs mainly but I love all animals.

Favorite Food? Can I make that foods? Fresh fish and crisp salads are equally favored.

Favorite Song? Have I Told You Lately by Van Morrison although I have a huge list!

Favorite Movie? Good grief, one? I have eclectic tastes so it could be Toy Story, Lord of the Rings, Thelma & Louise or Snatch.

Favorite Car? The first car I bought myself – Ford Cortina Mk11 Saloon

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Chocolate

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

MB: With no hesitation I would go to Italy, starting in Rome (I absolutely adore that city) and exploring as much of the country as possible. I would take my daughter, my sister, and my two greatest friends. We would go sightseeing, eat authentic Italian food and drink robust wines. Sultry evenings would be spent enjoying the nightlife to the fullest and indulging in a few Italian lovers (each!)

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of Mandy Eve-Barnett’s 

Rumble’s First Scare  and The Rython Kingdom

at

http://www.dreamwritepublishing.ca/retail/books/rumbles-first-scare

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/214247

The Rython Kingdom cover Rumble Mandy Eve-Barnett 008

4 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

4 responses to “Today’s Tease…Mandy Eve-Barnett

  1. Pingback: Leanna Harlow Today’s Tease is Me..! | Mandyevebarnett's Blog

Leave a Reply

