Today’s Tease…P.S. Bartlett

Welcome! Pull up a seat and enjoy a chat with Today’s Tease P.S. Bartlett

Your Name or Pen Name you use:  P.S. Bartlett

Title of the book you are promoting:  FIREFLIES

 Link to purchase your Book:  http://goo.gl/vjR6zL 

 Genre:  Historical Fantasy

Welcome  PS…I, LH have some questions for you 😉

LH: I wanted to be a ballerina, race car driver and a private detective when I was little. What did you want to be when you grew up?

PS: A veterinarian, an anthropologist, an artist, a ring leader and oh yeah, a writer.

LH: I didn’t really have a literary influence, I just decided one day to start writing. Who influenced you in your writing career?

PS: As a child, I would just write. I can’t remember any single influence either but as I grew older, I was drawn to every genre of reading from Stephen King to Shakespeare. I wrote volumes of poetry but I had a friend named Laura who blew my poems away so I tried short stories instead. I kicked her butt! (Just kidding Laura! Xoxo) Laura was what I would call my first and only writing partner but we inspired each other a lot.

LH: I self published all of my books and was then “discovered” by a publisher. Are you an Indie or published author?

PS: I’d call myself both. I am with GMTA (Great Minds Think Aloud) publishing which is a lovely independent publisher. I set a time limit on how long I would search for an agent or publisher. Kitty Bullard was my Christmas gift last year. When she came into my life, along with the amazing cover designer, Amber Rendon, everything just fell into place and the rest is history – in the making.

LH: As an Indie Author, I was hesitant about being with a publishing company. If you are an Indie author, would you like to be published by a traditional publisher and if so, why or why not?

PS: I just wanted people to read my book. I wanted everyone to get to know these characters that haunted me. How my book would be published concerned me a great deal. However, I knew come hell or high water I wanted people to read my book and I wouldn’t stop trying to make that happen. Being published by a traditional publisher or one of the giants would have been wonderful as far as marketing and advertising is concerned because that is by far the hardest part. I feel it’s their loss not to have taken on my book. Of course I believe Kitty is a bloody genius! 😉

LH: This is easy for me…I’d invite Johnny Depp and I would not discuss movies! Who would you invite to dinner, living or dead, and what one topic would you NOT discuss with them?

PS: Great choice!!! I’ve had a fascination forever with Queen Elizabeth I. Her power, strength and intelligence have always intrigued me. We would not however discuss her father!

LH: I personally think that there is way too much sex and violence everywhere in society these days and it’s everywhere but that Hollywood is one of the biggest contributors. Do you think that society as a whole is subjected to too much sex and violence and are you concerned about it? Ever feel conflicted and if so, why?

PS: I think Hollywood is about money. Sex and violence sells and I don’t see that changing anytime soon. I believe as adults, we have the right to watch anything we want but it’s not cool to be irresponsible with little minds and developing personalities by not censoring our children’s viewing until they are mature enough to understand what they’re seeing. The ratings system went out the window when videos, cable and video games were invented because anyone at any age can get their hands on as much sex and violence as they choose – if they are unsupervised. I do also believe a lot of wonderful stories have come out of Hollywood and continue to. I suppose we have to take the good with the bad and use our free will to decide which we prefer.

LH: I’m a huge softy and by no means a beauty queen… lol but, I truly would want world peace in the blink of an eye if I could make it happen…If you could change one thing in the world, in the blink of an eye, what would it be?

PS: Tolerance. I am and always have been a “live and let live” kind of girl. Why are we always dictating to others how they should live and what they should do? Of course we can’t allow people to run amok, hurting others or causing havoc but who are we to tell people who they can love or what to eat or where to worship or not? Why does one way always have to be better than the other? My second item of change is charity begins at home. Until every American family can go to bed at night knowing they have a job, a home and food to eat, we should not be sending all of our money elsewhere. I am a firm believer in taking care of ourselves so that we can better help others.

LH: With the traditional bookstore becoming obsolete and everyone turning to buying books online, I don’t buy the hype that “the cover is everything”. How important do you think book covers are now that almost all shopping is done online?

PS: I’m not going to lie; I LOVE a good book cover. I love my book cover. However, I hope and pray the traditional book store never goes away! There’s something amazing and magical about strolling through a book store, picking up books and turning them over to read the synopsis. Just last night I started reading “Outlander” on my iPad and I was wishing I’d have purchased the physical book. Now that cover certainly didn’t pull me in and that is by no means an insult to publisher. However, if I’m being honest, I have gravitated towards book covers that caught my eye but that doesn’t mean the story took my money. In essence, yes. I believe book covers attract readers but what good are they if the story is lacking? I’m not going to purchase a book because the guy on the cover is super-hot. I’d much rather conjure him in my mind based on a really good story.

LH: I can remember wanting to write as a kid. I got a really late start! Have you always wanted to write and when did you start?

PS: I started out as an artist. I combined writing with my art by writing my own little stories and greeting cards and did all of my own illustrations. I started that when I was about five or six. Unfortunately though, I did not dig my heels into writing a novel until my late 40’s. I’m a late bloomer I guess.

LH: I love to see if I can see myself in a character. What interests you most about a story?

PS: The characters always grab me. If I’m reading a book and the characters don’t grab onto me after a couple of chapters, I’m gone.

LH: For me, I just get hit with this whole movie in my head and start writing. How do you come up with your stories?

PS: The same exact way! An author friend Allie Rios just turned me on to Dragon Dictation because I work full time, watch my three year old granddaughter several nights a week and still have a home, teenage son and husband to engage with and my writing time is minimal. This app allows me to dictate when I’m driving to and from work, on lunch or breaks and I can capture that movie in my head! I’m two thirds of the way through my second novel now and I’m almost doubling my speed with this app!

LH: I can’t tell you or I’d have to…lol Are you working on anything now?

PS: As I said above, I’m two thirds of the way through the prequel to Fireflies. I wanted to tell the story before the story. I also have several other outlines done for more books and another fantasy novel half way finished from early this year. I can’t stop. 😉

LH: I’m working on #6…3 are published and the other 3 are due out this year… How many books have you written? How many have been published?

PS: I have one completed novel which was published this year and two nearly complete.

LH: I write for fun I don’t even dream of riches…Do you write for fun or money?

PS: I write to get these “movies” and characters out of my head and into the hands of the public. I write because it relaxes me and allows me to create my own worlds and people. The answer I suppose is for fun. J Money would be an awesome side effect but hey Jack, just because I’m not pulling down buckets of cash doesn’t mean I’ll ever stop!

LH: Some of my family members had a bit of a problem with me writing my first book “A Beautiful Liar” because the character Maggie West is basically me…to a point 😉 They had a problem with the genre and me “putting it all out there” so to speak so I took a pen name. They eventually came around as I have never cared who knows who I am what I’ve done or what they think of me. I’ve never wanted to be famous, just infamous! What has been your biggest problem when it comes to family or friends when writing?

PS: I have one estranged “relative” who apparently takes great joy in trying to cause damage. There have been some very nasty and poorly written “reviews” on B&N that I know came from this person. Last year, they also put some very disgraceful posts in the guest book on my art web site and gave themselves away. I know it’s not advised to fight back but I have and I don’t regret it. When you deliberately post negative reviews anonymously, just to try and deter people from buying a book that on another web site which requires an identity, the book has a 4.8 out of 5 star rating, it’s pretty obvious that there’s something rotten in Denmark. On the bright side, the rest of my family is so supportive. They’ve been wonderful! However, for a couple of my future projects I do plan to use a pen name as they are completely different from what I’m writing now and I just want to see what happens and how they turn out before I tell anyone in the family.

LH: I have never experienced writers block…I have experienced writers “don’t want to”… Have you ever experienced writers block and if so, how did you overcome it?

PS: Not yet. I experience writer’s block in a much different way; home, husband, job, kids, etc. Honestly, those are more like hurdles than blocks. I love my family and they always come first but I NEED to write and they do understand that most of the time.

LH: I get asked all the time “Do you have any advice for new writers?”… Do you?

PS: I don’t feel qualified to advise anyone. I usually point them to Stephen King’s memoirs and just tell them to keep writing, reading and learning.

LH: I would not change one thing in my life as I would not be me if I did… If you could go back in time and change one thing in your life, what would it be?

PS: Not to wait until I’m 48 years old to get started on this career!

LH: If I could go back in time and tell someone something, I’d go back and tell the founding fathers they were doing a few things wrong…If you could go back in time and tell someone something, who would you tell and what would you tell them?

PS: I’d tell my teenage self not to be so self-conscious and tell her how beautiful, smart and talented she is. I’d tell her to never settle for less than she deserved and to be kinder and more understanding of others. I’d tell her to write and draw and paint and follow her dreams.

LH: I would freak out if someone contacted me and said they wanted to make one of my books or my series of book into a movie as I am really very shy in person and I’d probably go into hiding. I don’t think I could handle it. How would you handle it? Who would be the first person you told?

PS: OH MY GOSH! I’d love it! I am not shy nor am I afraid of being “out front” anymore but the point of being a writer to me is not being out front. We get to create these worlds and stand back and allow the characters to tell the story. I would love for “Fireflies” to be a movie and apparently from what I’ve heard, my readers would too! I’d tell my husband first like I did when I received my contract from GMTA – we did a big shot of Rumchatta and kissed.

Thanks for that fun and informative interview PS…Now… for the fun stuff!

Favorite Beverage? Coffee

Exercise or Bubble Bath? Bubble bath

Favorite Color? Purple

Take out or Dine in? Dine in

Camping or Hotel? Hotel

Sports or Chocolate? Sports

Dogs or Cats? Cats

Favorite Food? Anything grilled

Favorite Song? “Royals” by Lorde
Favorite Movie? Sense and Sensibility or Elizabeth the Golden Age

Favorite Car? One that runs well (I have a 14 year old Expedition lol)

Sex or Chocolate? (The answer “Both” is totally acceptable 😉 Both!!!

And now for the essay part of the interview 😉

LH: If you could go anywhere for a week, with anyone you wanted and no one would ever find out about it…where would you go, what would you do and who would you take?

PS: Only a week? I suppose such a small amount of time would not be put to good use in Europe. I’m longing to see the land of my grandparents; Wales and Ireland. However, since I only have a week, I’ll take a beautiful, private rental cottage that overlooks the ocean. I’d take a housekeeper /chef since I don’t want to worry about those things. I’d spend the entire week taking long walks on the beach in the morning, collecting sea shells. Then in the afternoon, maybe a dip in the ocean and some reading in an Adirondack chair with my feet in the water. In the late afternoon, I’d have a delicious and healthy dinner, prepared by my personal chef, Clark Kent. I’d top off dinner with a light, refreshing wine and bubble bath and then spend the remainder of the night writing, while listening to whatever music moves me and feels good.

When do I leave?

Thank you for spending this time with us. Make sure to pick up your copy of P.S. Bartlett’s

FIREFLIES

at

http://goo.gl/vjR6zL  

image

2 Comments

Filed under "AT" Author Tease Readings

2 responses to “Today’s Tease…P.S. Bartlett

  1. Reblogged this on Author P.S. Bartlett and commented:
    I had the wonderful opportunity to be interviewed by Leanna Harrow for her blog. Thank you so much Leanna it was a pleasure!

Leave a Reply

